Mayfair Charities Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Mayfair Charities
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 28 February 1968 (incorporated); 6 March 1968 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 255281; Company 00927985 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
In 2009 the charity was the 24th largest family foundation in the UK.[1] In 2021 the charity was ranked as number 61 in the family foundation ranking and at 155 in the overall foundation ranking in terms of giving in the Top 300 Foundations ranked by giving in the UK - 2021.
In 2022 Benzion Freshwater and family appeared at 61 in the The Sunday Times Rich List 2022 and at 36 in the Top 100 philanthropists in the UK - The Sunday Times Giving List 2022.
Donations
People
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater | 4 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [3][4] |
| D Davis | 4 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [3][4] |
| Solomon Israel Freshwater | 4 February 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 6 [3][4] |
| Richard Fischer | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [5][4] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Martin David Eldridge Bale | Active | Secretary | 30 September 2020 | Not disclosed | ||||
| James Stephen Southgate | Active | Secretary | 30 September 2020 | Not disclosed | ||||
| Richard Fischer | Active | Director | May 1937 | 23 January 2014 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater | Active | Director | April 1948 Appointed before 19 June 1992 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | ||
| Solomon Israel Freshwater | Active | Director | August 1950 | 4 December 2006 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Mark Roy Mason Jenner | Resigned | Secretary | 20 August 2001 | 30 September 2020 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Christopher Charles Morse | Resigned | Secretary Appointed before 19 June 1992 | 20 August 2001 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| David Davis | Resigned | Director | June 1935 Appointed before 19 June 1992 | 1 May 2025 | British | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 19 June 2017)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2009 | £4,647,000 | £9,308,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| March 2010 | £4,041,000 | £6,796,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[9] |
| March 2012 | £12,493,000 | £4,312,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2013 | £4,570,000 | £5,280,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2014 | £4,389,000 | £6,330,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2015 | £4,398,000 | £5,794,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2016 | £4,562,000 | £9,026,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| March 2017 | £4,607,000 | £15,034,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2018 | £4,714,000 | £9,352,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| 31 March 2021 | £5,294,000 | £5,016,000 | £1,250,000 | £3,335,000 | £3,061,000 | £90,252,000 | £6,728,000 | 0 | 0 | 27 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £5,320,000 | £6,727,000 | £1,250,000 | £4,299,000 | £3,177,000 | £88,335,000 | £6,637,000 | 0 | 0 | 30 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £5,448,000 | £7,031,000 | £1,250,000 | £4,703,000 | £3,810,000 | £78,146,000 | £11,115,000 | 0 | 0 | 26 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £5,752,000 | £6,396,000 | £1,250,000 | £3,891,000 | £3,094,000 | £83,187,000 | £5,724,000 | 0 | 0 | 29 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £5,416,000 | £9,128,000 | £500,000 | £6,294,000 | £5,085,000 | £78,069,000 | £3,283,000 | 0 | 0 | 26 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[11] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[11]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025; next accounts made up to 31 March 2026, due by 31 December 2026.[12]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 19 June 2026; next due by 3 July 2027.[12]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[13]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 23 March 1995, United Mizrahi Bank Limited: "The sum of £215,000.00 deposited in account no.1111-139900 At the bank (the account) and any other sum or sums which are deposited in the account in addition to or by way of renewal of or replacement for such sum and together with all entitlements to interest and other rights and benefits accruing t" (Satisfied); 17 August 1993, Republic National Bank of New York: "Any moneys in any account with the bank or owing by the bank and any property or documents." (Satisfied); 14 May 1990, North of England Building Society.: "All assets an undertakings whatsoever situate both present and future (I ncluding uncalled capital.)." (Satisfied); 14 May 1990, North of England Building Society.: "F/H 31-47 bell lane herdon. Title no ngl 136009, together with all buildings and erections, fixtures fittings, fixed plant & machinery and benefits underthe leases." (Satisfied); 8 December 1976, Bank Pars: "500,000 ordinary shares of 25 peach in daejan holdings limited." (Satisfied).