Gitter Foundation Ltd
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Gitter Foundation Ltd
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 22 May 2008 (incorporated); 9 April 2009 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1129108; Company 06600663 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Gitter Foundation Ltd (Charity number: 1129108; Company number 06600663) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "Raise funds and support Jewish education".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2024 it reported income of £460,250 and expenditure of £446,447.[3]
- Charity registered: 9 April 2009 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 22 May 2008 (Active); SIC 88990 - Other social work activities without accommodation not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 5 North End Road, London, NW11 7RJ[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nathan Joel Halpern | Trustee | 4 July 2017 | Alexander Shtiebel (charity number: 1177368) |
| Alexander Mordecai Freshwater | Trustee | 23 July 2021 | None on record |
| Steven Solomon Mark Hus | Trustee | 28 March 2023 | None on record |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | Trustee | 4 July 2017 | Bridge Lane Foundation Limited (charity number: 1103512) | Goodheights Limited (charity number: 802589) | Woodlands Green Ltd (charity number: 277299) | The Tmc Trust Limited (charity number: 1139316) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adrian Heller | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Ahron Halpern | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Nathan Joel Halpern | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Leonard Bondi | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexander Mordecai Freshwater | Role Active | Director | June 1971 | 55 | 23 July 2021 | American | England | Not disclosed | |
| Steven Solomon Mark Hus | Role Active | Director | May 1971 | 55 | 28 March 2023 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost | Role Active | Director | February 1945 | 81 | 5 July 2017 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Leonard Harry Bondi | Role Resigned | Director | April 1944 | 82 | 17 April 2018 | 27 March 2023 | British | Israel | Not disclosed |
| Ahron Halpern | Role Resigned | Director | April 1952 | 74 | 11 July 2017 | 21 July 2023 | Canadian | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Nathan Joel Halpern | Role Resigned | Director | January 1989 | 37 | 4 July 2017 | 27 March 2025 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Adrian Heller | Role Resigned | Director | November 1955 | 70 | 11 July 2017 | 31 December 2018 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Stephen Nigel Heuberger | Role Resigned | Director | August 1957 | 69 | 29 May 2008 | 14 September 2011 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Samuel Hoffman | Role Resigned | Director | January 1981 | 45 | 22 May 2008 | 4 July 2017 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Jakob Lemberger | Role Resigned | Director | October 1970 | 55 or 56 | 29 May 2008 | 4 July 2017 | Austrian | England | Not disclosed |
| Form 10 Directors Fd Ltd | Role Resigned | Director | 22 May 2008 | 22 May 2008 |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 6 April 2016)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2013 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| 31 December 2020 | £583,833 | £96,437 | £296,683 | £89,645 | £10,000 | £3,210,319 | £35,199 | 0 | 0 | 27 October 2021 (due 31 October 2021) |
| 31 December 2021 | £545,109 | £156,166 | £250,096 | £148,023 | £42,200 | £3,599,262 | £74,173 | 0 | 0 | 20 March 2023 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £350,876 | £177,127 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 26 October 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £675,813 | £308,357 | £371,155 | £49,500 | £49,500 | £4,140,467 | £20,571 | 0 | 0 | 31 October 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £460,250 | £446,447 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 1 | 30 October 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2024 (Full accounts, filed 30 Oct 2025); next accounts made up to 5 January 2026, due by 5 January 2027.[2][11]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 22 May 2026; next due by 5 June 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2018.[12]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 21 January 2019, Unity Trust Bank PLC: "The freehold property known as hendon reform synagogue, danescroft avenue, london, NW4 2NA registered at the land registry with title number AGL129467." (Outstanding); 6 November 2017, Better Properties Limited Itzchok Meyer Cymerman Trust LTD Charitworth LTD Countypier Limited There are more than four persons entitled to the charge. Please see the deed to view their names.: "The freehold property known as hendon reform synagogue, danescroft avenue, london NW4 2NA registered at the land registry under title number AGL129467 but excluding the land comprised in the transfer dated 29 june 2017." (Outstanding).[13]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Hendon Reform Synagogue, Danescroft Avenue, London (NW4 2NA) (title AGL129467, freehold; registered proprietor GITTER FOUNDATION LTD (06600663); proprietor registered 07-11-2017, price paid £6,350,000).[14]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 December 2021 were received on 20 March 2023, after the due date of 31 October 2022.[9] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10]
- Companies House notices: 26 May 2021: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 25 May 2021: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1).[15]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Nathan Joel Halpern is also a trustee of Alexander Shtiebel (1177368). Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost is also a trustee of Bridge Lane Foundation Limited (1103512), Goodheights Limited (802589), Woodlands Green Ltd (277299), The Tmc Trust Limited (1139316), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Nathan Joel Halpern is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[6]
See also
- Nathan Joel Halpern
- Alexander Shtiebel
- Alexander Mordecai Freshwater
- Steven Solomon Mark Hus
- Daniel Joshua Alexander Ost
- Bridge Lane Foundation Limited
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Charity Commission for England and Wales, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Gitter Foundation Ltd – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 UK Government Web Archive, Gitter Foundation Ltd – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 UK Government Web Archive, Gitter Foundation Ltd – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Gitter Foundation Ltd – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD filing history – Full accounts made up to 31 December 2024, filed 30 Oct 2025, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Gitter Foundation Ltd – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 September 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 06600663 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, GITTER FOUNDATION LTD filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.