South Hampstead Charitable Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| South Hampstead Charitable Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 24 January 1996 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1052186 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
South Hampstead Charitable Trust (Charity number: 1052186) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "To establish and maintain a synagogue or synagogues and related community facilities; to advance the education of the public in the Jewish religious and the many facets of the Jewish culture in particular but not exclusively by the provision of lectures and seminars of Jewish history, the Jewish religion, Jewish Philosophy and the Hebrew language ? both modern and biblical".[2] For the financial year ending 31 December 2025 it reported income of £933,684 and expenditure of £763,914.[2]
- Charity registered: 24 January 1996 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: Melinek Fine Llp, Winston House, 349 Regents Park Road, London, N3 1dh[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| John Bryan Austin | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Richard Ian Loftus | Trustee | Not disclosed | Loftus Charitable Trust (charity number: 297664) | Cambridge University Jewish Student Centre Cio (charity number: 1197555) |
| Leon Blitz | Trustee | 20 March 2014 | None on record |
| Danny Kay | Trustee | 18 January 2017 | None on record |
| Stephen Howard John Pack | Trustee | 20 January 2017 | The Work Avenue Foundation (charity number: 1164762) | Ajex Charitable Foundation (charity number: 1082148) | Ajex - The Jewish Military Association (charity number: 1129591) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| John Bryan Austin | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Richard Ian Loftus | 25 January 2009 | 2 January 2019 | 7 [4][5] |
| Alan Lawrence Lee | 25 January 2009 | 20 January 2011 | 3 [4][6] |
| Maurice Ostro | 25 January 2009 | 20 January 2011 | 3 [4][6] |
| Stephen Pack | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [7][5] |
| Leon Blitz | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [7][5] |
| Danny Kay | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 4 [7][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2011 | £1,117 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| December 2012 | £0 | £0 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| December 2013 | £317,755 | £290,101 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| December 2014 | £111,876 | £166,062 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| December 2015 | £813,615 | £623,203 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| December 2016 | £2,474,843 | £1,401,227 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| December 2017 | £7,196,934 | £8,439,628 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2021 | £235,480 | £233,680 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 21 July 2022 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £105,690 | £51,301 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 31 October 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £1,800 | £6,008 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Annual return received 26 October 2024; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £341,372 | £15,111 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 29 October 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
| 31 December 2025 | £933,684 | £763,914 | £933,684 | £763,914 | £734,437 | £685,803 | £610,810 | 0 | 0 | 3 August 2026 (due 31 October 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[10]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[9][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Richard Ian Loftus is also a trustee of Loftus Charitable Trust (297664), Cambridge University Jewish Student Centre Cio (1197555). Stephen Howard John Pack is also a trustee of The Work Avenue Foundation (1164762), Ajex Charitable Foundation (1082148), Ajex - The Jewish Military Association (1129591).[1]
See also
- John Bryan Austin
- Richard Ian Loftus
- Loftus Charitable Trust
- Cambridge University Jewish Student Centre Cio
- Leon Blitz
- Danny Kay
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SOUTH HAMPSTEAD CHARITABLE TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SOUTH HAMPSTEAD CHARITABLE TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – register entry (25 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 25 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – register entry (20 January 2011), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 20 January 2011, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 7.5 7.6 7.7 UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, SOUTH HAMPSTEAD CHARITABLE TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, South Hampstead Charitable Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.