Achisomoch Aid Company Limited
UK charity (278387) operating a donor-advised / voucher platform for Orthodox Jewish giving
| Achisomoch Aid Company Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Logo | |
| Type | Charitable company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | Incorporated 23 May 1979; registered as charity 5 September 1979 |
| Registration ID | Company 01422574; Charity 278387 |
| Location | New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London NW11 0PU (registered office); operational address Enterprise House, 2 The Crest, London NW4 2HN |
| Website | achisomoch.org |
Achisomoch Aid Company Limited (AAC) is an English charitable company (01422574) and registered charity (278387). It operates a large-scale donor-advised fund / charity-account and voucher system that enables individuals, companies and trusts to make tax-efficient donations (including Gift Aid) to thousands of charities, predominantly in the Orthodox Jewish sector. It was incorporated on 23 May 1979 and registered as a charity on 5 September 1979. Its objects are to advance religion in accordance with the Orthodox Jewish faith and other purposes recognised as charitable under English law.[1][2]
- Charity registered: 5 September 1979 (Registered)[3]
- Company incorporated: 23 May 1979 (Active); SIC 94910 - Activities of religious organisations[4]
- Registered office address: New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU[4]
How it works
AAC functions as a specialised charitable intermediary (sometimes described as a “charity bank” or donor-advised vehicle). Account holders deposit funds into a personal AAC account (by bank transfer, Open Banking or cheque). AAC claims Gift Aid on eligible deposits, adding 25p to the account for every £1 deposited. Holders then instruct donations from their balance to registered charities via:
- online portal or smartphone app (including QR-code terminal donations) - paper charity vouchers / cheques (prepaid, pre-printed or blank) - AAC payment cards usable on charity terminals
The organisation handles the administration, record-keeping, Gift Aid paperwork and compliance. It charges a modest administration fee (historically around 5% on voucher schemes; overall running costs have been kept below 1.5% of turnover). Any surplus after costs is donated in full to UK educational institutions, with a stated focus on North-West London Jewish schools, Torah institutions and chinuch, plus Gateshead Yeshiva.[5][6]
AAC states that it has facilitated more than £320 million of charitable giving since 2011 and maintains several thousand charities on its books (around 4,000 cited in 2023 reporting), processing hundreds of thousands of transactions annually for a client base of several thousand individual and organisational givers. While the bulk of activity is Orthodox Jewish causes (schools, yeshivot, poverty relief, religious services), some national charities also appear. A Gibraltar branch was launched in 2023.[5][6]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2021 | £36,101,125 | £35,782,079 | £35,981,620 | £35,782,079 | £35,187,811 | £11,970,813 | £11,923,216 | 8 | 0 | 28 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £50,448,558 | £46,651,643 | £50,349,454 | £46,651,643 | £46,056,763 | £15,767,728 | £15,482,758 | 10 | 0 | 29 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £65,106,481 | £63,559,204 | £64,968,296 | £63,559,204 | £62,742,663 | £17,315,005 | £6,857,224 | 4 | 0 | 4 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £71,525,289 | £70,915,392 | £71,077,333 | £70,915,392 | £69,927,078 | £17,924,902 | £7,094,027 | 9 | 0 | 29 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £73,819,995 | £72,241,984 | £72,797,416 | £72,241,984 | £71,171,357 | £19,502,913 | £4,652,080 | 10 | 0 | 15 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[8]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 31 March 2026, due by 31 December 2026.[4]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 21 August 2026; next due by 4 September 2027.[4]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jack Emanuel | Trustee | 25 January 2000 | None on record |
| Michael Akiva Hackenbroch | Trustee | 6 September 2019 | Pal Charitable Trust (charity number: 1110416) | Mesila Uk Limited (charity number: 1179291) | Veshinantom (charity number: 1210828) |
| Richard Mark Denton | Trustee | 6 September 2019 | Hand In Hand Support (charity number: 1182698) |
| Anthony Katz | Trustee | 6 September 2019 | Institute For Dayanim (charity number: 1123833) | Shema Koli (charity number: 1151966) | Chinuch 20 (charity number: 1175074) | Nwlj Schools Planning Committee (charity number: 1197033) |
| Saul Meyer | Trustee | 28 July 2023 | M & K Family Charitable Trust (charity number: 1116290) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[3]
Directors
