The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 28 March 1961 (incorporated); 12 March 1962 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 313890; Company 00688212 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association is a charity (Charity number: 313890) and a company Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association Limited(The) (Company number 00688212) registered in the UK. It is associated with the Freshwater family and in particular Benzion Freshwater a British billionaire property investor of Haredi Jewish descent – part of the Bobov sect.
Grants
| Grant recipients of the Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association in £ sterling | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Organisation | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | Total (£) |
| ABC Trust | 161,000 | 626,000 | 787,000 | |||
| Achisomoch | 24,000 | 49,000 | 73,000 | |||
| Ahavat Shalom | 18,000 | 18,000 | ||||
| Amud Hatzedoka Trust | 436,000 | 549,000 | 555,000 | 1,540,000 | ||
| Beis Aharon Trust | 25,000 | 25,000 | ||||
| Beis Medrash Govoha | 40,000 | 39,000 | 38,000 | 117,000 | ||
| Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited | 540,000 | 540,000 | ||||
| Bnei Yissoschor Kollel | 18,000 | 18,000 | ||||
| Bobov Cheder Trust | 84,000 | 641,000 | 1,024,000 | 1,749,000 | ||
| Bobov Foundation F.O. | 55,000 | 65,000 | 42,000 | 162,000 | ||
| Brisk Yeshiva | 17,000 | 56,000 | 29,000 | 102,000 | ||
| British Friends of Kupath Ha'ir | 30,000 | 30,000 | ||||
| Care All Limited | 24,000 | 33,000 | 57,000 | |||
| Chazon Ish Kollel | 21,000 | 21,000 | ||||
| Chevras Maoz Ladal | 42,000 | 84,000 | 238,000 | 103,000 | 145,000 | 612,000 |
| Chibas Yerushalayim Kollel | 102,000 | 33,000 | 256,000 | 174,000 | 62,000 | 627,000 |
| Edupoor Limited | 18,000 | 27,000 | 45,000 | |||
| Ezer L'Yoldos | 27,000 | 27,000 | ||||
| Ezer Mikodesh Foundation | 136,000 | 136,000 | ||||
| Ezer V'hatzoloh | 30,000 | 42,000 | 72,000 | |||
| Friends of Beis Chinuch Lebonos | 16,000 | 29,000 | 26,000 | 71,000 | ||
| Friends of Bobov Foundation | 23,000 | 23,000 | ||||
| Friends of Sanz Institutions | 16,000 | 16,000 | ||||
| Friends of Yeshivas Brisk | 34,000 | 34,000 | ||||
| Gateshead Talmudical College | 31,000 | 31,000 | ||||
| Hadras Kodesh Trust | 25,000 | 30,000 | 55,000 | |||
| Horomo Yeshiva | 19,000 | 19,000 | ||||
| Kahal Chasidim Bobov | 20,000 | 17,000 | 98,000 | 133,000 | 90,000 | 358,000 |
| Keren Hatsolas Doros | 56,000 | 56,000 | ||||
| Keren Shlomo Trust | 34,000 | 34,000 | ||||
| Kollel Torah Veyirah Limited | 106,000 | 106,000 | ||||
| Marbeh Torah Trust | 25,000 | 54,000 | 79,000 | |||
| Friends of Mercaz Hatorah Belz Machnovka | 21,000 | 21,000 | 27,000 | 36,000 | 105,000 | |
| Mercaz Hatorah Netzach Yisroel | 49,000 | 49,000 | ||||
| Mesifta Talmudical College | 26,000 | 26,000 | ||||
| Mesifta Talmudical Kollel | 29,000 | 29,000 | ||||
| Mifal Hachesed V'hatzedukah | 25,000 | 52,000 | 62,000 | 64,000 | 203,000 | |
| Mifal Tzedoko V'Chesed | 40,000 | 40,000 | ||||
| Mir Yeshiva F.O. | 58,000 | 58,000 | ||||
| Mosdos Bobov | 21,000 | 21,000 | ||||
| New Rachmistrivke Synagogue Trust | 22,000 | 22,000 | ||||
| North London Welfare & Educational Foundation | 34,000 | 34,000 | ||||
| One Heart - Lev Echod | 22,000 | 26,000 | 48,000 | |||
| Rabinow Divrei Shir Kollel | 48,000 | 28,000 | 51,000 | 127,000 | ||
| Regent Charities Ltd | 135,000 | 60,000 | 195,000 | |||
| Rehabilitation Trust | 35,000 | 30,000 | 65,000 | |||
| Sassov Beis Hamedrash | 32,000 | 32,000 | ||||
| Shaarei Orah | 42,000 | 42,000 | ||||
| Shuvu - Return | 20,000 | 20,000 | ||||
| Slabodka Yeshiva Brisk | 32,000 | 38,000 | 32,000 | 102,000 | ||
| Society of Friends of Torah Limited | 133,000 | 1,248,000 | 1,673,000 | 3,054,000 | ||
| Support The Charity Worker | 28,000 | 28,000 | ||||
| Three Pillars Trust | 25,000 | 25,000 | ||||
| Torah Temimoh Primary School | 25,000 | 25,000 | ||||
| United Talmudical Association | 38,000 | 61,000 | 30,000 | 129,000 | ||
| Woodstock Sinclair Trust | 38,000 | 38,000 | ||||
| Yad Eliezer | 41,000 | 43,000 | 27,000 | 111,000 | ||
| Yesamach Levav Trust | 24,000 | 39,000 | 35,000 | 45,000 | 143,000 | |
| Yetiv Lev London Jerusalem Trust | 26,000 | 26,000 | ||||
| Other Donations | 523,000 | 863,000 | 1,392,000 | 1,173,000 | 835,000 | 4,786,000 |
Data compiled from Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association Annual Accounts: 2017-2018 | 2018-2019 | 2019-2020 | 2020-2021 | 2021-2022
People
Trustees
Correct as of 13 April 2023:[1]
| Name | Role | Date Appointed | Other Trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Fischer | Trustee | 23 January 2014 | Mayfair Charities Limited / Highcroft Charitable Trust |
| Benzion Freshwater | Trustee | Union of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations / Mayfair Charities Limited / Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited / Service to the Aged / Regent Charities Limited / Sassov Beis Hamedrash | |
