Otto Schiff Housing Association

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

Otto Schiff Housing Association

Type Registered charity and company limited by guarantee
Founded 12 October 1934 (incorporated); 22 September 1962 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 210396; Company 00292967
Status Registered
Location London, England
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House

Otto Schiff Housing Association (Charity number: 210396; Company number 00292967) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The Associations purpose is the provision of accomodation, housing and welfare for elderly Jewish people and particularly for former refugees from Nazi oppression".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2026 it reported income of £245,619 and expenditure of £249,724.[3]

  • Charity registered: 22 September 1962 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 12 October 1934 (Active); SIC 87300 - Residential care activities for the elderly and disabled[2]
  • Previous company names: CBF RESIDENTIAL CARE AND HOUSING ASSOCIATION 31 Dec 1984 - 05 Feb 1991 CENTRAL BRITISH FUND FOR WORLD JEWISH RELIEF(THE) 31 Dec 1979 - 31 Dec 1984 CENTRAL BRITISH FUND FOR JEWISH RELIEF AND REHABILITATION (THE) 12 Oct 1934 - 31 Dec 1979[2]
  • Registered office address: 143 Stoke Newington Road, London, England, N16 8BP[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Lee Bloomfield Trustee 1 March 2025 None on record
Simon Century Trustee 1 March 2025 None on record
Ivan Ezekiel Trustee 1 March 2025 None on record
Andrew Saunderson Trustee 1 March 2025 None on record
Catriona Simons Trustee 1 March 2025 None on record

