Legadel
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Legadel
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 5 March 2013 (incorporated); 6 November 2013 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1154487; Company 08430102 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Legadel (Charity number: 1154487; Company number 08430102) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The charity advances the education of young people by providing and assisting in the provision of educational facilities not required to be provided by the local education authority".[3] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £338,311 and expenditure of £332,672.[3]
- Charity registered: 6 November 2013 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 5 March 2013 (Active); SIC 94990 - Activities of other membership organisations not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: First Floor, Winston House, 349 Regents Park Road, London, United Kingdom, N3 1DH[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aron Denderowicz | Trustee | 13 August 2013 | The Grove Charitable Trust (charity number: 279110) |
| Raphael Gutwirth | Trustee | 13 August 2013 | None on record |
| Susan Rebecca Lisser | Trustee | 13 August 2013 | Asate Ltd (charity number: 1152603) | Unconditional Parenting Mcr (charity number: 1208545) |
| Schlomo Gross | Trustee | 24 July 2015 | None on record |
| Yoel Schwartz | Trustee | 1 April 2014 | The British Friends Of Ezer Mizion (charity number: 1073496) | A Spark In The Dark Ltd (charity number: 1199465) |
| Esther Schwartz | Trustee | 23 May 2013 | None on record |
| Aryeh Yehudah Melinek | Chair | 31 January 2016 | The Bl Minyan (charity number: 1169519) | Friends Of Orchos Torah (charity number: 1178879) | Gateshead Yeshiva Alumni Limited (charity number: 261875) | Ateres Beis Yaakov Limited (charity number: 1189564) | Nafshainu (charity number: 1197004) | Nwlj Schools Planning Committee (charity number: 1197033) | Havinenu (charity number: 1207230) | British Friends Of The Chazon Ish Institutions (charity number: 286986) | Veshinantom (charity number: 1210828) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Adler | 6 May 2014 | 6 May 2014 | 1 [4] |
| Susan Rebecca Lisser | 6 May 2014 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
| Aron Denderowicz | 6 May 2014 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
| Raphael Gutwirth | 6 May 2014 | 3 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
| Yoel Schwartz | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][5] |
| Schlomo Gross | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][5] |
| Aryeh Yehuda Melinek | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][5] |
| Esther Schwartz | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schlomo Gross | Role Active | Director | February 1982 | 44 | 24 July 2015 | Swiss | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Raphael Gutwirth | Role Active | Director | August 1981 | 45 | 5 March 2013 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Esther Schwartz | Role Active | Director | February 1980 | 46 | 23 May 2013 | British | London | Not disclosed | |
| Yoel Schwartz | Role Active | Director | May 1981 | 45 | 23 May 2013 | British | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[7]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 5 March 2017)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2015 | £99,218 | £111,433 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2016 | £175,426 | £176,945 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2017 | £237,650 | £250,622 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £327,073 | £258,900 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 December 2021 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £292,688 | £356,860 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 25 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £364,437 | £405,272 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £350,138 | £365,134 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 29 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £338,311 | £332,672 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 28 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 March 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 28 Jan 2026); next accounts made up to 25 March 2026, due by 25 December 2026.[2][11]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 5 March 2026; next due by 19 March 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[12]
- Grants (360Giving): 2 grant(s) received totalling £20,000 (24 Jun 2015 – 11 Jul 2019); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (2 grant(s), £20,000).[13]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "There were no related party transactions for the year ended 31 March 2025."[11]
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Aron Denderowicz is also a trustee of The Grove Charitable Trust (279110). Susan Rebecca Lisser is also a trustee of Asate Ltd (1152603), Unconditional Parenting Mcr (1208545). Yoel Schwartz is also a trustee of The British Friends Of Ezer Mizion (1073496), A Spark In The Dark Ltd (1199465). Aryeh Yehudah Melinek is also a trustee of The Bl Minyan (1169519), Friends Of Orchos Torah (1178879), Gateshead Yeshiva Alumni Limited (261875), Ateres Beis Yaakov Limited (1189564), Nafshainu (1197004), Nwlj Schools Planning Committee (1197033), Havinenu (1207230), British Friends Of The Chazon Ish Institutions (286986), Veshinantom (1210828).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Aron Denderowicz, Susan Rebecca Lisser, Aryeh Yehudah Melinek are listed as trustees by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[7]
See also
- Aron Denderowicz
- The Grove Charitable Trust
- Raphael Gutwirth
- Susan Rebecca Lisser
- Asate Ltd
- Unconditional Parenting Mcr
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Charity Commission for England and Wales, LEGADEL trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, LEGADEL overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Legadel – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 UK Government Web Archive, Legadel – register entry (6 May 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 May 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 UK Government Web Archive, Legadel – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 6.5 UK Government Web Archive, Legadel – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Companies House, LEGADEL officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, LEGADEL persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, LEGADEL financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, LEGADEL overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Companies House, LEGADEL filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 March 2025, filed 28 Jan 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Legadel – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 September 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Legadel 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.