The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 4 October 1991 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1004327 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust (Charity number: 1004327) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "This charity was set up to maintain and manage the synagogue in Cazenove Road in London known as The Beth Hamedrash Satmar. This includes providing facilities for public worship and Torah study and other services, amenities and activities incidental thereto. The charity also provides grants for students and donations to needy individuals / charitable organisations in the community".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £54,654 and expenditure of £177,336.[2]
- Charity registered: 4 October 1991 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: New Burlington House, 1075 Finchley Road, London, Nw11 0pu[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solomon Laufer | Trustee | Not disclosed | Truedene Co Limited (charity number: 248268) | Gemillas Ltd (charity number: 314155) | Gerson Berger Association Limited (charity number: 313122) |
| Joshua Sternlicht | Trustee | Not disclosed | Siva Charitable Fund (charity number: 267685) | Wiseheights Limited (charity number: 294229) | Shaarei Rachamim Limited (charity number: 1058261) | Mishkan Yerushulayim (charity number: 1110347) | Palmcourt Limited (charity number: 1070679) | Chevras Tsedokoh Limited (charity number: 1058260) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solomon Laufer | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Joshua Sternlicht | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Pinchas Ostreicher | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £345,780 | £641,651 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2013 | £388,166 | £458,238 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £353,502 | £365,124 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £414,469 | £400,762 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £559,625 | £509,318 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £650,038 | £661,381 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £816,849 | £492,791 | £816,849 | £492,791 | £97,203 | £1,109,083 | £80,280 | 0 | 0 | 25 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £309,561 | £416,320 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £254,222 | £391,641 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £152,573 | £297,504 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 28 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £54,654 | £177,336 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 13 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[7]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Solomon Laufer is also a trustee of Truedene Co Limited (248268), Gemillas Ltd (314155), Gerson Berger Association Limited (313122). Joshua Sternlicht is also a trustee of Siva Charitable Fund (267685), Wiseheights Limited (294229), Shaarei Rachamim Limited (1058261), Mishkan Yerushulayim (1110347), Palmcourt Limited (1070679), Chevras Tsedokoh Limited (1058260).[1]
See also
- Solomon Laufer
- Truedene Co Limited
- Gemillas Ltd
- Gerson Berger Association Limited
- Joshua Sternlicht
- Siva Charitable Fund
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE BETH HAMEDRASH SATMAR TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE BETH HAMEDRASH SATMAR TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE BETH HAMEDRASH SATMAR TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Beth Hamedrash Satmar Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.