Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 10 January 2001 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1084438 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina (Charity number: 1084438) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "1. THE ADVANCEMENT OF ORTHODOX JEWISH RELIGIOUS EDUCATION; 2. THE ADVANCEMENT OF THE ORTHODOX JEWISH RELIGION, AND 3. THE RELIEF OF POVERTY, OLD AGE, SICKNESS OR DISABILITY AMONGST JEWISH PERSONS".[2] For the financial year ending 7 July 2025 it reported income of £31,704 and expenditure of £43,630.[2]
- Charity registered: 10 January 2001 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 21 Fountayne Road, London, N16 7ea[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Manuel Ekstein | Trustee | Not disclosed | Noam Hatorah (london) (charity number: 1135400) | Bnois Jerusalem Schools (charity number: 312568) |
| Isaac Sofer | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Mayer Zafir | Trustee | Not disclosed | Kollel Torah Ve Yirah Limited (charity number: 1125997) | Yetev Lev London Jerusalem Trust (charity number: 1118504) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Manuel Ekstien | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Meyer Zafir | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Isaac Sofer | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £29,339 | £32,165 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2013 | £32,144 | £17,008 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £23,431 | £29,325 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £30,707 | £34,076 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £46,900 | £37,854 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £28,291 | £33,644 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £11,220 | £37,421 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | Annual return received 30 January 2022; no accounts on record (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £30,749 | £35,506 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 31 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £33,325 | £32,182 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 1 February 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 7 July 2024 | £58,053 | £51,286 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 7 May 2025 (due 7 May 2025) |
| 7 July 2025 | £31,704 | £43,630 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 2 | 7 May 2026 (due 7 May 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018.[7]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2023 were received on 1 February 2024, after the due date of 31 January 2024.[6] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Manuel Ekstein is also a trustee of Noam Hatorah (london) (1135400), Bnois Jerusalem Schools (312568). Mayer Zafir is also a trustee of Kollel Torah Ve Yirah Limited (1125997), Yetev Lev London Jerusalem Trust (1118504).[1]
See also
- Manuel Ekstein
- Noam Hatorah (london)
- Bnois Jerusalem Schools
- Isaac Sofer
- Mayer Zafir
- Kollel Torah Ve Yirah Limited
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, COMUNIDAD ISRAELITA ORTODOXA OF ARGENTINA trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, COMUNIDAD ISRAELITA ORTODOXA OF ARGENTINA overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, COMUNIDAD ISRAELITA ORTODOXA OF ARGENTINA financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Comunidad Israelita Ortodoxa of Argentina – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.