Refreshing Minds
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Refreshing Minds
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 15 March 2016 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1166079 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Refreshing Minds (Charity number: 1166079) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "Refreshing Minds, a user-led youth club, targets vulnerable girls from North London. Our wraparound youth support includes weekend and after-school clubs, social skills/therapy sessions, holiday camps, and an annual pantomime. With continued research on changing needs, Refreshing Minds is determined to bridge the gap and enable challenged youth to become confident, capable contributors to society".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £568,322 and expenditure of £535,750.[2]
- Charity registered: 15 March 2016 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 61 Moresby Road, London, E5 9le[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joel Wider | Chair | 19 August 2014 | None on record |
| Helen Krausz | Trustee | 19 August 2014 | None on record |
| Tspoire Grunbaum | Trustee | 19 August 2014 | None on record |
| Kreindel Malka Rapaport | Trustee | 15 February 2021 | Keren Hachesed Trust (charity number: 1116180) |
| Avrohom Lebrecht | Trustee | 15 November 2021 | Bnois Jerusalem Schools (charity number: 312568) | U O B H Limited (charity number: 802780) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Helen Krausz | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Joel Wider | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Tspoire Grunbaum | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Zalman Perl | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2017 | £10,100 | £8,923 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 30 March 2021 | £251,822 | £239,692 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 38 | 22 December 2021 (due 30 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £404,623 | £418,171 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 40 | 9 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £474,209 | £453,479 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 40 | 22 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £664,447 | £585,869 | £208,848 | £497,294 | £6,260 | £120,093 | £8,927 | 4 | 42 | 29 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £568,322 | £535,750 | £512,962 | £487,996 | £0 | £152,665 | £43,850 | 0 | 40 | 28 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Grants (360Giving): 15 grant(s) received totalling £125,271 (27 Jul 2018 – 13 Mar 2026); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (6 grant(s), £69,980); Hackney CVS (2 grant(s), £10,061); Henry Smith Foundation (2 grant(s), £5,240); Sport England (2 grant(s), £26,290); Cheshire Community Foundation (1 grant(s), £2,500); Garfield Weston Foundation (1 grant(s), £5,000); The Clothworkers Foundation (1 grant(s), £6,200).[7]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Kreindel Malka Rapaport is also a trustee of Keren Hachesed Trust (1116180). Avrohom Lebrecht is also a trustee of Bnois Jerusalem Schools (312568), U O B H Limited (802780).[1]
See also
- Joel Wider
- Helen Krausz
- Tspoire Grunbaum
- Kreindel Malka Rapaport
- Keren Hachesed Trust
- Avrohom Lebrecht
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, REFRESHING MINDS trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Refreshing Minds – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, REFRESHING MINDS overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 UK Government Web Archive, Refreshing Minds – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 UK Government Web Archive, Refreshing Minds – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, REFRESHING MINDS financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Refreshing Minds 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.