UK Toremet Limited

From Powerbase
(Redirected from UK Toremet)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

UK Toremet Limited

Logo UK Toremet Limited logo.png
Type Charitable company (donor-advised fund)
Founded Incorporated 9 June 2010; registered as a charity 16 March 2011
Registration ID 1140972
Location Devonshire House, Manor Way, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire WD6 1QQ
Key people Jonathan Howard Cline; Robert James Cline; Jeremy Ross; Reva Shenker; Adrian Jacob; Mark David Taylor
Website https://uktoremet.org.uk


UK Toremet Limited (charity number 1140972; company number 07278312) is an English charitable company, incorporated on 9 June 2010 and registered with the Charity Commission on 16 March 2011. It operates as a donor-advised fund: it receives donations (including Gift Aid), holds “charity current accounts” and “impact accounts”, and makes grants to organisations it has placed on an approved list after due diligence. Gift Aid is recorded. Reporting is up to date. The register does not display a statutory-inquiry alert.[1][2]

The charity describes itself as non-political and non-denominational. Critics, including Ben White, the Islamic Human Rights Commission and later reporting by The Guardian and Declassified UK, have treated it as a UK conduit for donations to organisations in Israel and the occupied Palestinian territories, including settlement-linked bodies and IDF-support campaigns. The Commission has opened at least three regulatory compliance cases since 2016, issued statutory guidance and an action plan (including on the JGive platform), and in 2025–26 referred settlement-funding allegations involving UK charities to the police and HMRC. Opening a compliance case or passing a complaint to the police is not itself a finding of wrongdoing.[3][4][5][6]

Objects

The promotion of such charitable purposes as for the time being which are charitable according to the law of England and Wales.[1]

Register activities: obtaining donations by direct appeal for specific charities’ needs; participating in an annual conference promoting charitable objectives. Main method: grant-making. Operates throughout England and Wales and in India, Israel, Switzerland and the United States. Three employees; no employee paid over £60,000. No trading subsidiaries. Does not own or lease land. One or more trustees receive payments or benefits for providing services to the charity.[1]

The charity’s own site says it retains a small proportion of receipts (normally no more than 5%, or up to Gift Aid received) for costs, and that donors may express wishes as to use; trustees say they retain discretion and will only fund activities that are charitable under English law. Grants are made only to organisations on an “Approved List” after a sign-up form and due-diligence checks, and only where UK Toremet says it has a representative able to monitor (UK, US, Israel and some other countries).[7]

Contact

  • Address: Devonshire House, Manor Way, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire WD6 1QQ (also given as Hubspace, Devonshire House c/o Shenkers)
  • Phone: 020 8203 8833 (Endole also lists 020 8450 4533)
  • Email: info@uktoremet.org.uk
  • Website: https://uktoremet.org.uk[1]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other charities (Commission)
Mark David Taylor Trustee 29 June 2023 None on record
Adrian Jacob Trustee 1 September 2018 None on record
Reva Shenker FCA Trustee 6 February 2018 None on record
Jonathan Howard Cline Trustee 1 August 2016 None on record
Robert James Cline Trustee None on record
Jeremy Ross Trustee None on record

[8]

Founder and former public face Jonny Cline / Jonathan Howard Cline is a Briton who moved to Israel. Declassified UK reported that he had stood as a candidate for Jewish Home and had been a spokesman for a West Bank settlement. Aryeh Leaman is not connected to this charity.[9]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Jeremy Ross 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [10][11]
Robert James Cline 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [10][11]
Jay Scultz 26 July 2017 3 January 2018 2 [10][12]
Rt Hon Richard Kalms 26 July 2017 3 January 2018 2 [10][12]
Jonathan Howard Cline 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [10][11]
Reva Suzanne Shenker 2 January 2019 2 January 2019 1 [11]
Adrian Jacobs 2 January 2019 2 January 2019 1 [11]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Emandar Nominees Ltd Active Secretary 21 April 2011 UK Limited Company What's this?
Jonathan Howard Cline Active Director September 1975 9 June 2010 British Israel Not disclosed
Robert James Cline Active Director August 1979 1 August 2016 British England Not disclosed
Adrian Neil Jacob Active Director July 1976 1 September 2018 British England Not disclosed
Jeremy Ross Active Director August 1972 8 November 2017 British England Not disclosed
Reva Suzanne Shenker Active Director February 1957 6 February 2018 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Mark David Taylor Active Director February 1976 29 June 2023 British England Not disclosed
Third Floor Nominees Limited Resigned Secretary 9 June 2010 9 June 2010
Richard Bernard Kalms Resigned Director March 1955 25 August 2016 8 November 2017 British Israel Not disclosed
Christine Lewis Resigned Director August 1947 9 June 2010 9 June 2010 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Jeremy Ross Resigned Director August 1972 8 November 2017 8 November 2017 British England Not disclosed
Jay Sculz Resigned Director September 1976 30 July 2016 1 September 2018 American United States Not disclosed
Third Floor Nominees Limited Resigned Director 9 June 2010 9 June 2010

