Chasdei Dovid
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Chasdei Dovid
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 18 May 2012 (incorporated); 18 November 2013 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1154626; Company 08075691 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Chasdei Dovid (Charity number: 1154626; Company number 08075691) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2]
- Charity registered: 18 November 2013 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 18 May 2012 (Active); SIC 85590 - Other education not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 923 Finchley Road, London, NW11 7PE[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Akiva Kahan | Chair | 3 June 2013 | Zichron Refoel (charity number: 1132385) | Uk Friends Of Mishkan Hatalmud Ofakim (charity number: 1138582) |
| Michael Julian Davis | Trustee | 22 August 2013 | None on record |
| Joey Joseph | Trustee | 3 June 2019 | Zichron Refoel (charity number: 1132385) | Samuel Sobelman Charitable Trust (charity number: 1205743) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Directors
| Name | Correspondence address | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joey Jizchak Joseph | 923 Finchley Road, London, United Kingdom, NW11 7PE | Role Active | Director | May 1955 | 71 | 18 May 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Akiva Kahan | 923 Finchley Road, London, United Kingdom, NW11 7PE | Role Active | Director | May 1964 | 62 | 18 May 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Michael Julian Davis | 923 Finchley Road, London, United Kingdom, NW11 7PE | Role Resigned | Director | June 1952 | 74 | 2 July 2013 | 1 May 2026 | British | England Identity verification due 1 June 2026 | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[3]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Correspondence address | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joey Jizchak Joseph | 923 Finchley Road, London, NW11 7PE | Active | 6 April 2016 | May 1955 | 71 | British | United Kingdom | Right to appoint or remove directors | |
| Akiva Kahan | 923 Finchley Road, London, NW11 7PE | Active | 6 April 2016 | May 1964 | 62 | British | England | Has significant influence or control | |
| Michael Julian Davis | 923 Finchley Road, London, NW11 7PE | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 1 June 2026 | June 1952 | 74 | British | England | Has significant influence or control |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[4]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joey Joseph | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
| Akiva Kahan | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 2 [5][7] |
| Michael Julian Davis | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [5][6] |
| Akiva Kahan | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [6] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 May 2021 | £36,788 | £36,956 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 15 March 2022 (due 31 March 2022) |
| 31 May 2022 | £39,131 | £37,633 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 13 March 2023 (due 31 March 2023) |
| 31 May 2023 | £30,629 | £33,337 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 8 May 2024 (due 31 March 2024) |
| 31 May 2024 | £33,475 | £30,651 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 20 March 2025 (due 31 March 2025) |
| 31 May 2025 | £23,901 | £27,888 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 16 April 2026; no accounts on record (due 31 March 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[9]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 May 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 20 Apr 2026); next accounts made up to 30 May 2026, due by 28 February 2027.[2][10]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 18 May 2026; next due by 1 June 2027.[2]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "Included in donations are grants received from Zichron Refoel , totalling £4,000 (2024 : £11,000) a charity which has Trustees in common with Chasdei Dovid."[10]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 May 2023 were received on 8 May 2024, after the due date of 31 March 2024; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 May 2025 were received on 16 April 2026, after the due date of 31 March 2026.[8] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (16 days late)".[9]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Akiva Kahan is also a trustee of Zichron Refoel (1132385), Uk Friends Of Mishkan Hatalmud Ofakim (1138582). Joey Joseph is also a trustee of Zichron Refoel (1132385), Samuel Sobelman Charitable Trust (1205743).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Michael Julian Davis is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[3]
- Shared trustees/directors: Joey Jizchak Joseph is also connected with Dalaid (1064655), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[11].
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Charity Commission for England and Wales, CHASDEI DOVID trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, CHASDEI DOVID overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Companies House, CHASDEI DOVID officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, CHASDEI DOVID persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 UK Government Web Archive, Chasdei Dovid – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 UK Government Web Archive, Chasdei Dovid – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Chasdei Dovid – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, CHASDEI DOVID financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, CHASDEI DOVID overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Companies House, CHASDEI DOVID filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 May 2025, filed 20 Apr 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, JOSEPH, Joey Jizchak appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.