Yad Vashem UK Foundation

From Powerbase
(Redirected from Yad Vashem Uk Foundation)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

Yad Vashem UK Foundation

Logo Yad Vashem Uk Foundation logo.png
Type Registered charity and company limited by guarantee
Founded 12 August 2003 (incorporated); 25 September 2003 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 1099659; Company 04863573
Status Registered
Location London, England
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House

Yad Vashem UK Foundation (Charity number: 1099659; Company number 04863573) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The principal activities of the Charity are that of initiate, develop and maintain research and educational programmes into the underlying causes of the treatment of Jewish people in Europe and a study of the phenomenon of the Holocaust".[3] For the financial year ending 31 July 2025 it reported income of £515,316 and expenditure of £468,335.[3]

  • Charity registered: 25 September 2003 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 12 August 2003 (Active); SIC 85590 - Other education not elsewhere classified[2]
  • Previous company names: YAD VASHEM - UK FOUNDATION 27 Apr 2012 - 06 Sep 2016 BRITISH FRIENDS OF YAD VASHEM 28 Dec 2008 - 27 Apr 2012 YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION 12 Aug 2003 - 28 Dec 2008[2]
  • Registered office address: 46 Albert Road, London, England, NW4 2SG[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Mr Jacques Weisser Trustee Not disclosed None on record
Geoffrey Hugh Melamet Trustee 11 April 2013 British Friends Of Gesher (charity number: 291846)
Dame Helen Hyde Dbe Trustee 19 September 2022 Holocaust Educational Trust (charity number: 1092892) | Foundation For Jewish Heritage (charity number: 1162111) | One Vision (charity number: 1192511)
Menachem Marc Ovits Trustee 7 March 2023 None on record
Harriet Morris-Sloane Trustee 9 March 2023 None on record

