The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR)
Registered charity in England and Wales
The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR) (Charity number: 1149882; Company number 08220991) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "To provide support to Jewish Survivors of, and refugees from Holocaust era Nazi persecution. and their dependents who suffer from illness and frailty, to relieve their financial distress and provide grants to promote education about the Holocaust and related matters".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2025 it reported income of £8,635,851 and expenditure of £10,895,517.[3]
- Charity registered: 23 November 2012 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 19 September 2012 (Active); SIC 88100 - Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled[2]
- Registered office address: Winston House, Dollis Park, London, England, N3 1HF[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stephen Kon | Trustee | 11 February 2019 | None on record |
| Mark White | Trustee | 11 February 2019 | None on record |
| Danny Kalman | Trustee | 9 July 2020 | None on record |
| Miriam Kingsley | Trustee | 9 July 2020 | The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement (charity number: 285662) |
| Michael Karp | Trustee | 10 June 2021 | None on record |
| Joel Aaron Hockman | Trustee | 6 December 2023 | None on record |
| Joshua Benjamin Marks | Trustee | 6 December 2023 | None on record |
| Janet Lew | Trustee | 11 December 2024 | None on record |
| Anthony Hellman | Trustee | 11 December 2024 | None on record |
| James Selman | Trustee | 9 December 2025 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Andrew Charles Kaufman | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Frank Harding | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Joanna Frances Millan | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Anthony John Spiro | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| David Rothenberg | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Eleanor Angel | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Philippa Strauss | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Gabrrielle Glassman | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Erich Reich | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Graham Hellman | Role Active | Director | August 1958 | 68 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Joel Aaron Hockman | Role Active | Director | August 1986 | 40 | 6 December 2023 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Danny Kalman | Role Active | Director | December 1952 | 73 | 9 July 2020 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Michael Benjamin Karp | Role Active | Director | December 1958 | 67 | 10 June 2021 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Miriam Janet Kingsley | Role Active | Director | April 1965 | 61 | 9 July 2020 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Stephen Kon | Role Active | Director | September 1949 | 77 | 11 February 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Janet Lillian Lew | Role Active | Director | March 1962 | 64 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Joshua Benjamin Marks | Role Active | Director | September 1988 | 38 | 6 December 2023 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| James Andre Selman | Role Active | Director | October 1975 | 50 or 51 | 9 December 2025 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Mark Jonathan White | Role Active | Director | June 1960 | 66 | 11 February 2019 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Eleanor Sarah Angel | Role Resigned | Director | January 1952 | 74 | 1 January 2013 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Gabrielle Ruth Glassman | Role Resigned | Director | April 1950 | 76 | 1 January 2013 | 11 December 2024 | Dutch | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Frank Alexander Harding | Role Resigned | Director | September 1937 | 89 | 1 January 2013 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Andrew Charles Kaufman | Role Resigned | Director | April 1946 | 80 | 19 September 2012 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Joanna Frances Millan | Role Resigned | Director | August 1942 | 84 | 19 September 2012 | 5 December 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Erich Reich | Role Resigned | Director | April 1935 | 91 | 1 January 2013 | 5 December 2019 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Walter David Rothenberg | Role Resigned | Director | May 1940 | 86 | 1 January 2013 | 6 May 2020 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Anthony John Spiro | Role Resigned | Director | February 1947 | 79 | 19 September 2012 | 11 December 2024 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Philippa Jane Strauss | Role Resigned | Director | January 1958 | 68 | 1 January 2013 | 11 December 2024 | British | England | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 19 September 2016)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2013 | £12,035,423 | £3,196,397 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2014 | £3,650,835 | £3,985,397 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2015 | £2,546,084 | £3,512,972 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2016 | £3,036,583 | £3,857,600 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| December 2017 | £4,330,369 | £5,374,044 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2021 | £5,057,817 | £7,435,656 | £183,929 | £7,351,670 | £307,913 | £23,698,850 | £3,791,795 | 51 | 300 | 15 August 2022 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £8,509,901 | £9,004,972 | £1,966,227 | £8,939,276 | £277,163 | £20,947,454 | £3,225,736 | 51 | 300 | 1 August 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £8,456,726 | £9,826,553 | £1,418,168 | £9,764,311 | £300,372 | £19,371,221 | £1,820,244 | 50 | 250 | 31 July 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £8,279,358 | £10,223,680 | £835,700 | £10,152,152 | £304,004 | £18,126,888 | £3,656,732 | 48 | 250 | 22 September 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
| 31 December 2025 | £8,635,851 | £10,895,517 | £467,112 | £10,821,111 | £299,003 | £17,046,185 | £2,025,891 | 47 | 250 | 24 June 2026 (due 31 October 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[10] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2025; next accounts made up to 31 December 2026, due by 30 September 2027.[2]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 3 September 2026; next due by 17 September 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[11]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Part Of Third Floor, Winston House, 2 Dollis Park, London (N3 1HF) (title AGL376731, leasehold; registered proprietor THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) (08220991); proprietor registered 11-05-2016).[12]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Miriam Kingsley is also a trustee of The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement (285662).[1]
- Shared address and control: Mark Jonathan White, Stephen Kon give the same correspondence address (Winston House 3rd Floor, 2 Dollis Park, Finchley, London, United Kingdom, N3 1HF).[6]
See also
- Stephen Kon
- Mark White
- Danny Kalman
- Miriam Kingsley
- The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement
- Michael Karp
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Association of Jewish Refugees – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 5.9 UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
