The Knightland Foundation

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The Knightland Foundation (Charity number: 1143110; Company number 07535303) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2]

  • Charity registered: 27 July 2011 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 18 February 2011 (Active); SIC 94910 - Activities of religious organisations[2]
  • Registered office address: Unit 1 Guard House, Grosvenor Way, London, --- Select ---, England, E5 9XE[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Moses Benedikt Trustee 26 April 2023 Brid Gardens (charity number: 1197961) | Satmar Seminary (charity number: 1200219) | Tag North London (charity number: 1207389)
Jacob Kernkraut Trustee 22 June 2026 E And E Kernkraut Charities Limited (charity number: 275636) | Alte Feiga Trust (charity number: 1126587) | Beis Ruchel D'Satmar (London) Limited (charity number: 1125988)
Joseph Weissman Trustee 22 June 2026 Kehal Yetev Lev (charity number: 1199537)

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Jacob Friedman 28 September 2011 2 January 2019 4 [3][4]
Raechel Friedman 28 September 2011 26 July 2017 2 [3][5]
Chezkel Landau 28 September 2011 28 September 2011 1 [3]
Uriel Sholom Kaplan 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [5][4]
Samuel Lew 3 January 2018 2 January 2019 2 [6][4]

Directors

Name Correspondence address Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Moses Benedikt Lower Ground Floor 139, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Active Director May 1986 40 26 April 2023 British England Identity verification due 30 October 2026 Not disclosed
Jacob Kernkraut Unit 1, Guard House, Grosvenor Way, London, --- Select ---, England, E5 9XE Role Active Director January 1974 52 22 June 2026 British England Not disclosed
Joseph Weissman 139 Lower Ground Floor, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Active Director January 1975 51 22 June 2026 British England Not disclosed
Sarah Rebecca Derbaremdiger Lower Ground Floor 139, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director May 1977 49 26 April 2023 21 July 2026 British England Identity verification due 30 October 2026 Not disclosed
Baruch Shloma Ehrenfeld Lower Ground Floor, 139 Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director February 1988 38 30 December 2020 26 April 2023 British England Not disclosed
Brenda Ruth Feldman Lower Ground Floor 139, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director May 1956 70 26 April 2023 1 August 2026 British England Identity verification due 30 October 2026 Not disclosed
Shmuel Baruch Feldman Lower Ground Floor 139, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director December 1986 39 26 April 2023 18 June 2026 British England Identity verification due 30 October 2026 Not disclosed
Jacob Friedman 52 Knightland Road, London, E5 9HS Role Resigned Director January 1975 51 18 February 2011 3 November 2023 American United Kingdom Not disclosed
Raechel Friedman 52 Knightland Road, London, United Kingdom, E5 9HS Role Resigned Director December 1974 51 18 February 2011 21 December 2017 British England Not disclosed
Uriel Sholom Kaplan 14 Montpelier Rise, London, United Kingdom, NW11 9SS Role Resigned Director December 1976 49 25 January 2012 26 April 2023 South African United Kingdom Not disclosed
Cheskel Landau 60 Moresby Road, London, E5 9LF Role Resigned Director April 1962 64 18 February 2011 25 January 2012 American England Not disclosed
Samuel Lew Lower Ground Floor, 139 Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director November 1975 50 31 March 2017 26 April 2023 English England Not disclosed
Yaakov Shaltiel 1st, Floor, 47 Bury New Road, Prestwich, Manchester, M25 9JY Role Resigned Director August 1977 49 18 February 2011 18 February 2011 British England Not disclosed
Shraga Shalom Zaltzman Lower Ground Floor 139, Osbaldeston Road, London, England, N16 6ND Role Resigned Director June 1976 50 26 April 2023 23 June 2026 British England Identity verification due 30 October 2026 Not disclosed
Joseph Colley C/O Carter Backer Winter Llp, 56 Prescot Street, London, E1 8NN Role Resigned Receiver and Manager 15 March 2022 10 November 2023 Not disclosed
John Dickinson C/O Carter Backer Winter Llp, 66 Prescot Street, London, E1 8NN Role Resigned Receiver and Manager 15 March 2022 10 November 2023 Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[7]