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Ashley Mitchell 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Andrew Kaufman 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Frank Alexander Harding 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Rosemary Elise Lewis 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Susan Melanie Grant 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Paul Balcombe 17 July 2010 23 January 2011 2 [4][5]
Jonathan Philip Davies 26 July 2017 3 January 2018 2 [6][7]
Robin Ellison 26 July 2017 26 July 2017 1 [6]
Angela Murphy 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [6][8]
Michael Stephen Rabinowitz 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [6][8]
Michael Firman 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [6][8]
Raymond Anthony Peacock 3 January 2018 2 January 2019 2 [7][8]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Abigail Louise Eales Role Active Secretary 9 November 2024 Not disclosed
Lee Bloomfield Role Active Director September 1969 57 1 March 2025 British England Not disclosed
Simon Jeremy Century Role Active Director May 1984 42 1 March 2025 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Ivan Howard Ezekiel Role Active Director January 1966 60 1 March 2025 British England Not disclosed
Andrew Philip Saunderson Role Active Director September 1975 51 1 March 2025 British England Not disclosed
Catriona Ruth Simons Role Active Director August 1970 56 1 March 2025 British England Not disclosed
Brenda Ruth Feldman Role Resigned Secretary 22 February 2005 1 April 2016 British Not disclosed
Laurence Thomas Fowler-Stevens Role Resigned Secretary 1 April 2020 9 November 2024 Not disclosed
Richard Hawkins Role Resigned Secretary 5 September 2016 30 March 2017 Not disclosed
Andrew Charles Kaufman Role Resigned Secretary 12 March 1997 12 February 2005 British Not disclosed
Graham Phillips Role Resigned Secretary 1 December 1993 7 December 1995 British Not disclosed
Graham Phillips Role Resigned Secretary Appointed before 30 June 1992 30 September 1992 British Not disclosed
Marjorie Ann Power Role Resigned Secretary 1 October 1992 30 November 1993 British Not disclosed
Daniel Sabel Role Resigned Secretary 1 August 2018 31 March 2020 Not disclosed
Anthony John Spiro Role Resigned Secretary 7 December 1995 12 March 1997 British Not disclosed
Paul Jeremy Westbrook Role Resigned Secretary 1 April 2016 31 August 2016 Not disclosed
Suzanne Wolfe Role Resigned Secretary 1 April 2017 31 July 2018 Not disclosed
Paul Lawrence Balcombe Role Resigned Director August 1941 85 18 May 2005 14 May 2015 British England Not disclosed
Allan Blacher Role Resigned Director December 1945 80 7 December 1995 13 December 1999 British Not disclosed
Michael Harris Brodtman Role Resigned Director September 1960 66 14 May 2015 1 April 2016 British England Not disclosed
Michael Stanley Cohen Role Resigned Director May 1928 98 24 June 1993 7 March 1997 British Not disclosed
David Harry Cope-Thompson Role Resigned Director October 1938 Appointed before 30 June 1992 87 or 88 6 March 1997 British Not disclosed
Madeleine Cope-Thompson Role Resigned Director February 1941 85 24 June 1993 6 March 1997 British Not disclosed
Jonathan Philip Davies Role Resigned Director August 1947 79 1 April 2016 5 September 2018 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Ernest Ellis Role Resigned Director August 1926 100 15 September 1999 4 August 2005 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Robin Ellison Role Resigned Director February 1949 77 6 September 2016 27 June 2017 British England Not disclosed
Brenda Ruth Feldman Role Resigned Director May 1956 70 14 May 2015 1 April 2016 British England Not disclosed
Michael Firman Role Resigned Director May 1947 79 27 June 2017 30 September 2019 British England Not disclosed
Susan Melanie Grant Role Resigned Director July 1958 68 18 May 2005 14 May 2015 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Margot Gremson Role Resigned Director December 1938 87 13 December 1999 12 February 2001 British Not disclosed
Antony Ian Grossman Role Resigned Director January 1964 62 14 May 2015 1 April 2016 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Frank Alexander Harding Role Resigned Director September 1937 89 12 March 1997 14 May 2015 British England Not disclosed
Robert Collett Harris Role Resigned Director November 1944 Appointed before 30 June 1992 81 13 March 1992 British Great Britain Not disclosed
Peter Erich Julius Held Role Resigned Director November 1922 103 24 June 1993 31 December 1997 British Not disclosed
Andrew Charles Kaufman Role Resigned Director April 1946 80 12 March 1997 14 May 2015 British England 1 2 Next page Not disclosed
Harry Kleeman Role Resigned Director March 1928 98 12 March 1997 15 April 2004 British Not disclosed
Harry Kleeman Role Resigned Director March 1928 Appointed before 30 June 1992 98 12 March 1997 British Not disclosed
Max Michael Kochmann Role Resigned Director May 1921 Appointed before 30 June 1992 105 31 December 1996 British Not disclosed
Nicola Kravitz Role Resigned Director March 1966 60 5 September 2018 28 February 2025 British England Not disclosed
Rosemary Elise Lewis Role Resigned Director July 1940 86 12 March 1997 14 May 2015 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Paul Brian Marber Role Resigned Director December 1937 88 27 September 1993 18 November 1996 British England Not disclosed
Cheryl Robin Mariner Role Resigned Director March 1945 Appointed before 30 June 1992 81 23 January 1997 Australian Not disclosed
Carl Theodore Marx Role Resigned Director March 1920 Appointed before 30 June 1992 106 31 December 1995 British Not disclosed
Rolf Werner Mattes Role Resigned Director January 1924 Appointed before 30 June 1992 102 31 May 1995 British Not disclosed
Paul Humphrey Meyer Role Resigned Director November 1944 81 27 May 1998 22 February 2000 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Ashley Harvey Mitchell Role Resigned Director May 1946 80 12 March 1997 14 May 2015 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Claus Moser Role Resigned Director November 1922 Appointed before 30 June 1992 103 24 June 1993 British Great Britain Not disclosed
Angela Mary Murphy Role Resigned Director May 1970 56 14 May 2015 1 August 2020 British England Not disclosed
Raymond Anthony Peacock Role Resigned Director August 1966 60 27 June 2017 28 February 2025 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Michael Stephen Rabinowitz Role Resigned Director June 1964 62 1 April 2016 27 July 2022 British England Not disclosed
Kenneth David Rubens Role Resigned Director October 1929 Appointed before 30 June 1992 96 or 97 10 March 1993 British Not disclosed
Joseph Ephraim Samson Role Resigned Director July 1928 98 13 December 1999 7 February 2005 British Not disclosed
Anthony John Spiro Role Resigned Director February 1947 Appointed before 30 June 1992 79 12 March 1997 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Adrian Nicholas Wayne Role Resigned Director December 1956 69 24 June 1993 12 March 1997 British Not disclosed
Paul Jeremy Westbrook Role Resigned Director September 1952 74 1 April 2016 31 August 2016 British England Not disclosed
Jonathan David Zenios Role Resigned Director January 1970 56 14 May 2015 1 April 2016 British United Kingdom Previous page 1 2 Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[9]

