Beis Yaakov London Seminary
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Beis Yaakov London Seminary
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 10 January 2002 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1090040 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Beis Yaakov London Seminary (Charity number: 1090040) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "provision of services and support for the advancement of education generally, and in particular the provision of educational opportunities for disadvantaged children in the orthodox Jewish community".[2] For the financial year ending 30 April 2025 it reported income of £692,386 and expenditure of £689,620.[2]
- Charity registered: 10 January 2002 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 198 Lordship Road, London, N16 5es[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leah Orzel | Trustee | 1 April 2016 | Get Set Girls (charity number: 1085966) | Beth Jacob Teachers' Seminary (charity number: 312913) | Ateres Seminary London Ltd (charity number: 1205888) |
| Yisroel Lock | Trustee | 23 March 2022 | Lezamer Ltd (charity number: 1195287) | Learn N Grow (charity number: 1198173) |
| Benzion Goldstein | Trustee | 23 March 2022 | Forty Limited (charity number: 1039036) | Living Better (charity number: 1215608) | Ezer Bekovoid Limited (charity number: 1138167) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jehudah Baumgarten | 17 January 2009 | 5 May 2014 | 4 [4][5] |
| Leone Rabinowitz | 17 January 2009 | 5 May 2014 | 4 [4][5] |
| Solomon Sabersky | 17 January 2009 | 5 May 2014 | 4 [4][5] |
| Abraham Schechter | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Yisroel Meir Cohen | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Leah Orzel | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £2,820 | £10,336 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2013 | £5,465 | £5,686 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2014 | £165 | £175 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2015 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2016 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2017 | £197,287 | £198,656 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| 30 April 2021 | £513,872 | £453,403 | £202,691 | £452,083 | £202,691 | £58,536 | £22,313 | 0 | 5 | 28 February 2022 (due 28 February 2022) |
| 30 April 2022 | £493,018 | £436,169 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 28 February 2023 (due 28 February 2023) |
| 30 April 2023 | £477,927 | £461,329 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 29 February 2024 (due 29 February 2024) |
| 30 April 2024 | £646,354 | £641,149 | £362,715 | £639,589 | £0 | £137,188 | £7,117 | 25 | 3 | 28 February 2025 (due 28 February 2025) |
| 30 April 2025 | £692,386 | £689,620 | £409,294 | £671,772 | £0 | £139,954 | £3,740 | 33 | 5 | 26 February 2026 (due 28 February 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[9]
- Grants (360Giving): 1 grant(s) received totalling £9,957 (14 Jun 2019 – 14 Jun 2019); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (1 grant(s), £9,957).[10]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[8][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Leah Orzel is also a trustee of Get Set Girls (1085966), Beth Jacob Teachers' Seminary (312913), Ateres Seminary London Ltd (1205888). Yisroel Lock is also a trustee of Lezamer Ltd (1195287), Learn N Grow (1198173). Benzion Goldstein is also a trustee of Forty Limited (1039036), Living Better (1215608), Ezer Bekovoid Limited (1138167).[1]
See also
- Leah Orzel
- Get Set Girls
- Beth Jacob Teachers' Seminary
- Ateres Seminary London Ltd
- Yisroel Lock
- Lezamer Ltd
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BEIS YAAKOV LONDON SEMINARY trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BEIS YAAKOV LONDON SEMINARY overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – register entry (17 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 17 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 UK Government Web Archive, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – register entry (5 May 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 May 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 6.7 UK Government Web Archive, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 UK Government Web Archive, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BEIS YAAKOV LONDON SEMINARY financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Beis Yaakov London Seminary – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Beis Yaakov London Seminary 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.