Yad Vashem UK Foundation
Registered charity in England and Wales
Yad Vashem UK Foundation (Charity number: 1099659; Company number 04863573) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The principal activities of the Charity are that of initiate, develop and maintain research and educational programmes into the underlying causes of the treatment of Jewish people in Europe and a study of the phenomenon of the Holocaust".[3] For the financial year ending 31 July 2025 it reported income of £515,316 and expenditure of £468,335.[3]
- Charity registered: 25 September 2003 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 12 August 2003 (Active); SIC 85590 - Other education not elsewhere classified[2]
- Previous company names: YAD VASHEM - UK FOUNDATION 27 Apr 2012 - 06 Sep 2016 BRITISH FRIENDS OF YAD VASHEM 28 Dec 2008 - 27 Apr 2012 YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION 12 Aug 2003 - 28 Dec 2008[2]
- Registered office address: 46 Albert Road, London, England, NW4 2SG[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mr Jacques Weisser | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Geoffrey Hugh Melamet | Trustee | 11 April 2013 | British Friends Of Gesher (charity number: 291846) |
| Dame Helen Hyde Dbe | Trustee | 19 September 2022 | Holocaust Educational Trust (charity number: 1092892) | Foundation For Jewish Heritage (charity number: 1162111) | One Vision (charity number: 1192511) |
| Menachem Marc Ovits | Trustee | 7 March 2023 | None on record |
| Harriet Morris-Sloane | Trustee | 9 March 2023 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jonathan Lauffer | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Jonathan Alexander Metliss | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Anthony Harry Hyams | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Salomon Jacques Weisser | 7 July 2010 | 3 January 2019 | 7 [4][6] |
| Angela Cohen | 7 July 2010 | 19 January 2011 | 2 [4][7] |
| Irene Radstone | 7 July 2010 | 19 January 2011 | 2 [4][7] |
| Brian Jack Markeson | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Michael Charles | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Anton Dell | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Ian John Fenton | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Hannah Loftus | 7 July 2010 | 22 January 2012 | 3 [4][5] |
| Scott Saunders | 7 July 2010 | 3 January 2019 | 7 [4][6] |
| Simon Anthony Bentley | 22 January 2012 | 3 January 2019 | 5 [5][6] |
| Peter David Abbey | 22 January 2012 | 22 January 2012 | 1 [5] |
| Geoffrey Hugh Melamet | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [8][6] |
| Adam Wolinsky | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 3 [8][9] |
| Hanah Goldstein | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [8][6] |
| David Lander | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [8][6] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evelynne Garbacz | Role Active | Secretary | 15 November 2012 | Not disclosed | |||||
| Helen Yvonne Hyde | Role Active | Director | May 1947 | 79 | 19 September 2022 | South African | England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed | |
| Geoffrey Hugh Melamet | Role Active | Director | December 1958 | 67 | 1 December 2012 | British | United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed | |
| Harriet Louise Morris-Sloane | Role Active | Director | May 1981 | 45 | 23 February 2023 | British | England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed | |
| Menachem Marc Ovits | Role Active | Director | February 1971 | 55 | 23 February 2023 | British | England Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed | |
| Salomon Jacques Weisser | Role Active | Director | February 1942 | 84 | 1 August 2005 | British | United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed | |
| Angela Cohen | Role Resigned | Secretary | 1 August 2005 | 1 August 2005 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Anthony Harry Hyams | Role Resigned | Secretary | 30 April 2009 | 26 June 2012 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Jeffrey Pinnick | Role Resigned | Secretary | 12 August 2003 | 30 April 2009 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Peter David Abbey | Role Resigned | Director | October 1945 | 80 or 81 | 10 August 2011 | 19 November 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Jonathan Ian Barnett | Role Resigned | Director | January 1950 | 76 | 1 December 2012 | 24 February 2016 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Esther Ann Bentley | Role Resigned | Director | February 1957 | 69 | 12 January 2012 | 7 October 2013 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Simon Anthony Bentley | Role Resigned | Director | June 1955 | 71 | 6 December 2011 | 26 February 2026 | British | United Kingdom Identity verification due 26 August 2026 | Not disclosed |
| Stewart Laurence Cass | Role Resigned | Director | November 1959 | 66 | 1 August 2005 | 31 December 2008 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Michael Charles | Role Resigned | Director | August 1965 | 61 | 24 December 2008 | 7 March 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Angela Cohen | Role Resigned | Director | November 1953 | 72 | 1 August 2005 | 31 December 2008 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Anton Dell | Role Resigned | Director | April 1942 | 84 | 24 December 2008 | 16 November 2016 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Mark David Faerber | Role Resigned | Director | April 1955 | 71 | 1 August 2005 | 31 December 2008 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Ian Jonathan Fenton | Role Resigned | Director | March 1956 | 70 | 24 December 2008 | 7 May 2014 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Hannah Goldstein | Role Resigned | Director | April 1994 | 32 | 16 February 2016 | 25 October 2021 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Ben Helfgott | Role Resigned | Director | November 1929 | 96 | 12 August 2003 | 1 August 2005 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Anthony Harry Hvams | Role Resigned | Director | February 1958 | 68 | 24 December 2008 | 26 June 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| David Philip Lander | Role Resigned | Director | December 1968 | 57 | 12 April 2016 | 3 April 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Jonathan Simon Lauffer | Role Resigned | Director | October 1954 | 71 or 72 | 24 December 2008 | 1 November 2014 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Brian Jack Markeson | Role Resigned | Director | July 1948 | 78 | 24 December 2008 | 6 December 2011 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Jonathan Alexander Metliss | Role Resigned | Director | June 1949 | 77 | 12 March 2009 | 12 April 2016 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Jeffrey Pinnick | Role Resigned | Director | December 1935 | 90 | 12 August 2003 | 30 April 2009 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Irene Radstone | Role Resigned | Director | November 1956 | 69 | 1 August 2005 | 31 December 2008 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Simon Reiss | Role Resigned | Director | December 1923 | 102 | 12 August 2003 | 1 August 2005 | British | Not disclosed | |