| David Davis | Trustee | Mayfair Charities Limited / Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited / Regent Charities Limited / Vendquot Limited | |
| Solomon Freshwater | Trustee | Mayfair Charities Limited / Service to the Aged / Sassov Beis Hamedrash |
Directors
| Directors of the Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association [2] | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Name | Role | Date of Birth | Appointed | Resigned | Nationality | Residence | Occupation |
| Martin David Eldridge Bale | Secretary | 30 September 2020 | |||||
| James Stephen Southgate | Secretary | 30 September 2020 | |||||
| David Davis | Director | June 1935 | British | England | Chartered Accountant | ||
| Richard Fischer | Director | May 1937 | 23 January 2014 | British | United Kingdom | Lecturer Rtd | |
| Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater | Director | April 1948 | British | United Kingdom | Director | ||
| Solomon Israel Freshwater | Director | August 1950 | 4 December 2006 | British | United Kingdom | Director | |
| Nechama Golda Freshwater | Secretary | 3 March 2004 | |||||
| Mark Roy Mason Jenner | Secretary | 20 August 2001 | 30 September 2020 | British | |||
| Christopher Charles Morse | Secretary | 20 August 2001 | |||||
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater | 6 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [3][4] |
| D Davis | 6 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [3][4] |
| Solomon Israel Freshwater | 6 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [3][4] |
| Richard Fischer | 13 November 2016 | 2 January 2019 | 5 [5][4] |
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 19 April 2017)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[6]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2009 | £5,408,000 | £5,375,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2010 | £6,344,000 | £7,623,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| March 2012 | £3,143,000 | £6,267,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2013 | £3,722,000 | £6,036,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2014 | £4,000,000 | £3,806,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2015 | £3,370,000 | £5,640,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2016 | £8,372,000 | £8,607,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2017 | £15,359,000 | £6,777,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[10] |
| March 2018 | £8,961,000 | £5,896,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| 31 March 2021 | £9,094,000 | £10,296,000 | £1,253,000 | £4,656,000 | £3,607,000 | £121,906,000 | £2,804,000 | 0 | 0 | 28 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £9,051,000 | £9,742,000 | £1,253,000 | £3,974,000 | £3,597,000 | £115,798,000 | £12,125,000 | 0 | 0 | 30 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £9,502,000 | £11,880,000 | £1,357,000 | £6,128,000 | £5,351,000 | £105,830,000 | £4,131,000 | 0 | 0 | 26 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £10,614,000 | £11,982,000 | £1,253,000 | £5,972,000 | £4,754,000 | £102,900,000 | £2,548,000 | 0 | 0 | 29 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £11,695,000 | £11,606,000 | £2,000,000 | £6,392,000 | £4,425,000 | £107,533,000 | £5,840,000 | 0 | 0 | 7 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[11] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[12] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[12]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 31 March 2026, due by 31 December 2026.[13]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 19 April 2026; next due by 3 May 2027.[13]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[14]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 6 January 2003, The Governor and Company of the Bank of Scotland: "L/H property k/a ground floor 959 finchley road london t/no: NGL732101. Fixed charge all buildings and other structures fixed to the property fixed charge any goodwill relating to the property fixed charge all plant machinery and other items affixed to the property assignment of the rental sums toge" (Satisfied); 6 January 2003, The Governor and Company of the Bank of Scotland: "L/H property K.a 959 finchley road london t/no: NGL732100. Fixed charge all buildings and other structures fixed to the property fixed charge any goodwill relating to the property fixed charge all plant machinery and other items affixed to the property assignment of the rental sums together with the" (Satisfied); 6 January 2003, The Governor and Company of the Bank of Scotland: "959 finchley road london t/no: MX386707. Fixed charge all buildings and other structures fixed to the property fixed charge any goodwill relating to the property fixed charge all plant machinery and other items affixed to the property assignment of the rental sums together with the benefit of all ri" (Satisfied); 13 July 1984, Wardley London Limited: "All the company's right title and interest in and to the assigned property (as defined in the assignment contract)." (Outstanding); 13 July 1984, Wardley London Limited: "All the company's right title and interest in and to all sums (of principal or interest) now or from time to time hereinafter standing to the credit of or earned on the account (as defined in the cash collateral assignment)." (Outstanding).