| Name | Correspondence address | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Richard Mark Denton | New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU | Role Active | Director | August 1972 | 54 | 6 September 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Jack Emanuel | 37 The Ridgeway, London, NW11 8QP | Role Active | Director | February 1964 | 62 | 25 January 2000 | German | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Michael Akiva Hackenbroch | New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU | Role Active | Director | November 1973 | 52 | 6 September 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Anthony Katz | New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU | Role Active | Director | October 1968 | 57 or 58 | 6 September 2019 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Saul Aaron Meyer | New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU | Role Active | Director | March 1975 | 51 | 28 July 2023 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Isaac Mark Katz | 26 Hoop Lane, London, NW11 8BU | Role Resigned | Secretary Appointed before 21 August 1992 | 3 April 2023 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| David Chontow | 3 The Ridgeway, London, NW11 8TD | Role Resigned | Director | November 1941 Appointed before 21 August 1992 | 84 | 25 December 2013 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Michael Akiva Hackenbroch | 35 Templars Avenue, London, NW11 0NU | Role Resigned | Director | November 1973 | 52 | 1 September 2011 | 31 March 2017 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Isaac Mark Katz | 26 Hoop Lane, London, NW11 8BU | Role Resigned | Director | September 1943 Appointed before 21 August 1992 | 83 | 3 April 2023 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Maurice Levenson | 22 Wentworth Road, London, United Kingdom, NW11 0RP | Role Resigned | Director | September 1962 | 64 | 7 December 2017 | 13 December 2019 | Irish | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[9]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Correspondence address | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jack Emanuel | 37 The Ridgeway, London, United Kingdom, NW11 8QP | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 6 September 2019 | February 1964 | 62 | German | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% |
| Isaac Mark Katz | 26 Hoop Lane, London, United Kingdom, NW11 8BU | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 6 September 2019 | September 1943 | 83 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% |
| Michael Akiva Hackenbroch | 11 Sinclair Grove, London, United Kingdom, NW11 9JH | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 31 March 2017 | November 1973 | 52 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% |
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 6 September 2019)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[10]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Chontow | 27 January 2009 | 3 January 2014 | 6 [11][12] |
| Yitzchock Katz | 27 January 2009 | 3 January 2014 | 6 [11][12] |
| Jack Emanuel | 27 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 9 [11][13] |
| Michael Hackenbroch | 4 January 2013 | 26 July 2017 | 3 [14][15] |
| Isaac Mark Katz | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [15][13] |
| Maurice Levenson | 3 January 2018 | 2 January 2019 | 2 [16][13] |
Charities and schools that use or receive via AAC
AAC does not publish a complete public list of every recipient. Reporting and its own materials indicate that thousands of charities (predominantly Orthodox Jewish) accept AAC vouchers, online payments or terminal donations. Explicit examples include:
- Hasmonean Schools Trust (largest single beneficiary in one reported year, nearly £1.3 million) - numerous North-West London Jewish schools (annual surplus grants; Chomesh L’Chinuch partnership distributions) - Gateshead Yeshiva - Talmud Torah London (donations accepted via AAC / Asser Bishvil Foundation on its website) - various yeshivot, including Yeshivas Ohr Samayach (public testimonial) - poverty-relief and religious-service organisations in the Orthodox sector
Many independent Orthodox schools, chederim and communal charities advertise AAC as a donation method alongside other platforms. A referral / split-commission scheme allows schools to earn additional income by encouraging account holders to route donations through AAC.[6][5]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[7][8]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Michael Akiva Hackenbroch is also a trustee of Pal Charitable Trust (1110416), Mesila Uk Limited (1179291), Veshinantom (1210828). Richard Mark Denton is also a trustee of Hand In Hand Support (1182698). Anthony Katz is also a trustee of Institute For Dayanim (1123833), Shema Koli (1151966), Chinuch 20 (1175074), Nwlj Schools Planning Committee (1197033). Saul Meyer is also a trustee of M & K Family Charitable Trust (1116290).[3]
- Shared trustees/directors: Maurice Levenson is also connected with Dalaid (1064655), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17].
See also
External links
Notes
- ↑ ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED, Companies House 01422574.
- ↑ Full print, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited, Charity Commission 278387.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Companies House, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Achisomoch Aid Company, official website, retrieved 9 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Simon Rocker, The £50 million income of ‘the biggest Jewish charity you’ve never heard of’, Jewish Chronicle, 3 February 2023.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, ACHISOMOCH AID COMPANY LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (27 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 27 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (3 January 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 13.2 UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (4 January 2013), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2013, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 15.0 15.1 UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Achisomoch Aid Company Limited – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, LEVENSON, Maurice appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.