Mesifta Talmudical College
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Mesifta Talmudical College
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 15 June 1964 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 312905 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Mesifta Talmudical College (Charity number: 312905) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "The charity's objectives are as set out in its' governing document, namely the charity was established for the purpose of promoting advanced Jewish religious education and learning, and in particular to:(a) to give instruction in the students in Jewish classical religious literature with special emphasis on the Talmud,".[2] For the financial year ending 30 September 2025 it reported income of £1,621,637 and expenditure of £1,188,627.[2]
- Charity registered: 15 June 1964 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 90-92 Cazenove Road, London, N16 6ab[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jacob Mosche Fekete | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Rabbi Samuel Weinstock | Trustee | Not disclosed | Beth Hamedrash D'nitra (charity number: 1058820) | Yetev Lev London Jerusalem Trust (charity number: 1118504) |
| Solomon Hochberg | Trustee | 1 March 2021 | None on record |
| Hersch Oestreicher | Trustee | 1 March 2021 | None on record |
| Moishe Stern | Trustee | 1 March 2021 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jacob Oestreicher | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Samuel Weinstock | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Moshe Ephraim Schneck | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Salomon Matyas | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Chaim Schneck | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Jacob Fekette | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2012 | £874,246 | £781,132 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2013 | £825,783 | £838,946 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2014 | £846,149 | £733,818 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2015 | £846,911 | £783,821 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2016 | £852,449 | £784,959 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2017 | £998,416 | £896,668 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 30 September 2021 | £1,130,961 | £786,231 | £723,162 | £732,888 | £0 | £5,217,760 | £72,822 | 31 | 0 | 29 July 2022 (due 30 July 2022) |
| 30 September 2022 | £1,274,195 | £1,125,587 | £801,821 | £1,057,990 | £10,000 | £5,764,345 | £641,494 | 24 | 0 | 25 July 2023 (due 30 July 2023) |
| 30 September 2023 | £1,282,075 | £1,108,410 | £859,156 | £1,080,276 | £0 | £5,998,951 | £556,083 | 26 | 0 | 22 July 2024 (due 30 July 2024) |
| 30 September 2024 | £1,436,952 | £1,214,741 | £1,042,447 | £1,159,771 | £0 | £6,420,390 | £74,550 | 27 | 0 | 30 June 2025 (due 30 July 2025) |
| 30 September 2025 | £1,621,637 | £1,188,627 | £1,158,523 | £1,143,291 | £0 | £6,790,700 | £328,484 | 30 | 0 | 30 June 2026 (due 30 July 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 30 September 2014; year ending 30 September 2015; year ending 30 September 2016; year ending 30 September 2017; year ending 30 September 2018.[7]
- Grants (360Giving): 1 grant(s) received totalling £9,995 (03 May 2012 – 03 May 2012); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (1 grant(s), £9,995).[8]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 158 London Road South, Lowestoft NR33 0BB, 2 Waterloo Road and Flats 1-3, 3 Waterloo Road, Lowestoft NR33 0BB (title SK230362, freehold; registered proprietor MESIFTA TALMUDICAL COLLEGE; proprietor registered 04-10-2017, price paid £200,000).[9]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Rabbi Samuel Weinstock is also a trustee of Beth Hamedrash D'nitra (1058820), Yetev Lev London Jerusalem Trust (1118504).[1]
See also
- Jacob Mosche Fekete
- Rabbi Samuel Weinstock
- Beth Hamedrash D'nitra
- Yetev Lev London Jerusalem Trust
- Solomon Hochberg
- Hersch Oestreicher
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MESIFTA TALMUDICAL COLLEGE trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Mesifta Talmudical College – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MESIFTA TALMUDICAL COLLEGE overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 UK Government Web Archive, Mesifta Talmudical College – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 UK Government Web Archive, Mesifta Talmudical College – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MESIFTA TALMUDICAL COLLEGE financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Mesifta Talmudical College – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Mesifta Talmudical College 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.