Satmar Seminary
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Satmar Seminary
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 31 August 2022 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1200219 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Satmar Seminary (Charity number: 1200219) is a registered charitable incorporated organisation (CIO).[1] The register describes its activities as: "The objectives of the charity are education and training (including social and physical) of orthodox Jewish girls under 25 years in the United Kingdom in such ways as the trustees see fit".[2] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £505,480 and expenditure of £635,812.[2]
- Charity registered: 31 August 2022 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: Unit 1, Guard House, Grosvenor Way, London, E5 9xe[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moses Benedikt | Chair | 20 June 2022 | Brid Gardens (charity number: 1197961) | The Knightland Foundation (charity number: 1143110) | Tag North London (charity number: 1207389) |
| Yoel Deutsch | Trustee | 20 June 2022 | Canvey Bright Start Ltd (charity number: 1195056) | Oakgrand 1 Ltd (charity number: 1217578) |
| Shlomo Ruttner | Trustee | 20 June 2022 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2023 | £262,887 | £437,478 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 15 | 24 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £404,017 | £467,868 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 20 | 24 June 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £505,480 | £635,812 | £360,065 | £607,473 | £21,042 | £-368,774 | £6,001 | 13 | 30 | 25 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[4] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Grants (360Giving): 1 grant(s) received totalling £19,920 (13 Jun 2024 – 13 Jun 2024); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (1 grant(s), £19,920).[5]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 3 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[4][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Moses Benedikt is also a trustee of Brid Gardens (1197961), The Knightland Foundation (1143110), Tag North London (1207389). Yoel Deutsch is also a trustee of Canvey Bright Start Ltd (1195056), Oakgrand 1 Ltd (1217578).[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Moses Benedikt is also connected with The Knightland Foundation (1143110), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[6].
See also
- Moses Benedikt
- Brid Gardens
- The Knightland Foundation
- Tag North London
- Yoel Deutsch
- Canvey Bright Start Ltd
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SATMAR SEMINARY trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Satmar Seminary – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SATMAR SEMINARY overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SATMAR SEMINARY financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Satmar Seminary 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12566138), 13 October 2026.