Woodlands Green Ltd
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Woodlands Green Ltd
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 18 January 1979 (incorporated); 1 March 1979 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 277299; Company 01410061 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Woodlands Green Ltd (Charity number: 277299; Company number 01410061) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The charity makes grants to institutions advancing the Orthodox Jewish faith both in the UK and overseas".[3] For the financial year ending 5 April 2025 it reported income of £371,301 and expenditure of £245,490.[3]
- Charity registered: 1 March 1979 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 18 January 1979 (Active); SIC 88990 - Other social work activities without accommodation not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 27 Yew Tree Court, Bridge Lane, London, NW11 0RA[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Arnold Ost | Trustee | Not disclosed | Goodheights Limited (charity number: 802589) | Ezer Bekovoid Limited (charity number: 1138167) | The Grosvenor Foundation Limited (charity number: 1103485) |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | Trustee | Not disclosed | Bridge Lane Foundation Limited (charity number: 1103512) | Goodheights Limited (charity number: 802589) | Gitter Foundation Ltd (charity number: 1129108) | The Tmc Trust Limited (charity number: 1139316) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) |
| Avrohom Arran | Trustee | 1 June 2026 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| E Ost | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| J Ost | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| A Hepner | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Daniel Joshua Ost | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Arnold Ost | Role Active | Secretary Appointed before 15 September 1991 | British | Not disclosed | |||||
| Avrohom Arran | Role Active | Director | March 1972 | 54 | 16 November 2025 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | Role Active | Director | February 1945 Appointed before 18 January 1979 | 81 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | ||
| Joseph Arnold Ost | Role Active | Director | March 1953 Appointed before 18 January 1979 | 73 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | ||
| Judith Bella Berger | Role Resigned | Director | August 1947 | 79 | 21 August 2002 | 22 August 2002 | Canadian | Canada | Not disclosed |
| Arie Hepner | Role Resigned | Director | February 1936 | 90 | 18 March 1996 | 1 November 2025 | British | England Identity verification due 29 November 2025 | Not disclosed |
| Antschel Ost | Role Resigned | Director | April 1914 Appointed before 18 January 1979 | 112 | 13 January 2013 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Edith Ost | Role Resigned | Director | September 1924 Appointed before 18 January 1979 | 102 | 9 April 2021 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avrohom Arran | Active | 16 November 2025 | March 1972 | 54 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% | |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | Active | 9 April 2021 | February 1945 | 81 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% | |
| Joseph Arnold Ost | Active | 9 April 2021 | March 1953 | 73 | British | Israel | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Statement Withdrawn The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company |
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 15 September 2016; withdrawn 9 April 2021)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2012 | £180,838 | £235,540 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2013 | £219,099 | £291,645 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2014 | £293,315 | £235,933 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2015 | £251,440 | £256,020 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2016 | £268,488 | £170,049 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2017 | £236,551 | £195,709 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 5 April 2021 | £279,156 | £241,354 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 22 February 2022 (due 5 February 2022) |
| 5 April 2022 | £331,713 | £227,472 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 21 February 2023 (due 5 February 2023) |
| 5 April 2023 | £361,985 | £306,954 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2024 (due 5 February 2024) |
| 5 April 2024 | £329,936 | £289,729 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2025 (due 5 February 2025) |
| 5 April 2025 | £371,301 | £245,490 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 29 January 2026 (due 5 February 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[9]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 5 April 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 22 Feb 2022); next accounts made up to 3 April 2026, due by 3 January 2027.[2][10]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 15 November 2025; next due by 29 November 2026.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 5 April 2014; year ending 5 April 2015; year ending 5 April 2016; year ending 5 April 2017; year ending 5 April 2018.[11]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 17 January 2014, Lloyds Bank PLC: "112 - 162 (even numbers) high street, teddington, middlesex t/no SGL60250 f/H. Notification of addition to or amendment of charge." (Outstanding); 13 July 2011, The Society of Friends of the Torah Limited: "All rents, licence fees and other monies receivable now or in the future in respect of or arising out of any lease or any agreements for lease or otherwise derived from or arising out of the property." (Satisfied).[12]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 112 to 162 (even numbers) High Street, Teddington (title SGL60250, freehold; registered proprietor WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED (01410061); proprietor registered 30-07-1979).[13]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 5 April 2021 were received on 22 February 2022, after the due date of 5 February 2022; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 5 April 2022 were received on 21 February 2023, after the due date of 5 February 2023.[8] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9]
- Companies House notices: 30 Jun 2021: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 26 Jun 2021: Compulsory strike-off action has been suspended (DISS16(SOAS)); 15 Jun 2021: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 20 Mar 2019: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 12 Mar 2019: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 27 Jun 2018: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 05 Jun 2018: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 22 Mar 2016: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 08 Mar 2016: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 08 Apr 2015: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 07 Apr 2015: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 21 Aug 2013: Administrative restoration application (RT01); 30 Jul 2013: Final Gazette dissolved via compulsory strike-off (GAZ2); 16 Apr 2013: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 21 Apr 2012: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); and further related filings.[14]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Joseph Arnold Ost is also a trustee of Goodheights Limited (802589), Ezer Bekovoid Limited (1138167), The Grosvenor Foundation Limited (1103485). Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost is also a trustee of Bridge Lane Foundation Limited (1103512), Goodheights Limited (802589), Gitter Foundation Ltd (1129108), The Tmc Trust Limited (1139316), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987).[1]
See also
- Joseph Arnold Ost
- Goodheights Limited
- Ezer Bekovoid Limited
- The Grosvenor Foundation Limited
- Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost
- Bridge Lane Foundation Limited
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, WOODLANDS GREEN LTD trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Woodlands Green Ltd – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 UK Government Web Archive, Woodlands Green Ltd – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 UK Government Web Archive, Woodlands Green Ltd – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, WOODLANDS GREEN LTD financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, WOODLANDS GREEN LTD overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 5 April 2021, filed 22 Feb 2022, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Woodlands Green Ltd – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 01410061 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, WOODLANDS GREEN LIMITED filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.