[15]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 13 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: North House, St Edwards Way, Romford (RM1 3PP) (title EGL402993, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 15-03-2001); 88 The Drive, London (NW11 9UL) (title MX346296, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 23-08-2022, price paid £2,800,000); 959 Finchley Road, (NW11 7PE) (title MX386707, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 05-12-2002); 90 The Drive, London (NW11 9UL) (title NGL644470, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 23-08-2022, price paid £1,000,000); part of 959 Finchley Road, (NW11 7PE) (title NGL732100, leasehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 05-12-2002, price paid £318,000); part of 959 Finchley Road (title NGL732101, leasehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 05-12-2002, price paid £214,760); 1 to 16 Georgian Court, Cross Road, 1 to 12 New Parade and 69 and 69A Cherry Orchard Road (title SGL129020, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 30-04-1982); Cumberland Court, 21 Cross Road, Croydon (CR0 6TE) (title SGL139096, freehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 30-04-1982); land on the South West side of London Road and the North East side of Railway Approach, Twickenham (title SGL267340, freehold; registered proprietor RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 19-01-1987); land on the south-west side of London Road, Twickenham (title SGL311008, freehold; registered proprietor RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 19-01-1987); car parking area adjacent to Cherry Orchard Road and Cross Road (title SGL375237, leasehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 02-06-1983); Flat 33, Cumberland Court, 21 Cross Road, Croydon (CR0 6TE) (title SGL712411, leasehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 11-12-2009); Flat 1, Cumberland Court, 21 Cross Road, Croydon (CR0 6TE) (title SGL712416, leasehold; registered proprietor THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00688212); proprietor registered 11-12-2009).[16]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[11][12]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Mr D Davis is also a trustee of Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited (248708), Mayfair Charities Limited (255281), Regent Charities Limited (1059253). Solomon Israel Freshwater is also a trustee of Service To The Aged (1001916), Mayfair Charities Limited (255281), Sassov Beis Hamedrash (1102303), Zichron Chaim Limited (1204043), Tol Charity (1217718). Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater is also a trustee of Sassov Beis Hamedrash (1102303), Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited (248708), Mayfair Charities Limited (255281), Service To The Aged (1001916), Regent Charities Limited (1059253), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Parsha Limited (267986). Richard Fischer is also a trustee of Highcroft Charitable Trust (272684), Mayfair Charities Limited (255281).[17]
- Shared address and control: Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater, Solomon Israel Freshwater give the same correspondence address (Freshwater House, 158-162 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, United Kingdom, WC2H 8HR).[18]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr D Davis is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[17] but not as a current director at Companies House.[18]
See also
Notes
- ↑ Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association Trustees, Charity Commission. Retrieved 13 April 2023.
- ↑ https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00688212/officers
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (6 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Internet Archive Wayback Machine, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (13 November 2016), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 13 November 2016, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED(THE) persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (26 March 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 March 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (26 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 12.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Companies House, RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED(THE) overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 00688212 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 17.0 17.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 18.0 18.1 Companies House, RAPHAEL FRESHWATER MEMORIAL ASSOCIATION LIMITED(THE) officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.