The J & J Benevolent Foundation
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The J & J Benevolent Foundation
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 27 March 2012 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1146602 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The J & J Benevolent Foundation (Charity number: 1146602) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "The charity's principle activity throughout the period was the provision and distribution of donations and grants to charities. The charity aims to maximise its grants and donations on an annual basis".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2026 it reported income of £154,010 and expenditure of £158,377.[2]
- Charity registered: 27 March 2012 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: Cohen Arnold, New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, Nw11 0pu[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Adler | Chair | 27 February 2012 | Areivim (charity number: 1125655) | The Menorah High School For Girls Foundation Trust (charity number: 1119847) | Menorah High School For Girls (charity number: 1091510) |
| Judi Adler | Trustee | 27 February 2012 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Adler | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Judi Adler | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2013 | £305,000 | £139,915 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £150,000 | £165,517 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £150,000 | £139,518 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £150,000 | £151,756 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £130,000 | £175,690 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2018 | £175,000 | £177,650 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2022 | £147,000 | £110,639 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 September 2022 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £159,680 | £202,461 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 3 November 2023 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £149,471 | £185,242 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 September 2024 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £146,046 | £151,992 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 9 July 2025 (due 31 January 2026) |
| 31 March 2026 | £154,010 | £158,377 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 25 August 2026 (due 31 January 2027) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[8]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[7][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Joseph Adler is also a trustee of Areivim (1125655), The Menorah High School For Girls Foundation Trust (1119847), Menorah High School For Girls (1091510).[1]
See also
- Joseph Adler
- Areivim
- The Menorah High School For Girls Foundation Trust
- Menorah High School For Girls
- Judi Adler
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE J & J BENEVOLENT FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The J & J Benevolent Foundation – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE J & J BENEVOLENT FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, The J & J Benevolent Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 UK Government Web Archive, The J & J Benevolent Foundation – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The J & J Benevolent Foundation – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE J & J BENEVOLENT FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The J & J Benevolent Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.