The Machzikei Hadass Communities

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

The Machzikei Hadass Communities

Type Registered charity
Founded 14 August 1964 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 235459
Status Registered
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales

The Machzikei Hadass Communities (Charity number: 235459) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "The trust provides the use of religious buildings to the Orthodox Jewish community. It also collects funds which are distributed to Jewish religious organisations and to the needy in the Jewish Community, and runs a charity voucher schemeIt also provides services which ensure that all foods supplied to the Jewish Community are certified as Kosher and fit for consumption by the Jewish Community".[2] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £7,092,483 and expenditure of £6,856,396.[2]

  • Charity registered: 14 August 1964 (Registered)[1]
  • Charity contact address: 17 Northumberland St, Salford, Manchester, M7 4fe[3]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Morris Brunner Trustee Not disclosed The Roston Charitable Trust (charity number: 1119994) | J Shine Charities Limited (charity number: 251283) | Academy For Talmudical Research (kolel Harabanim) (charity number: 526665) | Machzikei Hadass Community Services Ltd (charity number: 1177884) | Heichal Hatorah (charity number: 1095687) | Timatside Ltd (charity number: 1062745) | Bnos Yisroel School Manchester (charity number: 1142654)
Yehuda Aryeh Sanger Trustee Not disclosed None on record
Yaakov Menachem Salomon Trustee Not disclosed Keren Moisdos Manchester (charity number: 1130388)

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
A Reich 3 February 2009 3 January 2018 6 [4][5]
Morris Brunner 3 February 2009 2 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Yehuda Aryeh Sanger 3 February 2009 2 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Benjamin Leitner 3 February 2009 9 January 2011 3 [4][7]
Yaakov Menachem Salomon 3 February 2009 2 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Akiva Reich 2 January 2019 2 January 2019 1 [6]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
August 2010 £1,709,950 £1,716,321 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
August 2011 £1,767,122 £1,786,499 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
August 2012 £1,882,664 £1,810,602 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[10]
August 2013 £2,039,295 £2,003,775 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[10]
August 2014 £2,376,533 £2,192,392 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[10]
August 2015 £2,646,389 £2,397,453 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[10]
August 2016 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[10]
August 2017 £3,068,626 £2,694,386 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
31 August 2021 £4,708,024 £4,339,423 £1,859,851 £1,886,921 £1,753,377 £4,497,195 £1,346,833 21 0 30 June 2022 (due 30 June 2022)
31 August 2022 £5,069,262 £4,865,300 £1,726,802 £2,242,242 £1,374,260 £4,701,156 £1,159,124 27 0 30 June 2023 (due 30 June 2023)
31 August 2023 £5,356,301 £5,777,655 £1,798,564 £5,777,655 £1,893,893 £4,689,651 £540,375 33 0 28 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024)
31 August 2024 £5,278,833 £5,461,888 £1,743,923 £5,461,888 £1,570,764 £4,746,298 £333,372 32 0 30 June 2025 (due 30 June 2025)
31 August 2025 £7,092,483 £6,856,396 £1,938,307 £6,856,396 £1,454,507 £4,982,385 £320,577 33 0 28 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[11] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]

Controversies and conflicts

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MACHZIKEI HADASS COMMUNITIES trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MACHZIKEI HADASS COMMUNITIES overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (3 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (9 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 9 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  8. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (10 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 10 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (5 January 2013), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2013, accessed 14 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  11. ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MACHZIKEI HADASS COMMUNITIES financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Machzikei Hadass Communities – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.