Menorah Foundation
UK charity advancing Orthodox Jewish education and supporting Menorah Foundation School
| Menorah Foundation
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Charity |
| Location | Edgware, London, England |
Menorah Foundation is a registered charity, created 1995, in England and Wales (number 1044649).[1] Its objectives are to advance Orthodox Jewish Education, including by providing financial support to the Menorah Foundation School, and to advance the Jewish Faith in accordance with Orthodox practice.[1]
The charity supports Menorah Foundation School, a voluntary aided Orthodox Jewish primary school in Edgware, Middlesex.[2][3]
In the year ending 31 August 2024 the charity recorded income of £1,236,713 and expenditure of £1,148,032, almost all on charitable activities.[1]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adrian Mark Jacobs BEM | Chair | 01 November 2023 | Hendon Adath Yisroel Congregation | British Friends of The Land of Israel | Hendon Adath Limited | One Great Day | The Huntingdon Foundation Limited |
| Benjamin Mark Finger | Trustee | 12 February 2024 | None on record |
| Brendan Martin Stern | Trustee | 12 February 2024 | None on record |
| Nathan Baruch Jackson | Trustee | 01 November 2023 | None on record |
| Dalia Michal Meshulam | Trustee | 01 November 2023 | None on record |
| Alan Korman | Trustee | 01 November 2023 | None on record |
| Daniel Wulwick | Trustee | 02 September 2021 | None on record |
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Wechsler | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Stephen Jonathan Goldberg | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Paul Marcel Kreditor | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Jeremy Kon | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Alan Jacob Perrin | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Bernard Last | 25 January 2009 | 25 January 2009 | 1 [4] |
| Benny Last | 17 July 2010 | 23 January 2012 | 3 [6][7] |
| Adrian Jacobs | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 2 [8][9] |
| Adrian Mark Jacobs | 2 January 2019 | 2 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2012 | £780,054 | £600,318 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2013 | £608,915 | £599,033 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2014 | £927,177 | £920,794 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2015 | £615,160 | £742,853 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2016 | £1,479,320 | £682,630 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2017 | £983,295 | £848,610 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 August 2021 | £978,306 | £1,048,311 | £937,404 | £957,582 | £954,942 | £2,361,684 | £144,217 | 0 | 0 | 22 June 2022 (due 30 June 2022) |
| 31 August 2022 | £1,488,158 | £1,375,886 | £1,297,783 | £1,375,886 | £1,276,801 | £2,473,956 | £213,242 | 0 | 0 | 10 October 2023 (due 30 June 2023) |
| 31 August 2023 | £1,554,330 | £1,499,975 | £1,553,183 | £1,499,975 | £1,499,975 | £2,528,311 | £206,464 | 0 | 0 | 26 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £1,236,713 | £1,148,032 | £1,040,106 | £1,148,032 | £998,579 | £2,616,992 | £141,407 | 0 | 0 | 24 June 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £1,430,621 | £1,098,256 | £1,428,680 | £1,098,256 | £900,375 | £2,949,358 | £530,034 | 0 | 0 | 30 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[10] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[1] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[1]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 August 2014; year ending 31 August 2015; year ending 31 August 2016; year ending 31 August 2017; year ending 31 August 2018.[11]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 August 2022 were received on 10 October 2023, after the due date of 30 June 2023.[10] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[1]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Adrian Mark Jacobs is also a trustee of Hendon Adath Yisroel Congregation (1187431), British Friends Of The Land Of Israel (1143578), Hendon Adath Limited (1184204), One Great Day (1157743), The Huntingdon Foundation Limited (286504), Israel Special Kids Fund - Uk (1138932). Brendan Martin Stern is also a trustee of Revivim (1213957).[12]
See also
External links
Menorah Foundation School Charity Commission entry
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission, MENORAH FOUNDATION Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 8 June 2026.
- ↑ Menorah Foundation School, Home Menorah Foundation School, accessed 8 June 2026.
- ↑ Department for Education, Menorah Foundation School Get Information about Schools, accessed 8 June 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (25 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 25 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (17 July 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 17 July 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (23 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 23 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, MENORAH FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Menorah Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 8 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, MENORAH FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.