Service to the Aged

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

Service to the Aged

Type Registered charity and company limited by guarantee
Founded 5 February 1991 (incorporated); 13 February 1991 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 1001916; Company 02580196
Status Registered
Location London, England
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House

Service to the Aged (Charity number: 1001916; Company number 02580196) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The charity provides nursing and dementia care for the Jewish community in a residential setting for the aged and infirm and frail".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £5,103,828 and expenditure of £5,286,351.[3]

  • Charity registered: 13 February 1991 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 5 February 1991 (Active); SIC 88990 - Other social work activities without accommodation not elsewhere classified[2]
  • Registered office address: New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, United Kingdom, NW11 0PU[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Solomon Israel Freshwater Trustee 14 October 1999 Mayfair Charities Limited (charity number: 255281) | The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (charity number: 313890) | Sassov Beis Hamedrash (charity number: 1102303) | Zichron Chaim Limited (charity number: 1204043) | Tol Charity (charity number: 1217718)
Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater Trustee 1 April 1991 Sassov Beis Hamedrash (charity number: 1102303) | Beth Jacob Grammar School For Girls Limited (charity number: 248708) | Mayfair Charities Limited (charity number: 255281) | The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (charity number: 313890) | Regent Charities Limited (charity number: 1059253) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Parsha Limited (charity number: 267986)
Stephen Jonathan Goldberg Trustee 16 April 2015 Sylvella Charity Limited (charity number: 279710) | The D M Charitable Trust (charity number: 1110419) | Rabbi Yisroel Yehudah Peritz Charitable Trust (charity number: 1069225) | The Dombey-Pulgram Charitable Legacy (charity number: 1147068) | Friends Of Sage Limited (charity number: 1207847)
Harold Ganz Trustee 8 September 2023 None on record

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Michael Jeffrey Sinclair 25 February 2009 5 January 2018 6 [4][5]
Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater 25 February 2009 2 January 2019 7 [4][6]
George Frankel 25 February 2009 20 January 2011 3 [4][7]
Leonard Nelken 25 February 2009 20 January 2011 3 [4][7]
Clarence Guttentag 25 February 2009 13 July 2010 2 [4][8]
Solomon Israel Freshwater 25 February 2009 2 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Harry Chaim Schimmel 25 February 2009 20 January 2011 3 [4][7]
Adrian Mark Jacobs 26 July 2017 5 January 2018 3 [9][5]
Stephen Jonathan Goldberg 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 4 [9][6]
Adrian Mark Jacobs Bem 2 January 2019 2 January 2019 1 [6]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Martin David Eldridge Bale Role Active Secretary 30 September 2020 Not disclosed
James Stephen Southgate Role Active Secretary 30 September 2020 Not disclosed
Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater Role Active Director April 1948 Appointed before 5 February 1993 78 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Solomon Israel Freshwater Role Active Director August 1950 76 11 October 1999 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Harold Ganz Role Active Director August 1951 75 8 September 2023 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Stephen Jonathan Goldberg Role Active Director October 1953 72 or 73 16 April 2015 British England Not disclosed
Mark Roy Mason Jenner Role Resigned Secretary 20 August 2001 30 September 2020 British Not disclosed
Christopher Charles Morse Role Resigned Secretary Appointed before 5 February 1993 20 August 2001 British Not disclosed
Daniel Isaac Dover Role Resigned Director January 1953 73 25 March 1998 20 October 2000 British Not disclosed
George Rosner Frankel Role Resigned Director May 1927 Appointed before 5 February 1993 99 16 April 2015 British Not disclosed
Clarence Guttentag Role Resigned Director May 1935 Appointed before 5 February 1993 91 11 August 2010 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Adrian Mark Jacobs Role Resigned Director October 1961 64 or 65 16 April 2015 31 March 2023 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Leonard Nelken Role Resigned Director July 1926 Appointed before 5 February 1993 100 16 April 2015 British Not disclosed
Frank Posen Role Resigned Director March 1942 Appointed before 5 February 1993 84 31 December 1997 British Not disclosed
Josef Reid Role Resigned Director July 1924 Appointed before 5 February 1993 102 17 June 2008 British Not disclosed
Harry Chaim Schimmel Role Resigned Director January 1928 98 1 June 2000 16 April 2015 British England Not disclosed
Michael Jeffrey Sinclair Role Resigned Director December 1942 Appointed before 5 February 1993 83 31 March 2018 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Philip David Weinstein Role Resigned Director July 1953 Appointed before 5 February 1993 73 10 March 2004 British United Kingdom Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[10]