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Jonathan Lauffer 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Jonathan Alexander Metliss 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Anthony Harry Hyams 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Salomon Jacques Weisser 7 July 2010 3 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Angela Cohen 7 July 2010 19 January 2011 2 [4][7]
Irene Radstone 7 July 2010 19 January 2011 2 [4][7]
Brian Jack Markeson 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Michael Charles 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Anton Dell 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Ian John Fenton 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Hannah Loftus 7 July 2010 22 January 2012 3 [4][5]
Scott Saunders 7 July 2010 3 January 2019 7 [4][6]
Simon Anthony Bentley 22 January 2012 3 January 2019 5 [5][6]
Peter David Abbey 22 January 2012 22 January 2012 1 [5]
Geoffrey Hugh Melamet 26 July 2017 3 January 2019 4 [8][6]
Adam Wolinsky 26 July 2017 4 January 2018 3 [8][9]
Hanah Goldstein 26 July 2017 3 January 2019 4 [8][6]
David Lander 26 July 2017 3 January 2019 4 [8][6]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Evelynne Garbacz Role Active Secretary 15 November 2012 Not disclosed
Helen Yvonne Hyde Role Active Director May 1947 79 19 September 2022 South African England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Geoffrey Hugh Melamet Role Active Director December 1958 67 1 December 2012 British United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Harriet Louise Morris-Sloane Role Active Director May 1981 45 23 February 2023 British England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Menachem Marc Ovits Role Active Director February 1971 55 23 February 2023 British England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Salomon Jacques Weisser Role Active Director February 1942 84 1 August 2005 British United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Angela Cohen Role Resigned Secretary 1 August 2005 1 August 2005 British Not disclosed
Anthony Harry Hyams Role Resigned Secretary 30 April 2009 26 June 2012 British Not disclosed
Jeffrey Pinnick Role Resigned Secretary 12 August 2003 30 April 2009 British Not disclosed
Peter David Abbey Role Resigned Director October 1945 80 or 81 10 August 2011 19 November 2012 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Jonathan Ian Barnett Role Resigned Director January 1950 76 1 December 2012 24 February 2016 British England Not disclosed
Esther Ann Bentley Role Resigned Director February 1957 69 12 January 2012 7 October 2013 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Simon Anthony Bentley Role Resigned Director June 1955 71 6 December 2011 26 February 2026 British United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 Not disclosed
Stewart Laurence Cass Role Resigned Director November 1959 66 1 August 2005 31 December 2008 British England Not disclosed
Michael Charles Role Resigned Director August 1965 61 24 December 2008 7 March 2012 British England Not disclosed
Angela Cohen Role Resigned Director November 1953 72 1 August 2005 31 December 2008 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Anton Dell Role Resigned Director April 1942 84 24 December 2008 16 November 2016 British England Not disclosed
Mark David Faerber Role Resigned Director April 1955 71 1 August 2005 31 December 2008 British England Not disclosed
Ian Jonathan Fenton Role Resigned Director March 1956 70 24 December 2008 7 May 2014 British England Not disclosed
Hannah Goldstein Role Resigned Director April 1994 32 16 February 2016 25 October 2021 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Ben Helfgott Role Resigned Director November 1929 96 12 August 2003 1 August 2005 British England Not disclosed
Anthony Harry Hvams Role Resigned Director February 1958 68 24 December 2008 26 June 2012 British England Not disclosed
David Philip Lander Role Resigned Director December 1968 57 12 April 2016 3 April 2024 British England Not disclosed
Jonathan Simon Lauffer Role Resigned Director October 1954 71 or 72 24 December 2008 1 November 2014 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Brian Jack Markeson Role Resigned Director July 1948 78 24 December 2008 6 December 2011 British England Not disclosed
Jonathan Alexander Metliss Role Resigned Director June 1949 77 12 March 2009 12 April 2016 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Jeffrey Pinnick Role Resigned Director December 1935 90 12 August 2003 30 April 2009 British England Not disclosed
Irene Radstone Role Resigned Director November 1956 69 1 August 2005 31 December 2008 British England Not disclosed
Simon Reiss Role Resigned Director December 1923 102 12 August 2003 1 August 2005 British Not disclosed
Ashley Rogoff Role Resigned Director August 1946 80 12 January 2012 31 August 2016 British England Not disclosed
Scott Antony Saunders Role Resigned Director October 1962 63 or 64 4 May 2010 29 November 2019 British England Not disclosed
Suzanne Elizabeth Jane Sendama Role Resigned Director March 1983 43 3 December 2019 1 November 2021 British England Not disclosed
Esther Marianne Tager Role Resigned Director May 1951 75 31 December 2008 1 March 2010 British England Not disclosed
Shoshana Batya Lopatin Wainer Role Resigned Director August 1974 52 5 February 2020 5 November 2021 American United Kingdom Not disclosed
Adam Wolinsky Role Resigned Director September 1992 34 11 November 2014 15 May 2017 British United Kingdom Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[10]

Persons with significant control

  • PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 12 August 2016)

Source: Companies House PSC register.[11]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
July 2012 £242,527 £201,710 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
July 2013 £141,194 £170,783 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
July 2014 £319,051 £307,459 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
July 2015 £484,119 £469,643 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
July 2016 £184,191 £251,405 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
July 2017 £341,955 £359,444 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
31 July 2021 £472,698 £398,474 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 25 April 2022 (due 31 May 2022)
31 July 2022 £444,201 £570,953 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 18 May 2023 (due 31 May 2023)
31 July 2023 £579,488 £644,443 £526,325 £618,030 £8,000 £175,305 £180,280 3 1 2 May 2024 (due 31 May 2024)
31 July 2024 £399,010 £351,759 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed 0 14 May 2025 (due 31 May 2025)
31 July 2025 £515,316 £468,335 £509,495 £302,559 £184,169 £269,537 £254,910 3 0 29 April 2026 (due 31 May 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[12] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[13]

Controversies and conflicts

See also

External links

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (7 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 5.9 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (22 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 22 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ 7.0 7.1 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (19 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 19 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
  8. ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 8.6 8.7 8.8 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  12. ↑ 12.0 12.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  13. ↑ 13.0 13.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  14. ↑ 14.0 14.1 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 July 2025, filed 28 Apr 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  15. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
  16. ↑ Companies House, TAGER, Esther Marianne appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  17. ↑ Companies House, TAGER, Esther Marianne appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.