Persons with significant control

Name Correspondence address Status Notified on Ceased on Date of birth Age Nationality Country of residence Nature of control
Jacob Friedman C/O 66, Prescot Street, London, England, E1 8NN Ceased 6 April 2016 7 April 2021 January 1975 51 American United Kingdom Has significant influence or control
  • PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 4 March 2022)

Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
January 2012 £427,716 £960 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
January 2013 £877,257 £10,782 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
January 2014 £777,447 £185,862 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
January 2015 £323,313 £200,171 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
January 2016 £373,027 £357,896 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
January 2017 £2,341,396 £1,870,623 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
January 2018 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[4]
31 January 2021 £1,791,474 £1,057,842 £1,127,331 £804,291 £704,581 £5,649,305 £3,432 0 5 30 November 2021 (due 30 November 2021)
31 January 2022 £728,866 £533,766 £66,260 £303,338 £127,800 £5,284,405 £148,641 0 0 3 November 2022 (due 30 November 2022)
31 January 2023 £697,899 £450,324 £74,533 £142,424 £0 £5,531,980 £864,387 0 0 22 November 2023 (due 30 November 2023)
31 January 2024 £833,405 £1,534,169 £41,145 £1,164,107 £790,320 £4,831,216 £167,373 0 0 2 September 2024 (due 30 November 2024)
31 January 2025 £688,018 £843,862 £17,700 £474,003 £370,000 £4,125,322 £20,757 0 0 18 September 2025 (due 30 November 2025)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[10] Trustee payments: "One or more trustees receive payments or benefits from the charity."[10]

  • Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 January 2025 (Full accounts, filed 18 Sep 2025); next accounts made up to 28 January 2026, due by 28 October 2026.[2][11]
  • Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 16 October 2025; next due by 30 October 2026.[2]
  • Archived accounts: year ending 31 January 2015; year ending 31 January 2016; year ending 31 January 2017; year ending 31 January 2018; year ending 31 January 2019.[12]
  • Registered charges (Companies House): 29 November 2019, Lloyds Bank PLC: "Freehold property known as 120 st john street london EC1V 4JS comprised under title number 354647, for more details of property being charge please refer to the instrument." (Satisfied); 24 October 2019, Lloyds Bank PLC: "The leasehold property known as or being flat 2, 2 fountayne road, london, N16 7DX comprised in title number NGL403404." (Satisfied); 24 October 2019, Lloyds Bank PLC: "The freehold property known as or being 50 lynmouth road, london, N16 6XL comprised in title number 253469." (Satisfied); 8 August 2019, Commercial Acceptances Limited: "All that freehold property situate and known as units 8 & 11 tofts farm industrial estate brenda road hartlepool TS25 2DH registered at hm land registry with title absolute under title number CE125869." (Satisfied); 23 August 2018, Commercial Acceptances Limited: "All that:. 1. freehold property situate and known as 50 lynmouth road, london, N16 6XL as the same is registered at hm land registry with title absolute under title number 253469.. 2. leasehold property situate and known as flat 2, fountayne road, london, N16 7DX as the same is registered at hm land" (Satisfied); 18 September 2013, Aldermore Bank PLC: "Notification of addition to or amendment of charge." (Satisfied); 18 September 2013, Aldermore Bank PLC: "F/H 120 st john street london t/no 354647. notification of addition to or amendment of charge." (Satisfied); 18 September 2013, Aldermore Bank PLC: "L/H ground floor 120 st john street london. Notification of addition to or amendment of charge." (Satisfied).[13]
  • Property: The charity's accounts for the year ending 31 January 2025 value its investment property at £7,950,000 (£8,500,000 in 2022–24; cost £7,275,766). Bank loans of about £4.31m were secured on the properties, and the accounts note that "Post year end the charity sold two of its commercial properties in order to repay the bank loan".[14]
    • 120 St John Street, London EC1V 4JS (title 354647), freehold. Charged to lenders from 2013; the charges were satisfied on 16 May 2025.[15] HM Land Registry Price Paid Data records a purchase for £3,350,000 on 18 September 2013 and a sale for £3,500,000 on 9 May 2025. These are address matches only: Price Paid Data does not name the parties. Both are "additional price paid" (Category B) records.[16]
    • Units 8–11 Stadium North, Tofts Farm Industrial Estate East, Hartlepool TS25 2DH (title CE125869), freehold. Charged in 2019; the charges were satisfied on 16 May 2025.[15] Price Paid Data records £138,578 on 8 August 2019 and £2,800,000 on 9 May 2025. Both are Category B records (which can include bulk or portfolio sales), and the parties are not named, so these are address matches only.[17]
    • 50 Lynmouth Road, London N16 6XL (title 253469) and Flat 2, 2 Fountayne Road, London N16 7DX (title NGL403404). Both were charged in 2018–19, and the charges were satisfied by May 2025.[15]
    • 54 and 54A Lynmouth Road, London N16 6XL (title EGL183715). Held by the charity's subsidiary Bellview Management Ltd (07239964), with legal charges in favour of The Knightland Foundation dated 26 July 2023 and 29 August 2025, both outstanding.[18]
    • 60 Gloucester Road and Units 1–4, 44A Gloucester Road, Croydon CR0 2DA (titles SY114139 and SGL116559). Charged in 2018 by Bellview Land Ltd (08798911), in which the charity held 50%; the charges were satisfied on 1 February 2020.[19]
  • Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 3 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 50 Lynmouth Road, London (N16 6XL) (title 253469, freehold; registered proprietor THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION (07535303); proprietor registered 04-12-2012, price paid £100,000); 54 Lynmouth Road, Stoke Newington, London (N16 6XL) (title EGL183715, freehold; registered proprietor BELLVIEW MANAGEMENT LIMITED (07239964); proprietor registered 31-08-2010, price paid £495,000); Flat 2, 2 Fountayne Road, London (N16 7DX) (title NGL403404, leasehold; registered proprietor THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION (07535303); proprietor registered 03-01-2013, price paid £54,000).[20]