Persons with significant control

  • PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 27 July 2016)

Source: Companies House PSC register.[10]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
December 2011 £0 £199,832 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2012 £279,868 £9,145,367 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2013 £322,554 £194,893 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2014 £151,634 £1,706,586 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2015 £872 £193,293 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
March 2017 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2018 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
31 March 2022 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 27 January 2023; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2023)
31 March 2023 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 14 June 2024; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2024)
31 March 2024 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 21 October 2024; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2025)
31 March 2025 £0 £2,694 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 11 November 2025; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2026)
31 March 2026 £245,619 £249,724 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 2 October 2026 (due 31 January 2027)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[11] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[12]

  • Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (Micro company accounts, filed 11 Nov 2025); next accounts made up to 31 March 2026, due by 31 December 2026.[2][13]
  • Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 6 August 2026; next due by 20 August 2027.[2]
  • Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014.[14]
  • Registered charges (Companies House): 23 October 1989, The Housing Corporation: "Eleanor rathbone house, 3-7 avenue road, haringey." (Outstanding); 29 March 1985, The Housing Corproation London Home Counties North: "F/H land k/a green trees 49 the bishops avenue N2 title no mx 426120." (Outstanding); 4 October 1982, Mayor and Burgess of the London Borough of Barnet: "Leo baeck house the bishops avenue london N2 title no mx 372688." (Outstanding); 12 July 1968, Mayor, Alderman & Burgesses of the London Borough Haringey: "3,5 & 7, avenue road, hornsey, N6." (Outstanding); 29 November 1946, The Provincial Building Society: ""Shawholme", 42, heaton road, withington, lancs. & adjoining land." (Outstanding).[15]
  • Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 11 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Flat 1, Osha Court, Gideon Close, Edgware (HA8 7FR) (title AGL284628, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 24-05-2013); Flat 2, Osha Court, Gideon Close, Edgware (HA8 7FR) (title AGL284630, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 24-05-2013); Flat 3, Osha Court, Gideon Close, Edgware (HA8 7FR) (title AGL284631, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 24-05-2013); Flat 39, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300612, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 8, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300613, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 15, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300615, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 23, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300616, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 9, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300617, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 7, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300619, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 22, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300620, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013); Flat 24, Selig Court, Beverley Gardens, London (NW11 9AF) (title AGL300621, leasehold; registered proprietor OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION (00292967); proprietor registered 30-12-2013).[16]

Controversies and conflicts

  • Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2023 were received on 14 June 2024, after the due date of 31 January 2024.[11] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[12]
  • Shared trustees/directors: Brenda Ruth Feldman is also connected with The Knightland Foundation (1143110), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17].

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 Companies House, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Otto Schiff Housing Association – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – register entry (17 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 17 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – register entry (23 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 23 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 6.7 6.8 6.9 UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  8. ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ Companies House, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  10. ↑ Companies House, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ 12.0 12.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  13. ↑ Companies House, OTTO SCHIFF HOUSING ASSOCIATION filing history – Micro company accounts made up to 31 March 2025, filed 11 Nov 2025, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  14. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Otto Schiff Housing Association – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
  15. ↑ Companies House, 00292967 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  16. ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
  17. ↑ Companies House, FELDMAN, Brenda Ruth appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.