Friends of Yeshiva Luzern
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Friends of Yeshiva Luzern
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 23 February 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1118086 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Friends of Yeshiva Luzern (Charity number: 1118086) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "To further both in the United Kingdom and abroad those purposes recognised as charitable by English Law with the particular purpose of raising funds for Yeshiva Luzern and affiliated Charities".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £417,970 and expenditure of £465,588.[2]
- Charity registered: 23 February 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 112 Osbaldeston Road, London, N16 6nj[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mr Jacob Frankel | Trustee | 31 December 2006 | The Bais Rochel Dsatmar Charitable Trust (charity number: 281371) | Nextgrant Limited (charity number: 292305) | Vyoel Moshe Charitable Trust (charity number: 327054) |
| Mr Moshe Kernkraut | Trustee | 31 December 2006 | Luzern Yeshiva Talmudical College (charity number: 1201551) |
| Mr Shalom Seidenfeld | Trustee | 31 December 2006 | United Talmudical Associates Ltd (charity number: 291834) | Palmcourt Limited (charity number: 1070679) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Luzern Yeshiva Talmudical College (charity number: 1201551) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| S Seidenfeld | 4 September 2014 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
| M Kernkraut | 4 September 2014 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
| J Frankel | 4 September 2014 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £58,724 | £115,598 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2013 | £141,909 | £138,664 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2014 | £158,941 | £135,949 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2015 | £155,729 | £170,872 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2016 | £57,142 | £74,689 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2017 | £165,081 | £171,009 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £198,735 | £199,133 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £244,110 | £272,270 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 6 | 6 June 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £776,669 | £512,562 | £773,164 | £512,562 | £0 | £539,784 | £604,033 | 0 | 6 | 31 January 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £284,324 | £391,502 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £417,970 | £465,588 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2009; year ending 31 March 2010; year ending 31 March 2012; year ending 31 March 2013; year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[8]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2022 were received on 6 June 2023, after the due date of 31 January 2023.[7] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Mr Jacob Frankel is also a trustee of The Bais Rochel Dsatmar Charitable Trust (281371), Nextgrant Limited (292305), Vyoel Moshe Charitable Trust (327054). Mr Moshe Kernkraut is also a trustee of Luzern Yeshiva Talmudical College (1201551). Mr Shalom Seidenfeld is also a trustee of United Talmudical Associates Ltd (291834), Palmcourt Limited (1070679), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Luzern Yeshiva Talmudical College (1201551).[1]
See also
- Mr Jacob Frankel
- The Bais Rochel Dsatmar Charitable Trust
- Nextgrant Limited
- Vyoel Moshe Charitable Trust
- Mr Moshe Kernkraut
- Luzern Yeshiva Talmudical College
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, FRIENDS OF YESHIVA LUZERN trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Friends of Yeshiva Luzern – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, FRIENDS OF YESHIVA LUZERN overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Friends of Yeshiva Luzern – register entry (4 September 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 September 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Friends of Yeshiva Luzern – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 UK Government Web Archive, Friends of Yeshiva Luzern – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, FRIENDS OF YESHIVA LUZERN financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Friends of Yeshiva Luzern – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 September 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.