Schiffshul Ltd
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Schiffshul Ltd
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 12 February 1998 (incorporated); 4 September 1998 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1071348; Company 03508665 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Schiffshul Ltd (Charity number: 1071348; Company number 03508665) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The upkeep of a synagogue and arranging adult educational and leisure activities. The charity also provides grants for the poor and needy".[3] For the financial year ending 31 July 2025 it reported income of £666,314 and expenditure of £733,941.[3]
- Charity registered: 4 September 1998 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 12 February 1998 (Active); SIC 94910 - Activities of religious organisations[2]
- Registered office address: First Floor, 94 Stamford Hill, London, England, N16 6XS[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Spitzer | Trustee | Not disclosed | Forty Limited (charity number: 1039036) | Paget C.i.o. (charity number: 1186036) |
| Mr B Stern | Trustee | 26 May 2011 | Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited (charity number: 1119165) | Yad Shlomo Trust (charity number: 1122011) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Hatzola Trust (charity number: 278914) | Hatzola Trust Limited (charity number: 1160299) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Spitzer | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Lipa Rubner | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| B Stern | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Spitzer | Role Active | Director | April 1944 | 82 | 12 February 1998 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Benjamin Stern | Role Active | Director | October 1970 | 55 or 56 | 22 October 2009 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Joseph Stern | Role Resigned | Secretary | 12 February 1998 | 1 October 2009 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Semken Limited | Role Resigned | Nominee Secretary | 12 February 1998 | 12 February 1998 | |||||
| Lipa Rubner | Role Resigned | Director | September 1949 | 77 | 12 February 1998 | 6 July 2023 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Joseph Stern | Role Resigned | Director | June 1935 | 91 | 12 February 1998 | 1 October 2009 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Spitzer | Active | 11 February 2017 | April 1944 | 82 | British | England | Has significant influence or control | |
| Benjamin Stern | Active | 11 February 2017 | October 1970 | 55 or 56 | British | United Kingdom | Has significant influence or control | |
| Leopold Rubner | Ceased | 11 February 2017 | 6 July 2023 | September 1949 | 77 | English | England | Has significant influence or control |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2012 | £115,827 | £128,009 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| July 2013 | £99,645 | £125,249 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| July 2014 | £91,003 | £113,611 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| July 2015 | £124,571 | £119,217 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| July 2016 | £133,262 | £142,675 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| July 2017 | £140,542 | £137,297 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 July 2021 | £272,348 | £264,724 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 8 August 2022 (due 31 May 2022) |
| 31 July 2022 | £360,107 | £316,592 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 31 May 2023 (due 31 May 2023) |
| 31 July 2023 | £482,889 | £477,475 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 6 November 2024 (due 31 May 2024) |
| 31 July 2024 | £576,234 | £614,597 | £547,000 | £614,597 | £31,625 | £71,957 | £529,717 | 6 | 0 | 13 August 2025 (due 31 May 2025) |
| 31 July 2025 | £666,314 | £733,941 | £631,549 | £721,617 | £43,364 | £4,330 | £76,876 | 7 | 0 | 29 May 2026 (due 31 May 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[9]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 July 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 15 Jul 2026); next accounts made up to 2 August 2026, due by 2 May 2027.[2][10]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 11 February 2026; next due by 25 February 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 July 2014; year ending 31 July 2015; year ending 31 July 2016; year ending 31 July 2017; year ending 31 July 2018.[11]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "The charity received unrestricted donations totalling £6,630 (2024 - £9,290) from a company in which a Trustee has an interest. At the year end, the charity owed one of the Trustees £43,564 in respect of monies paid on behalf of the charity."[10]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 July 2021 were received on 8 August 2022, after the due date of 31 May 2022; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 July 2023 were received on 6 November 2024, after the due date of 31 May 2024; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 July 2024 were received on 13 August 2025, after the due date of 31 May 2025.[8] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Richard Spitzer is also a trustee of Forty Limited (1039036), Paget C.i.o. (1186036). Mr B Stern is also a trustee of Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited (1119165), Yad Shlomo Trust (1122011), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Hatzola Trust (278914), Hatzola Trust Limited (1160299).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr B Stern is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[6] Benjamin Stern is a current director at Companies House[6] but not listed as trustee by the Charity Commission.[1]
See also
- Richard Spitzer
- Forty Limited
- Paget C.i.o.
- Mr B Stern
- Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited
- Yad Shlomo Trust
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SCHIFFSHUL LTD trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, SCHIFFSHUL LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Schiffshul Ltd – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, Schiffshul Ltd – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Schiffshul Ltd – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Companies House, SCHIFFSHUL LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, SCHIFFSHUL LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SCHIFFSHUL LTD financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SCHIFFSHUL LTD overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Companies House, SCHIFFSHUL LIMITED filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 July 2025, filed 15 Jul 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Schiffshul Ltd – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.