Source: Companies House officers register.[13]

Persons with significant control

Name Status Notified on Ceased on Date of birth Nationality Country of residence Nature of control
Mark David Taylor Active 29 June 2023 February 1976 British England Has significant influence or control
Adrian Neil Jacob Active 1 September 2018 July 1976 British England Has significant influence or control
Reva Suzanne Shenker Active 6 February 2018 February 1957 British England Has significant influence or control
Jeremy Michael Ross Active 1 September 2016 August 1972 British England Has significant influence or control
Robert James Cline Active 1 August 2016 August 1979 British England Has significant influence or control
Jonathan Howard Cline Active 1 June 2016 September 1975 British Israel Has significant influence or control
Richard Bernard Kalms Ceased 25 August 2016 8 November 2017 March 1955 British Israel Has significant influence or control
Jay Scultz Ceased 30 July 2016 1 September 2018 September 1976 American United States Has significant influence or control

Source: Companies House PSC register.[14]

Finances

Year to 31 March Income Expenditure Grants to institutions
2021 £5.21m £5.10m £4.91m
2022 £2.71m £2.85m £2.84m
2023 £1.28m £1.47m £1.27m
2024 £3.82m £2.98m £2.98m
2025 £2.69m £2.52m £2.23m

[1]

Income is almost entirely donations. Other assets (mainly cash) were about £1.17m at 31 March 2025.[1]

Funding

The Guardian (2025) reported that the Kasner Charitable Trust donated about £5.7 million via UK Toremet between 2017 and 2021 destined for the Bnei Akiva yeshiva high school in Susya in the occupied West Bank. UK Toremet has said it has “never donated to any ‘settlement’” and that grants go to NGOs for activities it treats as charitable under English law.[4]

Support for the Israeli military

Grants to a hesder yeshiva. The 2022–23 accounts list a restricted-fund grant of £33,160 to "Yeshivat Hesder Netiv Tefachot" (Netiv Tefahot, Moshav Tefahot, Galilee) (PDF p.23).[15] A hesder yeshiva combines advanced Torah study with service in the Israel Defense Forces.[16]

Yahalom Foundation. Declassified UK reported in August 2026 that UK Toremet had given money, in an amount and year not disclosed, to the Yahalom Foundation, which says it supports soldiers "who have served and are currently serving"; UK Toremet said the grant was for "the provision of PTSD treatment to the association's beneficiaries".[9] The grant does not appear in the grant lists in the 2020–21 to 2024–25 accounts (the 2023–24 accounts list no recipients).

Prior scrutiny. After 7 October 2023 the Islamic Human Rights Commission complained again that Israeli organisations (including One People and Gush Etzion) were using UK Toremet to process UK donations for IDF equipment. IHRC had first complained in 2015. Commission guidance is that supporting a foreign state’s armed forces is not a charitable purpose.[17] The Powerbase page UK AWIS - supporters lists gifts to UK Toremet from two donor trusts in its "Donations to IDF" column.

Activity beyond the Green Line

In September 2015 Ben White reported that UK Toremet’s approved-recipient list included groups operating in or for settlements, among them a religious school in Hebron, a foundation “for the benefit of the residents of Efrat”, and the Gush Etzion Foundation. The Commission confirmed an open case in 2016. The Palestine Chronicle and related coverage reported Commission warnings that grants to settlements could breach UK law if they assisted the maintenance of a situation the UK regards as unlawful under the Geneva Conventions.[3][18][19]

Evidence of activity beyond the 1949 armistice line
Finding Confidence
Grants of £5,539,548 in 2017–18 to 2020–21 to the Bnei Akiva Yeshiva High School for Environmental Studies, which gives its location as Susya, Har Hevron Regional Council (see below).[20][21] High – named grant, school located in a settlement
Approved-recipient list in 2015 included groups in or for settlements (Hebron, Efrat, Gush Etzion), as reported by Ben White.[3] Medium – press report

Funding of Israeli settlements

The accounts of UK Toremet Limited filed at Companies House list grants to the "Bnei Akiva Yeshiva High School for Environmental Studies":

Year ended Grant (£) Fund Accounts page
31 March 2018 2,636,200 Unrestricted PDF p.37[20]
31 March 2019 nil – PDF p.34[22]
31 March 2020 2,675,400 Restricted PDF p.40[23]
31 March 2021 227,948 Restricted PDF p.38[24]
Total 5,539,548

The school's website gives its location as Susya, Har Hevron Regional Council.[21] Susya is an Israeli settlement in the south Hebron hills of the occupied West Bank. The accounts for the years to 31 March 2022 to 2025 do not name the school.

Over the same period the accounts of The Kasner Charitable Trust record grants to UK Toremet Limited of £3,660,000 (year to 31 March 2018), £1,565,500 (2019), £5,293,400 (2020), £2,861,159 (2021) and £983,400 (2022).[25][26][27][28][29] Neither charity's accounts state that particular Kasner grants were passed on to the school.

