Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 29 January 2007 (incorporated); 11 May 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1119165; Company 06071791 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited (Charity number: 1119165; Company number 06071791) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The school exists to provide for children of the Jewish faith education and teaching in the Written Law, Talmud and other sacred and ancient codes and writings of the Jews.Stress is placed on character building, conscience and a firm understanding of acceptable behaviour and the difference between right and wrong".[3] For the financial year ending 31 January 2025 it reported income of £437,580 and expenditure of £435,130.[3]
- Charity registered: 11 May 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 29 January 2007 (Active); SIC 82990 - Other business support service activities not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 115 Craven Park Road, London, England, N15 6BL[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Fisher | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Benjamin Stern | Trustee | Not disclosed | Yad Shlomo Trust (charity number: 1122011) | Schiffshul Ltd (charity number: 1071348) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Hatzola Trust (charity number: 278914) | Hatzola Trust Limited (charity number: 1160299) |
| Rachel Stern | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Fisher | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Benjamin Stern | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Rachel Stern | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benjamin Katz | Role Active | Secretary | 29 January 2007 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| David Fisher | Role Active | Director | March 1960 | 66 | 29 January 2007 | Swiss | Not disclosed | ||
| Benjamin Stern | Role Active | Director | October 1970 | 55 or 56 | 29 January 2007 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Rachel Stern | Role Active | Director | June 1970 | 56 | 29 January 2007 | Israeli | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 14 January 2017)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2012 | £245,564 | £250,283 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| January 2013 | £238,428 | £243,538 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| January 2014 | £309,993 | £283,254 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| January 2015 | £336,344 | £363,365 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| January 2016 | £329,947 | £328,007 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| January 2017 | £342,109 | £328,717 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| January 2018 | £379,550 | £380,601 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 January 2021 | £368,580 | £428,181 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 30 November 2021 (due 30 November 2021) |
| 31 January 2022 | £341,763 | £381,690 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 4 | 30 November 2022 (due 30 November 2022) |
| 31 January 2023 | £378,983 | £365,621 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 8 January 2024 (due 30 November 2023) |
| 31 January 2024 | £383,131 | £404,570 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 28 November 2024 (due 30 November 2024) |
| 31 January 2025 | £437,580 | £435,130 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 28 November 2025 (due 30 November 2025) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 January 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 28 Oct 2025); next accounts made up to 29 January 2026, due by 29 October 2026.[2][11]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 14 January 2026; next due by 28 January 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 January 2015; year ending 31 January 2016; year ending 31 January 2017; year ending 31 January 2018; year ending 31 January 2019.[12]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 84 and 86 Amhurst Park, London (N16 5AR) (title EGL549441, leasehold; registered proprietor TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED (06071791); proprietor registered 18-12-2008).[13]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "During the period the charity received donations from Yad Shlomo Trust that amounted to £2,000 (2024: £21,966). The charity and Yad Shlomo Trust share a common trustee."[11]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 January 2023 were received on 8 January 2024, after the due date of 30 November 2023.[9] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Benjamin Stern is also a trustee of Yad Shlomo Trust (1122011), Schiffshul Ltd (1071348), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Hatzola Trust (278914), Hatzola Trust Limited (1160299).[1]
- Shared address and control: Benjamin Stern, Rachel Stern give the same correspondence address (21 Overlea Road, London, E5 9BG).[6]
See also
- David Fisher
- Benjamin Stern
- Yad Shlomo Trust
- Schiffshul Ltd
- The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations
- Hatzola Trust
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Companies House, TALMUD TORAH BEIS SHLOMO LIMITED filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 January 2025, filed 28 Oct 2025, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Talmud Torah Beis Shlomo Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.