The Gesher Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Gesher Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 17 September 2014 (incorporated); 12 February 2015 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1160465; Company 09223197 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
The Gesher Trust (Charity number: 1160465; Company number 09223197) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "Gesher is a unique independent all through school for children aged 4 to 16. We opened in September 2017 and provide a specialist learning environment for children with special educational needs. These include language, communication and social pragmatic difficulties and those associated with ADHD and specific learning difficulties. We have a specialism in autism spectrum challenges".[3] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £4,123,509 and expenditure of £3,432,832.[3]
- Charity registered: 12 February 2015 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 17 September 2014 (Active); SIC 85200 - Primary education 85310 - General secondary education[2]
- Registered office address: Gesher School, Cannon Lane, Pinner, England, HA5 1JF[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alison Luise Durban | Trustee | 8 September 2014 | None on record |
| Sarah Sultman | Trustee | 8 September 2014 | The Charles Kalms, Henry Ronson Immanuel College (charity number: 803179) |
| Michael Kutner | Trustee | 4 January 2018 | None on record |
| Howard Zetter | Trustee | 4 January 2018 | None on record |
| Lee Richard Joseph Portnoi | Trustee | 22 July 2020 | Haber Charitable Trust (charity number: 1122274) |
| Steven Michael Daniels | Trustee | 16 April 2024 | Jeremy Coller Foundation (charity number: 1163970) | Coller Family Foundation (charity number: 1158814) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alison Luise Durban | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Julian Curzon | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 2 [4][6] |
| Sarah Sultman | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Joseph Tager | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Howard Zetter | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
| Michael Kutner | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Michael David Kutner | Role Active | Secretary | 4 January 2018 | Not disclosed | |||||
| Steven Michael Daniels | Role Active | Director | December 1959 | 66 | 16 April 2024 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Alison Luise Durban | Role Active | Director | August 1973 | 53 | 17 September 2014 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Michael David Kutner | Role Active | Director | January 1949 | 77 | 4 January 2018 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Lee Richard Joseph Portnoi | Role Active | Director | October 1959 | 66 or 67 | 22 July 2020 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Sarah Lucy Sultman | Role Active | Director | July 1976 | 50 | 17 September 2014 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Howard Keith Zetter | Role Active | Director | October 1946 | 79 or 80 | 4 January 2018 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Julian Curzon | Role Resigned | Secretary | 1 September 2015 | 4 January 2018 | Not disclosed | ||||
| Julian Mark Curzon | Role Resigned | Director | September 1958 | 68 | 17 September 2014 | 9 April 2018 | English | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Joseph Peter Tager | Role Resigned | Director | October 1980 | 45 or 46 | 1 August 2017 | 30 October 2023 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[7]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 16 September 2016)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[8]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2015 | £7,491 | £4,182 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2016 | £227,115 | £25,944 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| August 2017 | £412,196 | £330,611 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 August 2021 | £3,489,501 | £2,022,476 | £2,091,306 | £1,927,261 | £0 | £2,321,335 | £1,935,985 | 29 | 0 | 5 May 2022 (due 30 June 2022) |
| 31 August 2022 | £2,822,555 | £2,719,218 | £1,138,445 | £2,700,803 | £0 | £2,424,672 | £1,373,674 | 49 | 41 | 20 June 2023 (due 30 June 2023) |
| 31 August 2023 | £4,743,393 | £4,626,860 | £2,764,618 | £4,559,140 | £0 | £2,541,205 | £798,791 | 47 | 37 | 28 May 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £4,253,993 | £3,351,425 | £1,601,083 | £3,278,323 | £0 | £3,443,773 | £1,598,157 | 53 | 28 | 17 June 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £4,123,509 | £3,432,832 | £959,657 | £3,223,250 | £0 | £4,134,450 | £2,326,666 | 60 | 7 | 29 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 August 2025 (Micro company accounts, filed 03 Jun 2016); next accounts made up to 31 August 2026, due by 31 May 2027.[2][11]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 16 September 2026; next due by 30 September 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 30 September 2016; year ending 31 August 2017; year ending 31 August 2018.[12]
- Grants (360Giving): 4 grant(s) received totalling £182,667 (25 Jun 2020 – 11 Mar 2022); funders: BBC Children in Need (1 grant(s), £47,000); Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (1 grant(s), £15,667); Garfield Weston Foundation (1 grant(s), £100,000); Joseph Levy Foundation (1 grant(s), £20,000).[13]
- Registered charges (Companies House): 15 February 2023, Caf Bank Limited: "The following properties are subject to the charge:. 1. the property known as land at stirling avenue, pinner registered at the land registry. Under title number NGL869690; and. 2. the property known as the moriah jewish day school, cannon lane, pinner HA5 1JF registered at the land registry under t" (Outstanding); 15 February 2023, Caf Bank Limited: "The following properties are subject to the charge:. 1. the freehold land known as land at stirling avenue, pinner registered at the land registry under title number NGL869690; and. 2. the freehold land known as the moriah jewish day school, cannon lane, pinner HA5 1JF registered at the land registr" (Outstanding); 15 February 2023, Steven Daniels: "There is a legal mortgage over the following properties:. 1. the freehold land described as, moriah jewish day, school, cannon lane, pinner, (HA5 1JF) registered with the land registry under title number NGL761575; and. 2. the freehold land described as, land at stirling avenue, pinner, registered w" (Satisfied).[14]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 2 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Gesher School, Cannon Lane, Pinner (HA5 1JF) (title NGL761575, freehold; registered proprietor THE GESHER TRUST (09223197); proprietor registered 24-02-2023, price paid £4,000,000); Land at Stirling Avenue, Pinner (title NGL869690, freehold; registered proprietor THE GESHER TRUST (09223197); proprietor registered 24-02-2023).[15]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
- Companies House notices: 23 Jan 2016: Compulsory strike-off action has been discontinued (DISS40); 08 Dec 2015: First Gazette notice for compulsory strike-off (GAZ1).[16]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Sarah Sultman is also a trustee of The Charles Kalms, Henry Ronson Immanuel College (803179). Lee Richard Joseph Portnoi is also a trustee of Haber Charitable Trust (1122274). Steven Michael Daniels is also a trustee of Jeremy Coller Foundation (1163970), Coller Family Foundation (1158814).[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Joseph Peter Tager is also connected with Solev Co Limited (254623), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17].
See also
- Alison Luise Durban
- Sarah Sultman
- The Charles Kalms, Henry Ronson Immanuel College
- Michael Kutner
- Howard Zetter
- Lee Richard Joseph Portnoi
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE GESHER TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE GESHER TRUST overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Gesher Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, The Gesher Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 UK Government Web Archive, The Gesher Trust – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Gesher Trust – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE GESHER TRUST officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE GESHER TRUST persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE GESHER TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE GESHER TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE GESHER TRUST filing history – Micro company accounts made up to 30 September 2015, filed 03 Jun 2016, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Gesher Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 360Giving GrantNav, The Gesher Trust 360Giving, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, 09223197 charges Companies House, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE GESHER TRUST filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, TAGER, Joseph Peter appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.