The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 21 June 2007 (incorporated); 27 June 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1119847; Company 06288755 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust (Charity number: 1119847; Company number 06288755) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The charity was established for the advancement of the orthodox Jewish faith and the advancement of orthodox Jewish religious education and education generally and for such purposes recognised as charitable by English Law".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £1,100,116 and expenditure of £1,236,380.[3]
- Charity registered: 27 June 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 21 June 2007 (Active); SIC 96090 - Other service activities not elsewhere classified[2]
- Previous company names: SHEMEN LIMITED 21 Jun 2007 - 20 Feb 2016[2]
- Registered office address: New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brian Rabinowitz | Trustee | 21 June 2007 | Menorah High School For Girls (charity number: 1091510) | The Zevi Rabinowitz Charitable Trust (charity number: 1207905) |
| Dr David Benzion Landau | Trustee | 28 January 2016 | Ltc Trust Co (charity number: 1106673) | Menorah High School For Girls (charity number: 1091510) | Chinuch Uk Limited (charity number: 1195717) | Anglo Israel Cardiovascular Symposium (charity number: 1167559) |
| Joseph Adler | Trustee | 4 November 2022 | The J & J Benevolent Foundation (charity number: 1146602) | Areivim (charity number: 1125655) | Menorah High School For Girls (charity number: 1091510) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maurice Levenson | 22 January 2009 | 22 January 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Brian Rabinowitz | 22 January 2009 | 3 January 2019 | 5 [4][5] |
| David Benzion Landau | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [6][5] |
| Mark Morris | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [6][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Adler | Role Active | Director | October 1980 | 45 or 46 | 4 November 2022 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| David Benzion Landau | Role Active | Director | April 1966 | 60 | 28 January 2016 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Brian Rabinowitz | Role Active | Director | October 1962 | 63 or 64 | 21 June 2007 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Maurice Levenson | Role Resigned | Secretary | 21 June 2007 | 29 January 2016 | Irish | Not disclosed | |||
| Maurice Levenson | Role Resigned | Director | September 1962 | 64 | 21 June 2007 | 29 January 2016 | Irish | England | Not disclosed |
| Misha Zeev Morris | Role Resigned | Director | July 1968 | 58 | 28 January 2016 | 14 January 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[7]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Adler | Active | 4 November 2022 | October 1980 | 45 or 46 | British | England | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% | |
| David Benzion Landau | Active | 6 April 2016 | April 1966 | 60 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% | |
| Brian Rabinowitz | Active | 6 April 2016 | October 1962 | 63 or 64 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% | |
| Misha Zeev Morris | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 14 January 2019 | July 1968 | 58 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% |
| David Landau | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 6 April 2016 | April 1970 | 56 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £556,389 | £62,522 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2013 | £252,617 | £87,430 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2014 | £95,440 | £156,656 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2015 | £890,241 | £493,934 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2016 | £215,318 | £195,680 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2017 | £1,311,300 | £801,988 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £955,279 | £748,371 | £805,395 | £748,371 | £0 | £4,422,514 | £282,063 | 27 | 0 | 31 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £1,715,838 | £918,527 | £1,651,657 | £918,527 | £0 | £5,219,825 | £386,941 | 35 | 0 | 22 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £2,164,476 | £1,076,766 | £2,098,052 | £1,076,766 | £0 | £6,307,535 | £87,485 | 35 | 0 | 29 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,241,264 | £1,156,473 | £1,184,772 | £1,156,473 | £210 | £6,392,326 | £76,746 | 34 | 0 | 31 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £1,100,116 | £1,236,380 | £1,068,728 | £1,236,380 | £0 | £6,256,062 | £76,497 | 29 | 0 | 30 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 4 April 2026, due by 4 January 2027.[2]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 21 June 2026; next due by 5 July 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[11]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 24 August 2007, Aib Group (UK) PLC: "The deposit(s) meaning any sums deposited or to be deposited in the account)s) and any other sum or sums which are from time to time deposited in the account(s) together with all interest accruing in relation to the deposit(s)." (Satisfied); 24 August 2007, Aib Group (UK) PLC: "F/H property k/a dollis hill research station brook road london t/no MX122172. By way of specific charge the goodwill and connection of the business or businesses and also by way of floating security all moveable plant machinery implements furniture equipment stock-in-trade work in progress and othe" (Satisfied); 24 August 2007, Aib Group (UK) PLC: "Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets present and future including goodwill uncalled capital buildings fixtures plant and machinery." (Satisfied); 30 July 2007, Evans Management Limited: "F/H dollis hill research station brook road london t/no MX122172 the rental income any plant and machinery." (Satisfied).[12]
- Property: The charity owns the freehold school site, Dollis Hill Research Station, 105 Brook Road, London NW2 7BZ (title MX122172), carried at £7,867,850 at 31 March 2025.[13] The site was charged in 2007 to Evans Management Ltd and AIB Group (UK) plc.[14]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Dollis Hill, Research Station , Brook Road, London (NW2 7DW) (title MX122172, freehold; registered proprietor THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST (06288755); proprietor registered 10-09-2007).[15]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
- Companies House notices: 21 Jul 2009: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1).[16]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Brian Rabinowitz is also a trustee of Menorah High School For Girls (1091510), The Zevi Rabinowitz Charitable Trust (1207905). Dr David Benzion Landau is also a trustee of Ltc Trust Co (1106673), Menorah High School For Girls (1091510), Chinuch Uk Limited (1195717), Anglo Israel Cardiovascular Symposium (1167559). Joseph Adler is also a trustee of The J & J Benevolent Foundation (1146602), Areivim (1125655), Menorah High School For Girls (1091510).[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Maurice Levenson is also connected with Dalaid (1064655), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17].
- Winding-up petitions (as Shemen Limited): The London Gazette published petitions to wind up the company, then named Shemen Limited (company number 06288755), of Unit 21 Dollis Hill Estate, 105 Brook Road, London NW2, presented by Evans Management Limited (Leeds) as claimed creditor: High Court (Chancery Division) Leeds District Registry No 1361 of 2009 (presented 11 May 2009, hearing 7 July 2009)[18] and No 1123 of 2010 (presented 10 May 2010, hearing 13 July 2010).[19] The company was not wound up; it remains on the register. Evans Management Limited also held a 2007 charge over the company's freehold, the Dollis Hill Research Station, Brook Road (title MX122172), per the Companies House charges register.
See also
- Brian Rabinowitz
- Menorah High School For Girls
- The Zevi Rabinowitz Charitable Trust
- Dr David Benzion Landau
- Ltc Trust Co
- Chinuch Uk Limited
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 Companies House, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 UK Government Web Archive, The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust – register entry (22 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 22 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 UK Government Web Archive, The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Menorah High School for Girls Foundation Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 06288755 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST accounts and annual returns Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST – charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE MENORAH HIGH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS FOUNDATION TRUST filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, LEVENSON, Maurice appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ The London Gazette, Petitions to Wind Up (Companies): Shemen Limited issue 59085, 9 June 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ The London Gazette, Petitions to Wind Up (Companies): Shemen Limited issue 59476, 1 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.