The North West London Talmudical College

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

The North West London Talmudical College

Type Registered charity and company limited by guarantee
Founded 18 February 2010 (incorporated); 19 May 2010 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 1136004; Company 07162451
Status Registered
Location London, England
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House

The North West London Talmudical College (Charity number: 1136004; Company number 07162451) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "To maintain a talmudic college or colleges in the north western area of london and elsewhere in the united kingdom for boys and youths of the jewish faith and the provision thereat of teaching and other facilities of jewish religious and ethical studies.To advance the orthodox jewish religion for the benefit of the public through the holding of prayer meetings, study sessions and lectures,".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £978,803 and expenditure of £990,614.[3]

  • Charity registered: 19 May 2010 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 18 February 2010 (Active); SIC 85421 - First-degree level higher education[2]
  • Registered office address: 5 North End Road, London, NW11 7RJ[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Rabbi Solomon Freshwater Trustee Not disclosed Tree Of Life Talmudical College (charity number: 312232)
Chaim Menachem Frommer Chair Not disclosed Stahl Memorial Limited (charity number: 1099465) | Nwl Yeshiva Limited (charity number: 1216220) | Tol Charity (charity number: 1217718)
Mark Stern Trustee Not disclosed None on record
Rabbi Chaim Freshwater Trustee 12 September 2012 None on record

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Chaim Menachem Frommer 17 January 2011 3 January 2019 6 [4][5]
Solomon Freshwater 17 January 2011 3 January 2019 6 [4][5]
Mark Stern 17 January 2011 3 January 2019 6 [4][5]
Chaim Freshwater 5 September 2013 3 January 2019 5 [6][5]
Yaakov Yehuda Salomon 5 September 2013 3 January 2019 5 [6][5]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Chaim Menachem Frommer Role Active Secretary 18 February 2010 Not disclosed
Chaim Freshwater Role Active Director February 1972 54 7 September 2012 British England Not disclosed
Solomon Israel Freshwater Role Active Director August 1950 76 18 February 2010 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Chaim Menachem Frommer Role Active Director September 1959 67 18 February 2010 British England Not disclosed
Mark Stephen Lawrence Stern Role Active Director February 1962 64 18 February 2010 British England Not disclosed
Yomtov Eliezer Jacobs Role Resigned Director October 1970 55 or 56 18 February 2010 18 February 2010 British England Not disclosed
Yaakov Yehuda Salomon Role Resigned Director February 1962 64 7 September 2012 20 September 2021 British United Kingdom Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[7]

Persons with significant control

Name Status Notified on Ceased on Date of birth Age Nationality Country of residence Nature of control
Chaim Freshwater Active 6 April 2016 February 1972 54 British England Has significant influence or control

Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
March 2012 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2013 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2014 £265,067 £265,067 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2015 £117,271 £210,471 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2016 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[9]
March 2017 £108,975 £414,363 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
31 March 2021 £175,916 £377,442 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 14 October 2021 (due 31 January 2022)
31 March 2022 £171,266 £458,243 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 31 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023)
31 March 2023 £213,277 £698,046 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 31 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024)
31 March 2024 £252,090 £775,299 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 28 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025)
31 March 2025 £978,803 £990,614 £978,803 £990,614 £0 £108,592 £3,082 0 0 31 December 2025 (due 31 January 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[11]

  • Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 19 Jan 2026); next accounts made up to 24 March 2026, due by 24 December 2026.[2][12]
  • Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 3 August 2026; next due by 17 August 2027.[2]
  • Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[13]
  • Registered charges (Companies House): 10 July 2026, United National Bank Limited: "The freehold properties known as 40 hoop lane london NW11 8BU registered under title number AGL114142 and 42 hoop lane london NW11 8BU registered under title number MX386589." (Outstanding); 10 July 2026, United National Bank Limited: "The freehold properties known as 40 hoop lane london NW11 8BU registered under title number AGL114142 and 42 hoop lane london NW11 8BU registered under title number MX386589." (Outstanding); 10 July 2026, United National Bank Limited: "All monies standing to the credit of the deposit account held with united national bank limited." (Outstanding).[14]
  • Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 3 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 961 Finchley Road, Golders Green (NW11 7PE) (title AGL114141, freehold; registered proprietor THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE (07162451); proprietor registered 13-08-2014); 40 Hoop Lane, London (NW11 8BU) (title AGL114142, freehold; registered proprietor THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE (07162451); proprietor registered 13-08-2014); 42 Hoop Lane, London (NW11 8BU) (title MX386589, freehold; registered proprietor THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE (07162451); proprietor registered 13-08-2014).[15]

Controversies and conflicts

  • Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "During the year the charity received donations of £475,000 from The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association and £240,000 from Mayfair Charities Ltd, both of which share common trustees with the charity."[12]
  • Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10][11]
  • Companies House notices: 25 Aug 2021: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 24 Aug 2021: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 12 Sep 2017: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 09 Sep 2017: Compulsory strike-off action has been suspended (DISS16(SOAS)); 22 Aug 2017: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1); 26 Sep 2015: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 15 Sep 2015: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1).[16]
  • Overlapping trusteeships: Rabbi Solomon Freshwater is also a trustee of Tree Of Life Talmudical College (312232). Chaim Menachem Frommer is also a trustee of Stahl Memorial Limited (1099465), Nwl Yeshiva Limited (1216220), Tol Charity (1217718).[1]
  • Shared trustees/directors: Chaim Menachem Frommer is also connected with Solev Co Limited (254623), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17]; Chaim Menachem Frommer is also connected with Hatzlocho Limited (1082076), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[18].

See also

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The North West London Talmudical College – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, The North West London Talmudical College – register entry (17 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 17 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 UK Government Web Archive, The North West London Talmudical College – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Government Web Archive, The North West London Talmudical College – register entry (5 September 2013), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 September 2013, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ Companies House, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  8. ↑ Companies House, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 UK Government Web Archive, The North West London Talmudical College – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ 12.0 12.1 Companies House, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 March 2025, filed 19 Jan 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  13. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The North West London Talmudical College – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
  14. ↑ Companies House, 07162451 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
  15. ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
  16. ↑ Companies House, THE NORTH WEST LONDON TALMUDICAL COLLEGE filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  17. ↑ Companies House, FROMMER, Chaim Menachem appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  18. ↑ Companies House, FROMMER, Chaim Menachem appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.