| Ashley Rogoff | Role Resigned | Director | August 1946 | 80 | 12 January 2012 | 31 August 2016 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Scott Antony Saunders | Role Resigned | Director | October 1962 | 63 or 64 | 4 May 2010 | 29 November 2019 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Suzanne Elizabeth Jane Sendama | Role Resigned | Director | March 1983 | 43 | 3 December 2019 | 1 November 2021 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Esther Marianne Tager | Role Resigned | Director | May 1951 | 75 | 31 December 2008 | 1 March 2010 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Shoshana Batya Lopatin Wainer | Role Resigned | Director | August 1974 | 52 | 5 February 2020 | 5 November 2021 | American | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Adam Wolinsky | Role Resigned | Director | September 1992 | 34 | 11 November 2014 | 15 May 2017 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[10]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 12 August 2016)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[11]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2012 | £242,527 | £201,710 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| July 2013 | £141,194 | £170,783 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| July 2014 | £319,051 | £307,459 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| July 2015 | £484,119 | £469,643 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| July 2016 | £184,191 | £251,405 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| July 2017 | £341,955 | £359,444 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| 31 July 2021 | £472,698 | £398,474 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 25 April 2022 (due 31 May 2022) |
| 31 July 2022 | £444,201 | £570,953 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 18 May 2023 (due 31 May 2023) |
| 31 July 2023 | £579,488 | £644,443 | £526,325 | £618,030 | £8,000 | £175,305 | £180,280 | 3 | 1 | 2 May 2024 (due 31 May 2024) |
| 31 July 2024 | £399,010 | £351,759 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 14 May 2025 (due 31 May 2025) |
| 31 July 2025 | £515,316 | £468,335 | £509,495 | £302,559 | £184,169 | £269,537 | £254,910 | 3 | 0 | 29 April 2026 (due 31 May 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[12] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[13]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 July 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 28 Apr 2026); next accounts made up to 31 July 2026, due by 30 April 2027.[2][14]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 12 August 2025; next due by 26 August 2026.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 July 2014; year ending 31 July 2015; year ending 31 July 2016; year ending 31 July 2017; year ending 31 July 2018; year ending 31 July 2019.[15]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "Transactions with related parties During the year the Charity entered into the following transactions with related parties: Reimbursed expenses relating to travel of £902. 37, meetings of £1,027. 60 and other expenses of £225 were paid to Simon Bentley and a company of which they are shareholder and sole director in the period. Esther Bentley, the Holocaust Educator, (Simon Bentley's wife) was paid £350 in casual wages for services provided to Yad Vashem UK Foundation and was reimbursed £31."[14]
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[12][13]
- Overdue filings: The Companies House overview marks a filing as overdue.[2]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Geoffrey Hugh Melamet is also a trustee of British Friends Of Gesher (291846). Dame Helen Hyde Dbe is also a trustee of Holocaust Educational Trust (1092892), Foundation For Jewish Heritage (1162111), One Vision (1192511).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr Jacques Weisser, Dame Helen Hyde Dbe, Menachem Marc Ovits are listed as trustees by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[10] Helen Yvonne Hyde, Menachem Marc Ovits, Salomon Jacques Weisser are a current director at Companies House[10] but not listed as trustees by the Charity Commission.[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Esther Marianne Tager is also connected with Solev Co Limited (254623), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[16]; Esther Marianne Tager is also connected with Hatzlocho Limited (1082076), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17].
See also
- Mr Jacques Weisser
- Geoffrey Hugh Melamet
- British Friends Of Gesher
- Dame Helen Hyde Dbe
- Holocaust Educational Trust
- Foundation For Jewish Heritage
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (7 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 5.9 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (22 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 22 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 6.6 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (19 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 19 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 8.6 8.7 8.8 UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 Companies House, YAD VASHEM UK FOUNDATION filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 July 2025, filed 28 Apr 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yad Vashem Uk Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, TAGER, Esther Marianne appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, TAGER, Esther Marianne appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.