Persons with significant control

  • PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 5 February 2017)

Source: Companies House PSC register.[11]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
March 2008 £2,732,793 £2,583,278 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[12]
March 2009 £2,693,119 £2,652,851 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[13]
March 2012 £2,953,854 £3,236,452 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2013 £3,350,882 £2,918,320 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2014 £3,150,823 £3,176,609 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2015 £2,846,090 £3,375,607 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2016 £2,809,653 £3,308,436 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[14]
March 2017 £3,221,231 £3,270,673 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
31 March 2021 £3,232,059 £3,102,258 £295,527 £3,099,919 £3,099,919 £3,325,819 £117,272 95 0 22 December 2021 (due 31 January 2022)
31 March 2022 £3,195,307 £3,184,396 £161,244 £3,180,952 £3,180,952 £3,336,730 £260,110 88 0 22 December 2022 (due 31 January 2023)
31 March 2023 £3,771,280 £4,258,679 £65,886 £4,256,097 £0 £2,849,331 £2,953 81 7 30 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024)
31 March 2024 £4,633,143 £4,962,692 £64,797 £4,958,718 £0 £3,769,282 £873 99 0 18 December 2024 (due 31 January 2025)
31 March 2025 £5,103,828 £5,286,351 £67,000 £5,285,364 £0 £3,586,759 £383 99 35 20 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[15] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[16]

  • Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 30 March 2026, due by 30 December 2026.[2]
  • Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 5 February 2026; next due by 19 February 2027.[2]
  • Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[17]
  • Registered charges (Companies House): 2 August 2001, Northern Rock PLC: "200/210 golders green rd,hendon,london NW11; t/no ngl 684963; the benefit of all guarantees and fixed charge over the copyright and other rights thereon and all interest,agreements,certificates,documents,guarantees,warranties,etc." (Satisfied); 16 July 1997, Bank of Wales PLC: "All that land adjoining 200-210 golders green road hendon being part of tn ngl 589960 with the goodwill of any business conducted at the property all plant equipment machinery chattels and assets at the property." (Satisfied); 16 July 1997, Bank of Wales PLC: "Property k/a 200-210 golders green hendon in the london borough of barnet t/n NGL684963 with the goodwill of any business conducted at the property al plant equipment machinery chattels and assets at the property." (Satisfied); 3 July 1991, North of England Building Society: "All that f/h property forming part of the property k/a 200/210 golders green road london NW11 (please see doc 395 m/456/c 12.7 for full details)." (Satisfied); 3 July 1991, North of England Building Society: "Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets present and future including goodwill bookdebts uncalled capital buildings fixtures fixed plant and machinery." (Satisfied).[18]
  • Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 2 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 200 to 210 (even) Golders Green Road, Hendon, London (NW11 9AQ) (title NGL684963, freehold; registered proprietor SERVICE TO THE AGED; proprietor registered ); land at the junction of Golders Green Road and Ambrose Avenue, Hendon (title NGL755355, freehold; registered proprietor SERVICE TO THE AGED; proprietor registered 30-10-1997).[19]

Controversies and conflicts

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SERVICE TO THE AGED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, SERVICE TO THE AGED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Service to the Aged – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (25 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 25 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (5 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (20 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 20 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  8. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (13 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 13 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 9.5 UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 Companies House, SERVICE TO THE AGED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ Companies House, SERVICE TO THE AGED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (12 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 12 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
  13. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (11 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 11 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
  14. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – register entry (5 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  15. ↑ 15.0 15.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SERVICE TO THE AGED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  16. ↑ 16.0 16.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SERVICE TO THE AGED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  17. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Service to the Aged – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 September 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  18. ↑ Companies House, 02580196 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  19. ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.