Kay Catherine Sheila Hilary Linnell

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Charity trustee and company director

Kay Catherine Sheila Hilary Linnell
Image
Born
Died
Nationality British
Residence
Occupation Charity trustee, Company director
Known for
Parents
Spouse(s)
Children
Sibling(s)
Education
Predecessor
Website

Kay Catherine Sheila Hilary Linnell is a charity trustee on the Charity Commission register and a current or former company officer on the Companies House register (born September 1954, British nationality, as published by Companies House). This profile covers public roles only. Companies House officer ID: Zp1MFzezy167O3ggf6aykI9wyr4. Charity Commission trustee ID: 1136771. The Charity Commission and Companies House records are combined because the same name appears as trustee and as director of the same charitable company.[1]

Education

  • MBA, University of Sheffield (studied 1988); PhD, University of Portsmouth (2024); trained as an articled clerk in Derby and qualified as a chartered accountant (ICAEW, 1979).[1][2] Likely the same person as the trustee: the register also lists her as a trustee of The Charity of the Worshipful Company of Arbitrators, and the biographies describe her as a Past Master of that company.

Charity trusteeships

Charity Charity number Role Date of appointment Charity status Source
Herriard Village Charity 1080169 Trustee Not disclosed Registered [3]
Herriard Village Charity 1080169 Trustee Not disclosed Registered [3]
The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators 1069939 Trustee 13 July 2021 Registered [4]
The Schwarzschild Foundation 1156438 Trustee 27 March 2017 Registered [5]
The Stephen Bernhard Foundation 1210274 Trustee 20 March 2020 Registered [6]
Winella Limited 1201624 Trustee 23 December 2009 Registered [7]

The Charity Commission register lists current trustees only; past trusteeships and resignation dates are not published in the data extract.

Historic trusteeships (archived register snapshots)

First and last archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register listing this name; these are not actual appointment or resignation dates.

Charity Charity number First seen Last seen Snapshots Source
The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators 1069939 18 January 2012 18 January 2012 1 [8]
The Schwarzschild Foundation 1156438 26 July 2017 3 January 2019 3 [9][10]
Herriard Village Charity 1080169 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [11][12]

Companies House directorships and appointments

Company Company no. Role Status Appointed on Resigned on Source
Herriard Village Charity 03857596 Secretary Active 12 October 1999 – [13]
Herriard Village Charity 03857596 Director Active 12 October 1999 – [13]
The Stephen Bernhard Foundation 15663213 Director Active 20 April 2024 – [14]
Winella Limited 07112106 Director Active 23 December 2009 – [15]

Other appointments listed under the same Companies House officer ID (role dates are on the linked appointment pages):[16]

  • A.r. Steel Limited (03791553)
  • Accounts Action Limited (07339558)
  • Acre (corporate Director) Limited (03996526)
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution Limited (02615699)
  • Bernhard & Co. Holdings Limited (15086504)
  • Caffe Espresso Ltd (03286141)
  • Churches Visitor And Tourism Association (04536442)
  • Connaught Project Management Ltd. (02596314)
  • Consolidated European Holdings Plc (02547659)
  • Day Leaf Limited (04278084)
  • Discovering Sacred Britain Limited (07350448)
  • Fica Training & Education Limited (03576700)
  • Fisher Secretaries Limited (00254034)
  • Four Elements Consulting Ltd (03685508)
  • Ginger Cat Adr Limited (08660705)
  • H H S Estates Limited (03138176)
  • Jash Productions Limited (03613050)
  • Kay Linnell & Company Limited (07293901)
  • Leasch Investments Limited (00692369)
  • Number 63 Hotel Limited (13597224)
  • Opportunity Africa Holdings Limited (13163351)
  • Paradigm Corporate Rescue Limited (03578675)
  • S&w Partners Services Limited (04534022)
  • Second Sight Investigations Limited (13429845)
  • Second Sight Support Services Limited (06844000)
  • Shed Media Limited (03617464)
  • Sica-Fica (03878691)
  • Solent Mediation Limited (04216187)
  • Soroptimist Exhibitions Limited (03549879)
  • The Expert Witness Institute (03317333)
  • The First Eleven Limited (08519585)
  • Visiting Sacred Sites Limited (06648014)
  • Workwear Limited (03954171)

Persons with significant control

Company Company no. Status Notified on Ceased on Nature of control Source
Winella Limited 07112106 Active 1 April 2023 – Has significant influence or control [17]
The Stephen Bernhard Foundation 15663213 Active 20 April 2024 – Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% [18]

Controversies and conflicts

  • Schwarzschild Foundation inquiry: This person was a trustee (Charity Commission register) when the Commission opened a statutory inquiry into The Schwarzschild Foundation in 2023 (announced 18 August 2023). The inquiry covers governance, conflicts of interest, unauthorised trustee benefit and whether funds were used for their intended purposes. It has not reported.[19][20]

In the news

  • Appointed OBE in the 2025 New Year Honours for services to justice; the Expert Witness Institute linked the award to her work as a key adviser to the Justice for Subpostmasters Alliance in the Post Office Horizon scandal.[21]

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 University of Portsmouth, Lecturing, a PhD and supporting sub-postmasters University of Portsmouth, accessed 15 October 2026.
  2. ↑ Post Office Horizon IT Inquiry, Witness statement of Kay Linnell (WITN00550100), accessed 15 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Herriard Village Charity trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
  4. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Charity Of The Worshipful Company Of Arbitrators trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
  5. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Schwarzschild Foundation trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
  6. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Stephen Bernhard Foundation trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
  7. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, Winella Limited trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
  8. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Charity of the Worshipful Company of Arbitrators – register entry (18 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 18 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Schwarzschild Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  10. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Schwarzschild Foundation – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  11. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Herriard Village Charity – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  12. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Herriard Village Charity – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  13. ↑ 13.0 13.1 Companies House, Herriard Village Charity officers Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  14. ↑ Companies House, The Stephen Bernhard Foundation officers Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  15. ↑ Companies House, Winella Limited officers Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  16. ↑ Companies House, Kay Catherine Sheila Hilary Linnell appointments (officer ID Zp1MFzezy167O3ggf6aykI9wyr4) Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  17. ↑ Companies House, Winella Limited persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  18. ↑ Companies House, The Stephen Bernhard Foundation persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
  19. ↑ Charity Commission (GOV.UK), Charity Commission opens inquiry into The Schwarzschild Foundation Charity Commission (GOV.UK), 18 August 2023, accessed 15 October 2026.
  20. ↑ Rory Poulter, Regulator probes connected Jewish education charities amid misconduct concerns Third Sector, 18 August 2023, accessed 15 October 2026.
  21. ↑ Simon Berney-Edwards, Kay Linnell awarded OBE in New Year Honours List Expert Witness Institute, 3 January 2025, accessed 17 October 2026.