Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 30 May 2007 (incorporated); 3 September 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1120748; Company 06263604 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited (Charity number: 1120748; Company number 06263604) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The advancement of orthodox Jewish religious education generally and in particular but not exclusively to maintain administer and manage the Talmudic college known as Yeshivas Lev Simcha.and to support families of the community with food and emotional support etc".[3] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £938,633 and expenditure of £959,028.[3]
- Charity registered: 3 September 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 30 May 2007 (Active); SIC 85590 - Other education not elsewhere classified 96090 - Other service activities not elsewhere classified[2]
- Registered office address: 17 Margaret Road, London, N16 6UX[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yoseph Rigel | Trustee | 13 December 2011 | Shaarey Yosher (charity number: 1170234) |
| Jacob Goldman | Trustee | 13 December 2011 | Ichud Mosdos Gur Limited (charity number: 1096711) | Kupat Ezer Lenisuin Beth Yisroel (charity number: 1147263) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) | Gerer Shtiebel Synagogue (charity number: 1180593) | Reach Out Uk (charity number: 1144818) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Margulies | 6 May 2010 | 14 January 2012 | 2 [4][5] |
| David Stobiecki | 6 May 2010 | 6 May 2010 | 1 [4] |
| Abraham Gelkopf | 6 May 2010 | 6 May 2010 | 1 [4] |
| Jacob Goldman | 14 January 2012 | 2 January 2019 | 5 [5][6] |
| Yoseph Rigal | 14 January 2012 | 4 January 2014 | 2 [5][7] |
| Yoseph Rigel | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [8][6] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jacob Goldman | Role Active | Director | December 1961 | 64 | 16 November 2011 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Yoseph Rigel | Role Active | Director | December 1962 | 63 | 16 November 2011 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Joseph Margulies | Role Resigned | Secretary | 30 May 2007 | 1 August 2013 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Abraham Gelkopf | Role Resigned | Director | August 1967 | 59 | 30 May 2007 | 19 May 2011 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Joseph Margulies | Role Resigned | Director | December 1952 | 73 | 30 May 2007 | 1 August 2013 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| David Stobiecki | Role Resigned | Director | July 1964 | 62 | 30 May 2007 | 30 May 2010 | British | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[9]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoseph Rigal | Active | 6 April 2016 | December 1962 | 63 | British | England | Has significant influence or control | |
| Jacob Goldman | Active | 6 April 2016 | December 1961 | 64 | British | England | Has significant influence or control |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[10]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2012 | £347,799 | £298,620 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2013 | £321,014 | £306,090 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2014 | £308,545 | £324,729 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2015 | £336,564 | £334,405 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2016 | £386,610 | £369,785 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| August 2017 | £458,597 | £431,718 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| 31 August 2021 | £854,781 | £941,681 | £854,773 | £924,377 | £93,419 | £-30,600 | £13,606 | 34 | 0 | 26 May 2022 (due 30 June 2022) |
| 31 August 2022 | £873,857 | £846,168 | £832,310 | £815,828 | £43,026 | £-2,911 | £16,923 | 31 | 0 | 29 May 2023 (due 30 June 2023) |
| 31 August 2023 | £812,992 | £794,390 | £777,400 | £752,503 | £34,516 | £15,691 | £15,753 | 31 | 0 | 7 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £999,249 | £922,959 | £961,055 | £878,548 | £78,698 | £91,981 | £35,237 | 34 | 0 | 29 May 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £938,633 | £959,028 | £882,476 | £902,551 | £56,433 | £71,586 | £36,959 | 32 | 0 | 24 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[11] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[12]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 August 2025 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 24 Jun 2026); next accounts made up to 29 August 2026, due by 29 May 2027.[2][13]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 31 July 2026; next due by 14 August 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 August 2008; year ending 31 August 2009; year ending 31 August 2012; year ending 31 August 2013; year ending 31 August 2014; year ending 31 August 2015; year ending 31 August 2016; year ending 31 August 2017; year ending 31 August 2018.[14]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "During the year, the charity made donations totalling £14,750 to other charities where one of its trustees also serves as a trustee. Other than the above t here were no disclosable related party transactions during the year (2024 - none) ."[13]
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[11][12]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Yoseph Rigel is also a trustee of Shaarey Yosher (1170234). Jacob Goldman is also a trustee of Ichud Mosdos Gur Limited (1096711), Kupat Ezer Lenisuin Beth Yisroel (1147263), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987), Gerer Shtiebel Synagogue (1180593), Reach Out Uk (1144818).[1]
See also
- Yoseph Rigel
- Shaarey Yosher
- Jacob Goldman
- Ichud Mosdos Gur Limited
- Kupat Ezer Lenisuin Beth Yisroel
- The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – register entry (6 May 2010), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 May 2010, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – register entry (14 January 2012), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 14 January 2012, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – register entry (4 January 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 8.4 8.5 UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Companies House, YESHIVAS LEV SIMCHA LIMITED filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 August 2025, filed 24 Jun 2026, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Yeshivas Lev Simcha Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.