C and H Association Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| C and H Association Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 3 February 1983 (incorporated); 26 July 1983 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 287082; Company 01696892 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
C and H Association Limited (Charity number: 287082; Company number 01696892) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "To further both in the United Kingdom and abroad those purposes recognised as charitable by English Law".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £19,200 and expenditure of £108,879.[3]
- Charity registered: 26 July 1983 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 3 February 1983 (Active); SIC 88990 - Other social work activities without accommodation not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 1st Floor Unit 1 Grosvenor Way, London, England, E5 9ND[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moishe Berger | Trustee | Not disclosed | Toimchei Shabbos Manchester (charity number: 1106637) | Cam Estates (charity number: 1167993) |
| Chaskel Berger | Trustee | Not disclosed | Bais Hamedrash Ohel Yakov Ltd (charity number: 1115308) | Kessef Limited (charity number: 284652) | Friends Of Mosdos Torah Veyirah (charity number: 1119479) | Cam Estates (charity number: 1167993) |
| Mrs Helen Berger | Trustee | Not disclosed | Kessef Limited (charity number: 284652) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chaskel Berger | 17 July 2010 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [4][5] |
| Hellen Berger | 17 July 2010 | 17 July 2010 | 1 [4] |
| Moishe Berger | 17 July 2010 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [4][5] |
| Helen Berger | 11 January 2011 | 2 January 2019 | 5 [6][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Helen Berger | Role Active | Secretary Appointed before 20 September 1992 | British | Not disclosed | |||||
| Chaskel Berger | Role Active | Director | December 1949 Appointed before 20 September 1992 | 76 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | ||
| Helen Berger | Role Active | Director | March 1951 | 75 | 9 March 1993 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Moishe Berger | Role Active | Director | October 1969 | 56 or 57 | 9 March 1993 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Moishe Berger | Role Resigned | Director | October 1969 | 56 or 57 | 9 March 1993 | 20 September 1995 | American | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[7]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chaskel Berger | Active | 6 April 2016 | December 1949 | 76 | British | United Kingdom | Has significant influence or control over the trustees of a trust | |
| Helen Berger | Active | 6 April 2016 | March 1951 | 75 | British | England | Has significant influence or control over the trustees of a trust | |
| Moishe Berger | Active | 6 April 2016 | October 1969 | 56 or 57 | British | United Kingdom | Has significant influence or control over the trustees of a trust |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £640,084 | £212,943 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2013 | £192,571 | £233,132 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2014 | £299,161 | £204,402 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2015 | £649,158 | £206,104 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2016 | £237,114 | £243,121 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2017 | £157,300 | £194,487 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £221,634 | £316,296 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 1 February 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £73,020 | £85,607 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 26 June 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £18,060 | £38,512 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 31 January 2024; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £34,044 | £108,043 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £19,200 | £108,879 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 29 January 2026; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[11] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[11]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 26 Jan 2026); next accounts made up to 25 March 2026, due by 25 December 2026.[2][12]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 15 September 2026; next due by 29 September 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[13]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2021 were received on 1 February 2022, after the due date of 31 January 2022; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2022 were received on 26 June 2023, after the due date of 31 January 2023.[10] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[11]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Moishe Berger is also a trustee of Toimchei Shabbos Manchester (1106637), Cam Estates (1167993). Chaskel Berger is also a trustee of Bais Hamedrash Ohel Yakov Ltd (1115308), Kessef Limited (284652), Friends Of Mosdos Torah Veyirah (1119479), Cam Estates (1167993). Mrs Helen Berger is also a trustee of Kessef Limited (284652).[1]
- Shared address and control: Chaskel Berger, Helen Berger give the same correspondence address (32 Gilda Crescent, London, N16 6JP). Active PSCs among them: Chaskel Berger (Has significant influence or control over the trustees of a trust); Helen Berger (Has significant influence or control over the trustees of a trust).[7][8]
See also
- Moishe Berger
- Toimchei Shabbos Manchester
- Cam Estates
- Chaskel Berger
- Bais Hamedrash Ohel Yakov Ltd
- Kessef Limited
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, C AND H ASSOCIATION LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, C & H ASSOCIATION LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, C and H Association Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, C and H Association Limited – register entry (17 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 17 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, C and H Association Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, C and H Association Limited – register entry (11 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 11 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Companies House, C & H ASSOCIATION LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Companies House, C & H ASSOCIATION LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 UK Government Web Archive, C and H Association Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, C AND H ASSOCIATION LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, C AND H ASSOCIATION LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, C & H ASSOCIATION LIMITED filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 March 2025, filed 26 Jan 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, C and H Association Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 September 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.