Man U Jew

From Powerbase
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Removed Manchester Orthodox Jewish education charity; Charity Commission class inquiry 2016

Man U Jew

Type Unincorporated charitable trust (removed)
Founded Trust deed 18 December 2006; registered 2 February 2007
Dissolved Removed from the register 28 August 2020 (ceased to exist)
Location Manchester and surrounding area


Man U Jew (registered name MAN-U-JEW; charity number 1117800) was an unincorporated charitable trust in Manchester. It was governed by a trust deed dated 18 December 2006 and registered with the Charity Commission on 2 February 2007. Objects: “(i) the advancement of the Orthodox Jewish faith; (ii) the advancement of the Orthodox religious education.” Trustees could apply income and capital, including gifts or loans with or without interest, to persons “in any part of the world” who qualified as objects under English law. Area of benefit: Manchester and surrounding area. In practice the Commission said it provided Orthodox religious education to students in Manchester.[1][2]

It is not the Manchester United Jewish Supporters Club (MUJSC), an official club fan branch launched in 2025.

Registration history

  • 2 February 2007 — registered
  • 9 May 2010 — removed (“does not operate”)
  • 21 May 2010 — registered again
  • 11 July 2011 — removed (“does not operate”)
  • 27 July 2011 — re-registered
  • 28 August 2020 — removed (“ceased to exist”)[1]

Income on the last published years included £20,700 (2014), £49,200 (2015), £7,200 (2016), £6,000 (2017) and £0 (2018).[1]

Charity Commission class inquiry

On 20 September 2013 the Commission opened a statutory class inquiry into “double defaulter” charities that had failed to file annual documents for two or more of the previous five years, after a final warning, and whose last known income was at least £150,000.[2]

Man U Jew had not filed accounts, reports and returns for the years ending 31 December 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. After computer reminders, a telephone call and a final warning on 7 December 2015 (deadline 11 February 2016), it entered the class inquiry on 12 February 2016. Most outstanding papers arrived in April–June 2016; the last in August 2016. A representative blamed a misunderstanding with the accountants. Commission accountants scrutinised the late accounts and raised no issues. Five sets of accounts brought £344,396 of income onto the public register. The 2015 year was then filed before the 25 October 2016 deadline.[2]

The Commission held the five-year default to be mismanagement and misconduct and a breach of legal duty. Under section 84 of the Charities Act 2011 it directed the trustees to review procedures and report the changes. Failure to file when required is a criminal offence as well as misconduct. The charity left the inquiry when the report was published on 9 November 2016.[2]

People

Trustees

None listed. Source: Charity Commission register.[3]



Historic trustees

Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).

Name First seen Last seen Snapshots listing name
Dayan Yisroel Lichtenstein 22 January 2009 22 January 2009 1 [4]
Lyndon Wagman 22 January 2009 2 January 2019 4 [4][5]
Steven Fruhman 22 January 2009 2 January 2019 4 [4][5]

Finances

Financial year end Total income Total expenditure Income from donations and legacies Expenditure on charitable activities Grants to institutions Total funds (assets less liabilities) Cash Employees Volunteers Accounts received
December 2011 £87,221 £51,228 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2012 £26,700 £40,850 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2013 £15,679 £35,821 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2014 £20,700 £35,748 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
December 2015 £49,200 £34,339 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Archived register entry[6]
31 December 2016 £7,200 £31,091 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 30 October 2017; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2017)
31 December 2017 £6,000 £24,344 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 25 October 2018; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2018)
31 December 2018 £0 £0 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Annual return received 18 November 2019; no accounts on record (due 31 October 2019)
31 December 2019 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not received (due 31 October 2020)
31 December 2020 Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not disclosed Not received (due 31 October 2021)

Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[7] Trustee payments: "No information available"[8]

See also

External links

Notes

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 Charity Commission, MAN-U-JEW charity 1117800, accessed 9 September 2026.
  2. ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Charity Commission, Inquiry Report: Man U Jew (registered charity number 1117800), published 9 November 2016.
  3. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAN-U-JEW trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  4. ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, Man U Jew – register entry (22 January 2009), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 22 January 2009, accessed 14 October 2026.
  5. ↑ 5.0 5.1 UK Government Web Archive, Man U Jew – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 UK Government Web Archive, Man U Jew – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
  7. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAN-U-JEW financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
  8. ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, MAN-U-JEW overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
  9. ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Man U Jew – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 6 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.