[14]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 23 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: 190-194 Eltham High Street, London (SE9 1BJ) (title 54655, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 20-08-1993); 3 Whitburn Avenue, Birmingham (B42 1QH) (title MM144590, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 02-09-2020); 34 Whitburn Avenue, Birmingham (B42 1QH) (title MM144592, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 02-09-2020); 68 Elliston Avenue, Great Barr, Birmingham (B44 8TJ) (title MM176919, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 08-11-2022, price paid £30,350); 488 Finchley Road, London (NW11 8DE) (title MX148688, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 16-09-2004, price paid £655,000); 490 Finchley Road, London (NW11 8DE) (title MX246083, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 01-11-2004, price paid £480,000); 31-47 Bell Lane, Hendon (title NGL136009, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 27-06-1996); 181 West Heath Road, London (NW3 7TT) (title NGL355130, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 11-04-1991); Dean Bradley House, 46 Horseferry Road, London (SW1P 2AF) (title NGL632553, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 06-03-1991); 318 to 330 (even) Vauxhall Bridge Road and 4 Evelyn Mansions, Carlisle Place (title NGL709901, leasehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 03-09-1993); 17D-17H Silver Street, Wellingborough (title NN160480, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 06-09-1993); 8 Elliston Avenue, Great Barr (title WM349372, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 25-08-1993); 12 Regina Avenue, (B44 8TH) (title WM578571, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 23-08-1993); 10 Melcote Grove, Birmingham (B44 8UB) (title WM578599, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 23-08-1993); 48 Regina Avenue, (B44 8TH) (title WM578604, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 23-08-1993); 23 Wolverton Road, Rednal, (B45 8RL) (title WM584819, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 16-12-1993); 83 Wolverton Road, Rednal (title WM584823, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 16-12-1993); 3 Whitburn Avenue, Perry Barr, (B42 1QR) (title WM584838, leasehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 16-12-1993); 34 Whitburn Avenue, Perry Barr, (B42 1QH) (title WM584842, leasehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 16-12-1993); 370-376 (even numbers) Boldmere Road, Sutton Coldfield (title WM584927, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 17-12-1993); 68 Elliston Avenue, Great Barr (title WM586726, leasehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED; proprietor registered 20-01-1994); 244 Dyas Road, Great Barr, Birmingham (B44 8TE) (title WM922036, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 18-01-2008); 222 Ryde Park Road, Rednal, Birmingham (B45 8RJ) (title WM940004, freehold; registered proprietor MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED (00927985); proprietor registered 06-10-2008).[15]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[10][11]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Mr D Davis is also a trustee of Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited (248708), The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (313890), Regent Charities Limited (1059253). Solomon Israel Freshwater is also a trustee of Service To The Aged (1001916), The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (313890), Sassov Beis Hamedrash (1102303), Zichron Chaim Limited (1204043), Tol Charity (1217718). Benzion Schalom Eliezer Freshwater is also a trustee of Sassov Beis Hamedrash (1102303), Beth Jacob Grammar School for Girls Limited (248708), The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (313890), Service To The Aged (1001916), Regent Charities Limited (1059253), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Parsha Limited (267986). Richard Fischer is also a trustee of Highcroft Charitable Trust (272684), The Raphael Freshwater Memorial Association (313890).[16]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr D Davis is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[16] but not as a current director at Companies House.[6]
See also
Resources
- Charity Commission Inquiry Report Mayfair Charities Limited Registered Charity Number 255281 12 December 2013.
Notes
- ↑ See: Charitable spending of the largest 100 UK family foundations
- ↑ Between 2009-2016 inclusive the charity did not disclose the recipients of its donations except for those donations disclosed in 'related party transactions'.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – register entry (4 February 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 February 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – register entry (18 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 18 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – register entry (26 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Companies House, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Mayfair Charities – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 00927985 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 16.0 16.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAYFAIR CHARITIES LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.