Controversies and conflicts

  • Statutory inquiry: The Charity Commission opened a statutory inquiry into The Knightland Foundation on 24 February 2021, and appointed Interim Managers by order of 8 April 2021. The charity's appeal against that appointment was dismissed by the First-tier Tribunal (Charity).[21] The inquiry report, published 15 November 2024, found "serious mismanagement in the administration of the charity by the former trustees over an extended period of time". This included failing to identify and manage conflicts of interest, holding charity funds in the accounts of a private company, and inadequate record keeping. Charity funds were placed at considerable risk, although there was no ultimate loss. Five independent trustees were appointed on 26 April 2023.[22][23]
  • Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "Property management services for the value of £ 63,638 (202 4 - £ 78,368 ) were provided by Bellview Management (UK) Limited, a company under the control of a former trustee of the charity . These services were provided for part of the year free of charge , and have been shown in the accounts as a donation-in-kind. Other than the above and those disclosed in notes 9 & 14 t here were no disclosable related party transactions during the year . 21 Subsidiaries Details of the charity's subsidiaries at 31 January 2025 are as follows: Name of undertaking Registered Nature of business Class of % Held office shares held Direct Indirect Bellview Management Ltd Property Investment Ordinary Shares 100."[11]
  • Charity Commission regulatory alert: The register states: "The Charity Commission has published a report on its inquiry into the charity".[10]
  • Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
  • Overlapping trusteeships: Moses Benedikt is also a trustee of Brid Gardens (1197961), Satmar Seminary (1200219), Tag North London (1207389). Jacob Kernkraut is also a trustee of E And E Kernkraut Charities Limited (275636), Alte Feiga Trust (1126587), Beis Ruchel D'satmar (london) Limited (1125988). Joseph Weissman is also a trustee of Kehal Yetev Lev (1199537).[1]
  • Shared trustees/directors: Moses Benedikt is also connected with Brid Gardens (1197961)[24], Satmar Seminary (1200219)[25], Tag North London (1207389)[26]; Jacob Kernkraut is also connected with E And E Kernkraut Charities Limited (275636)[27], Alte Feiga Trust (1126587)[28], Beis Ruchel D'satmar (london) Limited (1125988)[29], Classquote Limited (1080482)[30]; Joseph Weissman is also connected with Kehal Yetev Lev (1199537)[31]; Brenda Ruth Feldman is also connected with Otto Schiff Housing Association (210396)[32], Jewish Care Community Foundation (1048105)[33], Jewish Care (802559)[34]; Jacob Friedman is also connected with The F W Trust Ltd (1131276)[35]; Uriel Sholom Kaplan is also connected with Jewish Education Fund Limited (1046994)[36]; Yaakov Shaltiel is also connected with Gesher (1142268)[37].
  • Sale of properties to a company controlled by a former trustee: In May 2025 the charity sold 120 St John Street, London EC1V 4JS (title 354647) and Units 8 & 11, Tofts Farm Industrial Estate, Hartlepool (title CE125869). HM Land Registry's company ownership data now records the proprietor of both titles as Urban Capital Assets Ltd (16278486), registered 2 June 2025, with prices paid of £3,500,000 and £2,800,000 respectively. The same company is also registered (on the same date) to an adjoining title, land on the east side of Tofts Road East, Tofts Farm Industrial Estate (CE198436).[20] Urban Capital Assets Ltd was incorporated on 26 February 2025 as Bellview Holdings Ltd (renamed 13 March 2025). Its directors are Jacob Friedman (appointed 26 February 2025) and Raechel Friedman (appointed 22 April 2025), and Jacob Friedman is recorded as its person with significant control (75% or more). Its first charges, to Recognise Bank Limited and Jemrex Capital Limited, were created on 9 May 2025, the date of the purchase, over 120 St John Street.[38] Companies House records a Jacob Friedman (same month and year of birth and nationality) as a director of The Knightland Foundation from 18 February 2011 to 3 November 2023 and as its person with significant control until April 2021, and a Raechel Friedman (same month and year of birth) as a director from 2011 to 2017.[39] The charity's accounts for the year ending 31 January 2025 state only that two commercial properties were sold after the year end to repay the bank loan.[14]

