The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 9 December 1982 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 285662 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Governance
The Hampstead Garden Suburb Synagogue's governance is supported by The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement, a registered charity (number 285662) dedicated to advancing the Jewish religion with reference to HGSS's work.[1] The settlement has four trustees who receive no remuneration.[1] For the year ending 31 December 2024, it reported income of £27,741 and expenditure of £88,003.[1]
| Name | Role | Date of Appointment | Other Trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Jonathan Sonn | Chair | 1 June 2021 | None |
| Miriam Kingsley | Trustee | 12 June 2023 | The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR) |
| Nicola Sharon Jacobs | Trustee | 22 May 2019 | None |
| Michael David Goldstein | Trustee | Not specified | None |
[2] Overall charitable oversight for HGSS falls under the United Synagogue (charity number 242552).[3]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Norman Lew | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Bernard Higham Taub | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Michael David Goldstein | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Sarah Fromson | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2011 | £25,756 | £6,737 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2012 | £47,153 | £2,907 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2013 | £161,726 | £9,441 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2014 | £49,486 | £9,750 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2015 | £52,426 | £10,224 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2016 | £34,012 | £19,475 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| December 2017 | £17,929 | £11,418 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2021 | £14,206 | £90,404 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 18 September 2022; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £21,537 | £9,662 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 29 October 2023; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £72,684 | £31,929 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 9 October 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £27,741 | £88,003 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 29 October 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
| 31 December 2025 | £25,400 | £66,780 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 6 October 2026 (due 31 October 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[8]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2018.[9]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[7][8]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Miriam Kingsley is also a trustee of The Association Of Jewish Refugees (ajr) (1149882).[10]
Notes
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORRICE LEA CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT - Charity 285662 Charity Commission, accessed 12 February 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORRICE LEA CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT - Trustees Charity Commission, accessed 12 February 2026.
- ↑ Powerbase.info, United Synagogue Powerbase.info, 4 November 2025, accessed 12 February 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 UK Government Web Archive, The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 UK Government Web Archive, The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORRICE LEA CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORRICE LEA CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE NORRICE LEA CHARITABLE SETTLEMENT trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.