Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim)

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim)

Type Registered charity
Founded 10 September 1964 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 526665
Status Registered
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales

Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) (Charity number: 526665) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "EDUCATION/TRAINING, RELIGIOUS ACTIVITIES, MAKES GRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £592,522 and expenditure of £545,852.[2]

  • Charity registered: 10 September 1964 (Registered)[1]
  • Charity contact address: 134 Leicester Road, Salford, M7 4gb[3]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Stuart Elliott Schwalbe Trustee 30 June 2016 None on record
Morris Brunner Trustee 30 June 2016 The Roston Charitable Trust (charity number: 1119994) | J Shine Charities Limited (charity number: 251283) | The Machzikei Hadass Communities (charity number: 235459) | Machzikei Hadass Community Services Ltd (charity number: 1177884) | Heichal Hatorah (charity number: 1095687) | Timatside Ltd (charity number: 1062745) | Bnos Yisroel School Manchester (charity number: 1142654)

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
B Weiss 26 January 2009 8 January 2011 3 [4][5]
Bernadim Weiss 26 January 2009 3 January 2014 6 [4][6]
Peter John Koppenheim 26 January 2009 3 January 2014 6 [4][6]
Morris Brunner 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [7][8]
Bernadin Weiss 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [7][8]
Stuart Elliott Schwalbe 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [7][8]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
March 2012 £346,835 £334,761 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2013 £433,945 £337,215 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2014 £322,099 £351,399 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2015 £391,084 £350,228 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2016 £349,881 £361,838 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[7]
March 2017 £400,032 £355,830 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
31 March 2021 £560,746 £524,855 £422,846 £506,627 £0 £602,110 £58,981 30 0 31 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022)
31 March 2022 £494,046 £520,539 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 29 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023)
31 March 2023 £553,758 £665,282 £549,581 £656,115 £0 £464,093 £28,341 30 0 30 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024)
31 March 2024 £539,219 £542,686 £534,465 £530,424 £285 £460,625 £26,120 29 0 30 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025)
31 March 2025 £592,522 £545,852 £585,862 £540,350 £949 £507,295 £55,373 29 0 29 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]

Controversies and conflicts

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACADEMY FOR TALMUDICAL RESEARCH (KOLEL HARABANIM) trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACADEMY FOR TALMUDICAL RESEARCH (KOLEL HARABANIM) overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – register entry (26 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – register entry (8 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 8 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – register entry (3 January 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 7.6 7.7 UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  8. ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACADEMY FOR TALMUDICAL RESEARCH (KOLEL HARABANIM) financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  10. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Academy for Talmudical Research (Kolel Harabanim) – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 September 2013, accessed 14 October 2026.