Nesivos Hatorah Ltd
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Nesivos Hatorah Ltd
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 24 August 2016 (incorporated); 3 April 2017 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1172367; Company 10344435 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | Gateshead, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Nesivos Hatorah Ltd (Charity number: 1172367; Company number 10344435) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The advancement of Orthodox Jewish religious education in particular but not exclusively bythe management and maintenance of the Talmudical college known as Nesivos Hatorah LTD inGateshead".[3] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £243,094 and expenditure of £145,621.[3]
- Charity registered: 3 April 2017 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 24 August 2016 (Active); SIC 85520 - Cultural education 94910 - Activities of religious organisations[2]
- Registered office address: 50 Grasmere Street West, Gateshead, Tyne And Wear, NE8 1TS[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Simon Kaufman | Trustee | 12 August 2016 | C S Kaufman Charitable Trust (charity number: 253194) | C And F Charitable Trust (charity number: 274529) | Largsmount Ltd (charity number: 280509) | K M Charitable Trust (charity number: 286759) | Myr Charitable Trust (charity number: 1104406) | S C K Charitable Trust (charity number: 1049159) | Five K Foundation (charity number: 1172014) | Mendel Kaufman Memorial Trust (charity number: 1176231) | Areivim (charity number: 1125655) | The Mk Charitable Trust (charity number: 260439) |
| Michael Bodner | Trustee | 12 August 2016 | The Grove Charitable Trust (charity number: 279110) | The Beth Ha-Talmud Scholarship Fund (charity number: 515009) | The Gateshead Kehilla (g.h.c) Limited (charity number: 1177090) |
| Abraham Falk | Trustee | 12 June 2022 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Bodner | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Simon Kaufman | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Netanel Feiger | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Martin Bodner | Role Active | Director | April 1951 | 75 | 17 May 2022 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Abraham Falk | Role Active | Director | June 1991 | 35 | 13 June 2022 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Simon Kaufman | Role Active | Director | May 1966 | 60 | 17 May 2022 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Netanel Meir Feiger | Role Resigned | Director | September 1974 | 52 | 24 August 2016 | 17 May 2022 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Martin Bodner | Active | 15 January 2024 | April 1951 | 75 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of shares – More than 25% but not more than 50% Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors | |
| Simon Kaufman | Active | 15 January 2024 | May 1966 | 60 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of shares – More than 25% but not more than 50% Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors | |
| Abraham Falk | Active | 15 January 2024 | June 1991 | 35 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of shares – More than 25% but not more than 50% Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors Statement Withdrawn The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company |
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 24 August 2016; withdrawn 16 January 2024)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2017 | £73,118 | £48,080 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 August 2021 | £294,163 | £124,337 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 4 May 2022 (due 30 June 2022) |
| 31 August 2022 | £173,623 | £124,488 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 17 May 2023 (due 30 June 2023) |
| 31 August 2023 | £231,719 | £127,386 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 27 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £251,689 | £125,790 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 13 May 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £243,094 | £145,621 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 23 March 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[9]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 August 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 18 Mar 2026); next accounts made up to 30 August 2026, due by 30 May 2027.[2][10]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 23 August 2026; next due by 6 September 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 August 2017; year ending 31 August 2018; year ending 31 August 2019.[11]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[8][9]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Simon Kaufman is also a trustee of C S Kaufman Charitable Trust (253194), C And F Charitable Trust (274529), Largsmount Ltd (280509), K M Charitable Trust (286759), Myr Charitable Trust (1104406), S C K Charitable Trust (1049159), Five K Foundation (1172014), Mendel Kaufman Memorial Trust (1176231), Areivim (1125655), The Mk Charitable Trust (260439). Michael Bodner is also a trustee of The Grove Charitable Trust (279110), The Beth Ha-Talmud Scholarship Fund (515009), The Gateshead Kehilla (g.h.c) Limited (1177090).[1]
See also
- Simon Kaufman
- C S Kaufman Charitable Trust
- C And F Charitable Trust
- Largsmount Ltd
- K M Charitable Trust
- Myr Charitable Trust
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD. overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Nesivos Hatorah Ltd – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Nesivos Hatorah Ltd – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Nesivos Hatorah Ltd – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD. officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD. persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, NESIVOS HATORAH LTD. filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 August 2025, filed 18 Mar 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Nesivos Hatorah Ltd – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 8 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.