Controversies and regulatory action

The Commission later said it had run three separate regulatory compliance cases involving UK Toremet since 2016 concerning work in the occupied Palestinian territories; it issued statutory guidance and an action plan referring to the Geneva Conventions Act 1957 and restated the UK government’s position that settlement construction in the OPT is illegal under international law. It also said operating in the OPT is not in itself a criminal offence or a breach of charity law. In July 2025 it sought renewed Attorney General advice after the Susya/Kasner reports and the matter was referred to the police.[4]

Declassified UK (April 2026) reported that Shivat Zion directed GBP gifts through UK Toremet and promoted aliya to a West Bank settlement; UK Toremet said it had no active relationship and had paid no grants to that organisation in the previous 12 months. In August 2026 Declassified reported a grant to the Yahalom Foundation for PTSD treatment; UK Toremet said monitoring confirmed restricted use. In June 2026 Melanie Ward MP named UK Toremet among charities alleged to have channelled funds toward settlements and said it had a live donation page for Artzenu (then newly sanctioned). UK Toremet denied Artzenu was an approved recipient or that an active donation route existed.[30][9][5]

UK Toremet’s April 2026 letter said three Commission engagements had closed; the latest action plan covered JGive campaign screening; trustees filed serious incident reports after the July 2025 Guardian article and the April 2026 Declassified article.[6]

The charities in the Commission's settlements class inquiry (opened August 2026) have not been named, so it is not known whether this charity is among them.[31]

See also

Resources

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission, UK TOREMET LIMITED - 1140972 Register of Charities, accessed 29 September 2026.
  2. ↑ UK Toremet, Promoting Philanthropy.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Ben White, Revealed: the UK charity facilitating donations to Israeli settlements, 25 September 2015.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 Emily Harle, Regulator alerts police and seeks advice over funds sent to occupied Palestine Third Sector, 21 July 2025.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 Emily Harle, Regulator refers concerns about charities’ links to illegal Israeli settlements to police and HMRC Third Sector, 12 June 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Toremet Ltd, Response to Declassified UK, April 2026.
  7. ↑ UK Toremet, For Charities.
  8. ↑ Charity Commission, UK TOREMET LIMITED - Trustees.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 9.2 Exclusive: UK funded therapy for Israeli soldiers Declassified UK, 13 August 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 UK Government Web Archive, UK Toremet – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  11. ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 UK Government Web Archive, UK Toremet – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  12. ↑ 12.0 12.1 UK Government Web Archive, UK Toremet – register entry (3 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  13. ↑ Companies House, UK TOREMET LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  14. ↑ Companies House, UK TOREMET LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  15. ↑ UK Toremet Limited, Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2023, from accounts and annual returns Register of Charities.
  16. ↑ Israel Ministry of Defence, מסלול ישיבות ההסדר (The hesder yeshivot track) noar.mod.gov.il, accessed 21 October 2026.
  17. ↑ IHRC, IHRC files complaint re UK charity helping Israeli soldiers in Gaza, 19 January 2024.
  18. ↑ Ben White, UK charity under pressure over donations to Israeli settlements, 31 May 2016.
  19. ↑ Grants to Israeli Settlements Could Breach UK Law, Charity Commission Warns Palestine Chronicle.
  20. ↑ 20.0 20.1 UK Toremet Limited, Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2018 Companies House, filed 18 February 2019.
  21. ↑ 21.0 21.1 Bnei Akiva Yeshiva for Environmental Education Susya, About the yeshiva sussya.org.il, accessed 20 October 2026 (location given as "Susya, Har Hevron Regional Council"; founded 1998).
  22. ↑ UK Toremet Limited, Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2019 Companies House, filed 17 February 2020.
  23. ↑ UK Toremet Limited, Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2020 Companies House, filed 22 March 2021.
  24. ↑ UK Toremet Limited, Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2021 Companies House, filed 11 May 2022.
  25. ↑ The Kasner Charitable Trust, Report of the Trustees and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 March 2018 Charity Commission Register of Charities (archived copy, 20 July 2023).
  26. ↑ The Kasner Charitable Trust, Report of the Trustees and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 March 2019 Charity Commission Register of Charities (archived copy, 20 July 2023).
  27. ↑ The Kasner Charitable Trust, Report of the Trustees and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 March 2020 Charity Commission Register of Charities (archived copy, 20 July 2023).
  28. ↑ The Kasner Charitable Trust, Report of the Trustees and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 March 2021 Charity Commission Register of Charities (archived copy, 20 July 2023).
  29. ↑ The Kasner Charitable Trust, Report of the Trustees and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 March 2022 Charity Commission Register of Charities (archived copy, 20 July 2023).
  30. ↑ Exposed: Israeli operation to help Brits move to West Bank Declassified UK, 13 April 2026.
  31. ↑ Charity Commission, Charity regulator opens inquiry into charities working in illegal Israeli settlements GOV.UK, 5 August 2026 (a fact-finding statutory class inquiry initially involving 8 charities which "are not being publicly named at this time").