External links

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 UK Government Web Archive, The Knightland Foundation – register entry (28 September 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 28 September 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Knightland Foundation – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 UK Government Web Archive, The Knightland Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Government Web Archive, The Knightland Foundation – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  8. ↑ Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ 11.0 11.1 Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION filing history – Full accounts made up to 31 January 2025, filed 18 Sep 2025, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Knightland Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
  13. ↑ Companies House, 07535303 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  14. ↑ 14.0 14.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION accounts and annual returns Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 14 October 2026.
  15. ↑ 15.0 15.1 15.2 Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION – charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  16. ↑ HM Land Registry, Price Paid Data: EC1V 4JS HM Land Registry, accessed 14 October 2026.
  17. ↑ HM Land Registry, Price Paid Data: TS25 2DH HM Land Registry, accessed 14 October 2026.
  18. ↑ Companies House, BELLVIEW MANAGEMENT LIMITED – charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  19. ↑ Companies House, BELLVIEW LAND LIMITED – charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  20. ↑ 20.0 20.1 HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
  21. ↑ First-tier Tribunal (General Regulatory Chamber) Charity, The Knightland Foundation v The Charity Commission for England and Wales [2021 UKFTT 365 (GRC)] First-tier Tribunal (General Regulatory Chamber) Charity, accessed 13 October 2026.
  22. ↑ Charity Commission (GOV.UK), Charity Inquiry: The Knightland Foundation Charity Commission (GOV.UK), 15 November 2024, accessed 13 October 2026.
  23. ↑ Civil Society, Educational charity gets new trustees as regulator finds serious mismanagement Civil Society, accessed 13 October 2026.
  24. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12566138), 13 October 2026.
  25. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12566138), 13 October 2026.
  26. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12566138), 13 October 2026.
  27. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1952614), 13 October 2026.
  28. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1952614), 13 October 2026.
  29. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1952614), 13 October 2026.
  30. ↑ Companies House, KERNKRAUT, Jacob appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  31. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12678557), 13 October 2026.
  32. ↑ Companies House, FELDMAN, Brenda Ruth appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  33. ↑ Companies House, FELDMAN, Brenda Ruth appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  34. ↑ Companies House, FELDMAN, Brenda Ruth appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  35. ↑ Companies House, FRIEDMAN, Jacob appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  36. ↑ Companies House, KAPLAN, Uriel Sholom appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  37. ↑ Companies House, SHALTIEL, Yaakov, Dr appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  38. ↑ Companies House, URBAN CAPITAL ASSETS LTD (16278486) (overview, officers, persons with significant control and charges) Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  39. ↑ Companies House, THE KNIGHTLAND FOUNDATION – officers Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.