Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 24 March 1960 (incorporated); 23 July 1963 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 314140; Company 00653738 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited (Charity number: 314140; Company number 00653738) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "To further both in the United Kingdom and abroad those purposes recognised as charitable by English Law".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £91,327 and expenditure of £63,185.[3]
- Charity registered: 23 July 1963 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 24 March 1960 (Active); SIC 94910 - Activities of religious organisations[2]
- Registered office address: New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, NW11 0PU[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mr B B Bard | Trustee | 20 January 1995 | None on record |
| Mr J S Brander | Trustee | 10 October 1985 | None on record |
| Shulem Zvi Englander | Trustee | 20 January 1995 | Crownhost Limited (charity number: 1081750) | Keren Association Limited (charity number: 313119) |
| Mr E Englander | Chair | 24 March 1960 | None on record |
| Mr P N Englander | Trustee | 20 January 1995 | None on record |
| Mr J Lipschitz | Trustee | 20 January 1995 | None on record |
| Joseph Leib Weiss | Trustee | 20 January 1995 | Friends Of Mosdos Belz Machnovka (charity number: 1101793) | Beis Minchas Yitzchok Trust (charity number: 326920) | Kolel Belz Machnovkeh Limited (charity number: 1144942) | The Zecharia Charitable Trust (charity number: 1090784) | Ridgesave Limited (charity number: 288020) | Kollel Mishkon Yakov (charity number: 1170620) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| J Lipschitz | 10 September 2010 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [4][5] |
| P N Englander | 10 September 2010 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [4][5] |
| S Z Englander | 10 September 2010 | 6 May 2014 | 3 [4][6] |
| E Englander Esq | 10 September 2010 | 6 May 2014 | 3 [4][6] |
| J S Brander Esq | 10 September 2010 | 6 May 2014 | 3 [4][6] |
| B B Bard | 10 September 2010 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [4][5] |
| J L Weiss | 10 September 2010 | 6 May 2014 | 3 [4][6] |
| J S Brander | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [7][5] |
| E Englander | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [7][5] |
| Joseph Leib Weiss | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [7][5] |
| Shulem Zvi Englander | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [7][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Lipschitz | Role Active | Secretary | 20 January 1995 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| Benjamin Binim Bard | Role Active | Director | July 1953 | 73 | 20 January 1995 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Jacob Brander | Role Active | Director | June 1948 Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 78 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | ||
| Eliasz Englander | Role Active | Director | August 1932 Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 94 | British | England | Not disclosed | ||
| Pinkus Naftali Englander | Role Active | Director | November 1957 | 68 | 20 January 1995 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Shulem Zvi Englander | Role Active | Director | November 1960 | 65 | 20 January 1995 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Joseph Lipschitz | Role Active | Director | April 1957 | 69 | 20 January 1995 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Joseph Leib Weiss | Role Active | Director | November 1953 | 72 | 20 January 1995 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Jacob Fixler | Role Resigned | Secretary Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 20 June 1995 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| Jacob Fixler | Role Resigned | Director | September 1911 Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 115 | 9 November 1994 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Reuben Chaim Lipschitz | Role Resigned | Director | June 1926 Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 100 | 16 November 1993 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Jacob Schreiber | Role Resigned | Director | March 1936 Appointed before 20 June 1992 | 90 | 7 October 2003 | British | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[8]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 6 April 2016)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[9]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £130,826 | £103,940 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2013 | £134,741 | £89,177 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2014 | £65,527 | £123,137 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2015 | £66,412 | £49,418 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2016 | £46,640 | £49,724 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| March 2017 | £49,213 | £52,088 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £46,268 | £35,083 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £47,752 | £43,994 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £69,470 | £52,166 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £84,016 | £68,740 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £91,327 | £63,185 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 27 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[11] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[11]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 6 April 2026, due by 6 January 2027.[2]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 20 June 2026; next due by 4 July 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2009; year ending 31 March 2010; year ending 31 March 2012; year ending 31 March 2013; year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[12]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 24 September 2009, Svenska Handelsbanken Ab (Publ): "134 bethune road stoke newington london t/no EGL324891 and each and every part thereof and all buildings erections and structures and fixtures and fittings and fixed plant and machinery and with the benefit of all existing and future leases underleases tenancies agreements for lease rights covenants" (Outstanding); 13 February 2004, The Governor and Company of the Bank of Scotland: "F/H property known as 134 bethune road, lonodn t/no LN156040 and EGL324891." (Satisfied); 13 February 2004, The Governor and Company of the Bank of Scotland: "By way of floating charge the. Undertaking and all property and assets." (Satisfied); 10 April 1987, Barclays Bank PLC: "140, rochester way, kidbrooke, london borough of greenwich title no sgl 428775." (Outstanding); 3 December 1986, Barclays Bank PLC: "138/138A rochester way, kidbrook, greenwich tn: sgl 428284." (Outstanding); 4 February 1977, Barclays Bank PLC: "97 & 99 bethune rd & land with buildings to the west side of bethune rd hackney." (Outstanding); 6 August 1974, Barclays Bank PLC: "Land and buildings lying to the west side of bethune road hackney london." (Outstanding); 2 December 1968, Barclays Bank PLC: "99 bethune rd. Stoke newington, london, N. 16." (Outstanding); 20 February 1964, Barclays Bank PLC: "97 bethune road stoke newington london." (Outstanding).[13]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 5 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 134 Bethune Road, London (N16 5DS) (title EGL324891, freehold; registered proprietor THE ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 01-03-2004); 134 Bethune Road, London (N16 5DS) (title LN156040, freehold; registered proprietor THE ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 01-03-2004); 99 Bethune Road, London (N16 5ED) (title LN156085, freehold; registered proprietor ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 22-02-1963); land and buildings lying to the West of Bethune Road (title NGL209241, freehold; registered proprietor THE ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 02-08-1972); 97 Bethune Road and land and buildings at the back (title NGL211473, freehold; registered proprietor THE ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED; proprietor registered ).[14]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10][11]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Shulem Zvi Englander is also a trustee of Crownhost Limited (1081750), Keren Association Limited (313119). Joseph Leib Weiss is also a trustee of Friends Of Mosdos Belz Machnovka (1101793), Beis Minchas Yitzchok Trust (326920), Kolel Belz Machnovkeh Limited (1144942), The Zecharia Charitable Trust (1090784), Ridgesave Limited (288020), Kollel Mishkon Yakov (1170620).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr B B Bard, Mr J S Brander, Mr E Englander, Mr P N Englander, Mr J Lipschitz are listed as trustees by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[8] Benjamin Binim Bard, Jacob Brander, Eliasz Englander, Pinkus Naftali Englander, Joseph Lipschitz are a current director at Companies House[8] but not listed as trustees by the Charity Commission.[1]
See also
- Mr B B Bard
- Mr J S Brander
- Shulem Zvi Englander
- Crownhost Limited
- Keren Association Limited
- Mr E Englander
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 UK Government Web Archive, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – register entry (10 September 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 10 September 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 UK Government Web Archive, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 UK Government Web Archive, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – register entry (6 May 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 May 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 7.6 7.7 7.8 UK Government Web Archive, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 Companies House, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, ORGANISATION FOR THE SUPPORT OF TORAH EDUCATION LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Organisation for the Support of Torah Education Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 May 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 00653738 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.