Youth Space
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Youth Space
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 15 July 2010 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1136913 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Youth Space (Charity number: 1136913) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "Youth space advocates for young people with "risk factors" ensuring that they access a safe space, food provision, and realistic pathways which will lead them to break free from the intergenerational cycle of disadvantage".[2] For the financial year ending 31 October 2025 it reported income of £139,013 and expenditure of £147,892.[2]
- Charity registered: 15 July 2010 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 83 Geldeston Road, London, E5 8rs[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aharon Yehuda Finkelstin | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Judah Wider | Trustee | 4 February 2014 | Shaykel Esuh (charity number: 1128777) | Bnois Jerusalem Schools (charity number: 312568) |
| Chaim Mendel Weiss | Trustee | 25 April 2023 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Judah Wider | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Josef Katz | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 2 [4][6] |
| Aharon Yehuda Finkelstin | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Henia Warfman | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £34,829 | £34,815 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2013 | £55,770 | £50,965 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £55,945 | £60,755 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £59,958 | £59,545 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £79,190 | £72,186 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £88,980 | £95,304 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| March 2018 | £112,024 | £102,252 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 October 2021 | £125,034 | £165,826 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 29 June 2022 (due 31 August 2022) |
| 31 October 2022 | £141,494 | £153,365 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 28 July 2023 (due 31 August 2023) |
| 31 October 2023 | £119,321 | £125,469 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 2 August 2024 (due 31 August 2024) |
| 31 October 2024 | £268,651 | £249,742 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 July 2025 (due 31 August 2025) |
| 31 October 2025 | £139,013 | £147,892 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 30 August 2026 (due 31 August 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[8]
- Grants (360Giving): 17 grant(s) received totalling £212,476 (03 Jun 2010 – 13 Oct 2025); funders: The National Lottery Community Fund (9 grant(s), £99,988); Hackney Council (3 grant(s), £40,000); BBC Children in Need (1 grant(s), £30,000); Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (1 grant(s), £7,613); Henry Smith Foundation (1 grant(s), £1,000); Postcode Society Trust (1 grant(s), £25,000); The Childhood Trust (1 grant(s), £8,875).[9]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[7][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Judah Wider is also a trustee of Shaykel Esuh (1128777), Bnois Jerusalem Schools (312568).[1]
- Insolvency of TSP Youth Space company: A company named TSP Youth Space (company 08138120; nature of business "Youth Charity"; trading at 245 Wood Street, Walthamstow) faced an HMRC winding-up petition in September 2016[10] and went into creditors' voluntary liquidation on 18 May 2017.[11] The charity's register entry (registered name TSP Youth Space) does not record a company number, so the link is by name and description only.
See also
- Aharon Yehuda Finkelstin
- Judah Wider
- Shaykel Esuh
- Bnois Jerusalem Schools
- Chaim Mendel Weiss
- Josef Katz
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YOUTH SPACE trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Youth Space – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YOUTH SPACE overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 UK Government Web Archive, Youth Space – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Youth Space – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Government Web Archive, Youth Space – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YOUTH SPACE financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Youth Space – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 8 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, Youth Space 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ The London Gazette, Petitions to Wind Up (Companies): TSP Youth Space issue 61730, 12 October 2016, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ The London Gazette, Appointment of Liquidators: TSP Youth Space issue 61940, 26 May 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.