The Schwarzschild Foundation
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Schwarzschild Foundation
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 28 March 2014 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1156438 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The Schwarzschild Foundation (Charity number: 1156438) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "Education and the relief of poverty for women and girls in the orthodox Jewish faith and others".[2] For the financial year ending 31 December 2025 it reported income of £20,451 and expenditure of £100,235.[2]
- Charity registered: 28 March 2014 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: Brick Kiln Cottage, The Avenue, Herriard, Basingstoke, Rg25 2pr[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Volker Gustav Heinz | Trustee | 27 March 2014 | None on record |
| Kay Linnell | Trustee | 27 March 2017 | The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators (charity number: 1069939) | Winella Limited (charity number: 1201624) | Herriard Village Charity (charity number: 1080169) | Herriard Village Charity (charity number: 1080169) | The Stephen Bernhard Foundation (charity number: 1210274) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maurice Levenson | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Barry Marcus | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Kay Catherine Sheila Hilary Linnell | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Volker Gustav Heinz | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2014 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2015 | £19,830 | £19,630 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2016 | £200 | £10 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2017 | £1,157 | £1,217 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2021 | £820 | £816 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Annual return received 15 August 2022; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £5,242,076 | £970,595 | £5,093,023 | £970,595 | £0 | £4,233,102 | £520,190 | 0 | 0 | 28 October 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £110,830 | £100,754 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 17 July 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £20,585 | £204,957 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 28 August 2025; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2025) |
| 31 December 2025 | £20,451 | £100,235 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 26 September 2026; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "One or more trustees receive payments or benefits from the charity for providing services to the charity."[3]
- Property (via subsidiary): The 2022 accounts record a legacy of about £5.09m from Helga Schwarzschild. It included shares in Leasch Investments Ltd (00692369), valued at £3.33m, and group freehold investment property was valued at £4,528,150.[7] Leasch's charges register names 33 Coningsby Road, Ealing (title MX229033) and 29 Nutbrook Street, London (title LN198282), both under Lloyds charges of 2007–08 that are still outstanding. It also names earlier titles, now satisfied: 2 Engadine Street SW18 (SGL147050); 18 Raleigh Road, Penge (SGL130059); and Hammersmith and Ealing freeholds (218325, LN230296, LN179016, LN84246).[8]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 27 NUTBROOK STREET, LONDON SE15 4JU (title LN198282, freehold; registered proprietor LEASCH INVESTMENTS LIMITED (00692369); proprietor registered 16-08-1961).[9]
Controversies and conflicts
- Statutory inquiry: The Charity Commission opened a statutory inquiry into The Schwarzschild Foundation on 23 June 2023, to investigate potential misconduct or mismanagement. Its main concern is "whether charitable funds and other assets of the charity have been used for the purposes intended". The inquiry is also examining the management of potential conflicts of interest and whether there has been any unauthorised trustee benefit.[10]
- Charity Commission regulatory alert: The register states: "The Charity Commission has issued an official warning. The Charity Commission has opened an inquiry into the charity".[3]
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Kay Linnell is also a trustee of The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators (1069939), Winella Limited (1201624), Herriard Village Charity (1080169), Herriard Village Charity (1080169), The Stephen Bernhard Foundation (1210274).[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Kay Linnell is also connected with The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators (1069939)[11], Winella Limited (1201624)[12], Herriard Village Charity (1080169)[13], The Stephen Bernhard Foundation (1210274)[14].
- Press coverage of statutory inquiries: Third Sector reported that the Commission opened statutory inquiries into Dalaid and the Schwarzschild Foundation, which it described as connected charities operating from the same building and sharing trustee Maurice Levenson (chair of Dalaid).[15] The Jewish Chronicle reported (24 August 2023) the Commission's concerns about Dalaid's governance and oversight of grants, and about whether the Schwarzschild Foundation's funds and assets had been used for the purposes intended.[16]
See also
- Volker Gustav Heinz
- Kay Linnell
- The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators
- Winella Limited
- Herriard Village Charity
- The Stephen Bernhard Foundation
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE SCHWARZSCHILD FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Schwarzschild Foundation – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE SCHWARZSCHILD FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 UK Government Web Archive, Schwarzschild Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 UK Government Web Archive, Schwarzschild Foundation – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE SCHWARZSCHILD FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, SCHWARZSCHILD FOUNDATION accounts and annual returns Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, LEASCH INVESTMENTS LIMITED – charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission (GOV.UK), Charity Commission opens inquiry into The Schwarzschild Foundation Charity Commission (GOV.UK), 18 August 2023, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1136771), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1136771), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1136771), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 1136771), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Regulator probes connected Jewish education charities amid misconduct concerns Third Sector, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ JC Reporter, Regulator to investigate two Charedi charities over 'potential mismanagement' The Jewish Chronicle, 24 August 2023, accessed 14 October 2026.