Bikur Cholim Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Bikur Cholim Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 24 May 2000 (incorporated); 30 March 2001 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1085965; Company 04001168 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Bikur Cholim Limited (Charity number: 1085965; Company number 04001168) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The activities of the charity are to relieve the effects of sickness, poor physical and mental health and old age for people of the Jewish community in North London by assisting with the provision of support, facilities and services".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £4,635,278 and expenditure of £4,629,017.[3]
- Charity registered: 30 March 2001 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 24 May 2000 (Active); SIC 86900 - Other human health activities[2]
- Previous company names: BCDT LTD 24 May 2000 - 30 Mar 2011[2]
- Registered office address: Gound Floor, 2a Northfield Road, London, N16 5RN[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robert Grussgott | Trustee | 15 October 2012 | The Eliezer Foundation (charity number: 1126142) | Britefield Trust (charity number: 1133072) | The Zeire Agudath Israel General Charitable Trust (charity number: 280604) | A T.i.m.e. Limited (charity number: 1128756) | Agudas Israel Community Services (charity number: 287367) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Agudas Israel Organisation Of Great Britain (charity number: 290191) | Uohc Properties Ltd (charity number: 1164379) |
| Jacob Moishe Grosskopf | Chair | 15 October 2012 | The Interlink Foundation (charity number: 1079311) |
| Aron Oberlander | Trustee | 15 October 2012 | Friends Of Kehilath Yakov And Pupa (charity number: 1003247) | Sellata Limited (charity number: 285429) |
| Schloime Rand | Trustee | 12 October 2012 | Bourneheights Limited (charity number: 298359) | Grand Belz Ltd. (charity number: 1097892) | Clapton Common Boys Club (charity number: 1121347) | Cosmon (belz) Limited (charity number: 266130) | Belz Foundation Ltd (charity number: 1112150) | Friends Of Gaon Yaakov (charity number: 326592) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harold Cohen | 6 February 2009 | 6 February 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Isaac Scher | 6 February 2009 | 6 February 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Gyta Schrieber | 6 February 2009 | 6 February 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Gyta Schreiber | 6 February 2009 | 6 February 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Jacob Moishe Grosskopf | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
| Robert Grussgott | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
| Aron Oberlander | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
| Schloime Rand | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rachel Deborah Cohen | Role Active | Secretary | 24 May 2000 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| Jacob Moshe Grosskopf | Role Active | Director | April 1964 | 62 | 5 September 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Robert Grussgott | Role Active | Director | August 1972 | 54 | 5 September 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Aron Oberlander | Role Active | Director | February 1962 | 64 | 5 September 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Schloime Rand | Role Active | Director | October 1964 | 61 or 62 | 5 September 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Harold Cohen | Role Resigned | Director | August 1950 | 76 | 24 May 2000 | 19 July 2013 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Rachel Deborah Cohen | Role Resigned | Director | October 1954 | 71 or 72 | 24 May 2000 | 19 July 2013 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Isaac Scher | Role Resigned | Director | January 1954 | 72 | 24 May 2000 | 19 July 2013 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Gyta Schreiber | Role Resigned | Director | June 1956 | 70 | 24 August 2007 | 26 July 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[7]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 13 November 2018)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £2,506,891 | £2,227,721 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2013 | £2,254,010 | £2,348,769 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2014 | £2,414,256 | £2,145,018 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2015 | £2,066,969 | £1,993,088 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2016 | £2,116,569 | £2,017,252 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2017 | £2,444,836 | £2,510,124 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| 31 March 2021 | £3,450,952 | £3,427,319 | £1,704,467 | £3,378,013 | £0 | £1,519,446 | £944,881 | 174 | 445 | 31 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £2,980,984 | £3,509,886 | £1,411,533 | £3,436,296 | £0 | £990,544 | £649,472 | 161 | 460 | 5 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £3,551,034 | £3,740,191 | £1,797,361 | £3,560,405 | £0 | £801,387 | £675,271 | 148 | 447 | 29 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £4,039,006 | £4,021,082 | £1,879,639 | £3,977,708 | £0 | £819,311 | £654,793 | 145 | 497 | 7 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £4,635,278 | £4,629,017 | £1,895,873 | £4,350,152 | £0 | £825,572 | £736,885 | 149 | 576 | 19 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[11]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 29 March 2026, due by 29 December 2026.[2]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 27 June 2026; next due by 11 July 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[12]
- Grants (360Giving): 17 grant(s) received totalling £1,338,925 (21 Jan 2005 – 01 Jan 2024); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (8 grant(s), £667,756); Hackney CVS (3 grant(s), £30,530); City Bridge Foundation (2 grant(s), £212,300); Power to Change Trust (2 grant(s), £153,896); Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (1 grant(s), £24,988); Greater London Authority (1 grant(s), £249,455).[13]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10][11]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Robert Grussgott is also a trustee of The Eliezer Foundation (1126142), Britefield Trust (1133072), The Zeire Agudath Israel General Charitable Trust (280604), A T.i.m.e. Limited (1128756), Agudas Israel Community Services (287367), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Agudas Israel Organisation Of Great Britain (290191), Uohc Properties Ltd (1164379). Jacob Moishe Grosskopf is also a trustee of The Interlink Foundation (1079311). Aron Oberlander is also a trustee of Friends Of Kehilath Yakov And Pupa (1003247), Sellata Limited (285429). Schloime Rand is also a trustee of Bourneheights Limited (298359), Grand Belz Ltd. (1097892), Clapton Common Boys Club (1121347), Cosmon (belz) Limited (266130), Belz Foundation Ltd (1112150), Friends Of Gaon Yaakov (326592).[1]
See also
- Robert Grussgott
- The Eliezer Foundation
- Britefield Trust
- The Zeire Agudath Israel General Charitable Trust
- A T.i.m.e. Limited
- Agudas Israel Community Services
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BIKUR CHOLIM LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 Companies House, BIKUR CHOLIM LTD overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Bikur Cholim Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 UK Government Web Archive, Bikur Cholim Limited – register entry (6 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 UK Government Web Archive, Bikur Cholim Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 UK Government Web Archive, Bikur Cholim Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, BIKUR CHOLIM LTD officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, BIKUR CHOLIM LTD persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Bikur Cholim Limited – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BIKUR CHOLIM LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, BIKUR CHOLIM LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Bikur Cholim Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Bikur Cholim Limited 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.