The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR)

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Registered charity in England and Wales

The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR)

Logo The Association of Jewish Refugees logo.png
Type Registered charity and company limited by guarantee
Founded 19 September 2012 (incorporated); 23 November 2012 (registered as a charity)
Registration ID Charity 1149882; Company 08220991
Status Registered
Location London, England
Registration Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House

The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR) (Charity number: 1149882; Company number 08220991) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "To provide support to Jewish Survivors of, and refugees from Holocaust era Nazi persecution. and their dependents who suffer from illness and frailty, to relieve their financial distress and provide grants to promote education about the Holocaust and related matters".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2025 it reported income of £8,635,851 and expenditure of £10,895,517.[3]

  • Charity registered: 23 November 2012 (Registered)[1]
  • Company incorporated: 19 September 2012 (Active); SIC 88100 - Social work activities without accommodation for the elderly and disabled[2]
  • Registered office address: Winston House, Dollis Park, London, England, N3 1HF[2]

People

Trustees

Name Role Date of appointment Other trusteeships
Stephen Kon Trustee 11 February 2019 None on record
Mark White Trustee 11 February 2019 None on record
Danny Kalman Trustee 9 July 2020 None on record
Miriam Kingsley Trustee 9 July 2020 The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement (charity number: 285662)
Michael Karp Trustee 10 June 2021 None on record
Joel Aaron Hockman Trustee 6 December 2023 None on record
Joshua Benjamin Marks Trustee 6 December 2023 None on record
Janet Lew Trustee 11 December 2024 None on record
Anthony Hellman Trustee 11 December 2024 None on record
James Selman Trustee 9 December 2025 None on record

Source: Charity Commission register.[1]

Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Andrew Charles Kaufman 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Frank Harding 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Joanna Frances Millan 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Anthony John Spiro 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
David Rothenberg 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Eleanor Angel 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Philippa Strauss 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Gabrrielle Glassman 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]
Erich Reich 26 July 2017 2 January 2019 3 [4][5]

Directors

Name Role Position Date of birth Age Appointed on Resigned on Nationality Country of residence Occupation
Anthony Graham Hellman Role Active Director August 1958 68 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed
Joel Aaron Hockman Role Active Director August 1986 40 6 December 2023 British England Not disclosed
Danny Kalman Role Active Director December 1952 73 9 July 2020 British England Not disclosed
Michael Benjamin Karp Role Active Director December 1958 67 10 June 2021 British England Not disclosed
Miriam Janet Kingsley Role Active Director April 1965 61 9 July 2020 British England Not disclosed
Stephen Kon Role Active Director September 1949 77 11 February 2019 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Janet Lillian Lew Role Active Director March 1962 64 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed
Joshua Benjamin Marks Role Active Director September 1988 38 6 December 2023 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
James Andre Selman Role Active Director October 1975 50 or 51 9 December 2025 British England Not disclosed
Mark Jonathan White Role Active Director June 1960 66 11 February 2019 British England Not disclosed
Eleanor Sarah Angel Role Resigned Director January 1952 74 1 January 2013 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed
Gabrielle Ruth Glassman Role Resigned Director April 1950 76 1 January 2013 11 December 2024 Dutch United Kingdom Not disclosed
Frank Alexander Harding Role Resigned Director September 1937 89 1 January 2013 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed
Andrew Charles Kaufman Role Resigned Director April 1946 80 19 September 2012 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed
Joanna Frances Millan Role Resigned Director August 1942 84 19 September 2012 5 December 2019 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Erich Reich Role Resigned Director April 1935 91 1 January 2013 5 December 2019 British England Not disclosed
Walter David Rothenberg Role Resigned Director May 1940 86 1 January 2013 6 May 2020 British England Not disclosed
Anthony John Spiro Role Resigned Director February 1947 79 19 September 2012 11 December 2024 British United Kingdom Not disclosed
Philippa Jane Strauss Role Resigned Director January 1958 68 1 January 2013 11 December 2024 British England Not disclosed

Source: Companies House officers register.[6]

Persons with significant control

  • PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 19 September 2016)

Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
December 2013 £12,035,423 £3,196,397 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[4]
December 2014 £3,650,835 £3,985,397 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[4]
December 2015 £2,546,084 £3,512,972 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[4]
December 2016 £3,036,583 £3,857,600 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[8]
December 2017 £4,330,369 £5,374,044 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[5]
31 December 2021 £5,057,817 £7,435,656 £183,929 £7,351,670 £307,913 £23,698,850 £3,791,795 51 300 15 August 2022 (due 31 October 2022)
31 December 2022 £8,509,901 £9,004,972 £1,966,227 £8,939,276 £277,163 £20,947,454 £3,225,736 51 300 1 August 2023 (due 31 October 2023)
31 December 2023 £8,456,726 £9,826,553 £1,418,168 £9,764,311 £300,372 £19,371,221 £1,820,244 50 250 31 July 2024 (due 31 October 2024)
31 December 2024 £8,279,358 £10,223,680 £835,700 £10,152,152 £304,004 £18,126,888 £3,656,732 48 250 22 September 2025 (due 31 October 2025)
31 December 2025 £8,635,851 £10,895,517 £467,112 £10,821,111 £299,003 £17,046,185 £2,025,891 47 250 24 June 2026 (due 31 October 2026)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[10] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]

  • Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2025; next accounts made up to 31 December 2026, due by 30 September 2027.[2]
  • Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 3 September 2026; next due by 17 September 2027.[2]
  • Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[11]
  • Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 1 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Part Of Third Floor, Winston House, 2 Dollis Park, London (N3 1HF) (title AGL376731, leasehold; registered proprietor THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) (08220991); proprietor registered 11-05-2016).[12]

Controversies and conflicts

  • Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][10]
  • Overlapping trusteeships: Miriam Kingsley is also a trustee of The Norrice Lea Charitable Settlement (285662).[1]
  • Shared address and control: Mark Jonathan White, Stephen Kon give the same correspondence address (Winston House 3rd Floor, 2 Dollis Park, Finchley, London, United Kingdom, N3 1HF).[6]

See also

External links

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  3. ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Association of Jewish Refugees – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 5.9 UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  7. ↑ Companies House, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
  8. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
  9. ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  10. ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ASSOCIATION OF JEWISH REFUGEES (AJR) overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  11. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Association of Jewish Refugees – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
  12. ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.