The MK Charitable Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The MK Charitable Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 17 February 1970 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 260439 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The MK Charitable Trust (Charity number: 260439) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "To support those oragnisations deemed to promote the objectives of the charity".[2] For the financial year ending 5 April 2025 it reported income of £14,422 and expenditure of £186,602.[2]
- Charity registered: 17 February 1970 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 154 Whitehall Road, Gateshead, Tyne And Wear, Ne8 1tp[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Katz | Trustee | Not disclosed | S K Charitable Trust (charity number: 283406) |
| Mr A Piller | Trustee | Not disclosed | H P Charitable Trust (charity number: 278006) | Lingate Charitable Trust (charity number: 1143210) |
| Simon Kaufman | Trustee | Not disclosed | C S Kaufman Charitable Trust (charity number: 253194) | C And F Charitable Trust (charity number: 274529) | Largsmount Ltd (charity number: 280509) | K M Charitable Trust (charity number: 286759) | Myr Charitable Trust (charity number: 1104406) | S C K Charitable Trust (charity number: 1049159) | Five K Foundation (charity number: 1172014) | Nesivos Hatorah Ltd (charity number: 1172367) | Mendel Kaufman Memorial Trust (charity number: 1176231) | Areivim (charity number: 1125655) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| A Piller | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| D Katz | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| S Kaufman | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2012 | £984,690 | £625,042 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2013 | £1,093,721 | £708,249 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2014 | £977,158 | £746,063 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2015 | £921,703 | £654,717 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2016 | £987,838 | £1,291,549 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| April 2017 | £783,224 | £1,305,028 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 5 April 2021 | £48,633 | £1,175,847 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 26 November 2021 (due 5 February 2022) |
| 5 April 2022 | £20,695 | £153,401 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 17 November 2022; no accounts on record (due 5 February 2023) |
| 5 April 2023 | £22,652 | £48,155 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 5 February 2024; no accounts on record (due 5 February 2024) |
| 5 April 2024 | £64,911 | £48,459 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 17 January 2025 (due 5 February 2025) |
| 5 April 2025 | £14,422 | £186,602 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 4 February 2026; no accounts on record (due 5 February 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 5 April 2014; year ending 5 April 2015; year ending 5 April 2016; year ending 5 April 2017; year ending 5 April 2018.[7]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: David Katz is also a trustee of S K Charitable Trust (283406). Mr A Piller is also a trustee of H P Charitable Trust (278006), Lingate Charitable Trust (1143210). Simon Kaufman is also a trustee of C S Kaufman Charitable Trust (253194), C And F Charitable Trust (274529), Largsmount Ltd (280509), K M Charitable Trust (286759), Myr Charitable Trust (1104406), S C K Charitable Trust (1049159), Five K Foundation (1172014), Nesivos Hatorah Ltd (1172367), Mendel Kaufman Memorial Trust (1176231), Areivim (1125655).[1]
See also
- David Katz
- S K Charitable Trust
- Mr A Piller
- H P Charitable Trust
- Lingate Charitable Trust
- Simon Kaufman
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MK CHARITABLE TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The MK Charitable Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MK CHARITABLE TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, The MK Charitable Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The MK Charitable Trust – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MK CHARITABLE TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The MK Charitable Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.