Difference between revisions of "Genesis Philanthropy Group"
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
(Created page with "==See also== *Serious concerns over use of £22 million triggers investigation by charity regulator *Regulator opens next phase of investigation into 105 charities conne...") |
(Add register data (trustees/finances/refs) from Jewish Charity Bot) |
||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
| + | {{short description|Registered charity in England and Wales}} | ||
| + | {{Infobox organization | ||
| + | |name=Genesis Philanthropy Group | ||
| + | |type=Registered charity | ||
| + | |founded=14 November 2018 (registered as a charity) | ||
| + | |registration=Charity Commission for England and Wales | ||
| + | |registration_id=Charity 1180696 | ||
| + | |status=Removed | ||
| + | }} | ||
| + | ==People== | ||
| + | ===Trustees=== | ||
| + | None listed. | ||
| + | Source: Charity Commission register.<ref name="CCTrustees">Charity Commission for England and Wales, [https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/en/charity-search/-/charity-details/5119517/trustees GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP trustees] ''Charity Commission for England and Wales'', accessed 13 October 2026.</ref> | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | ===Historic trustees=== | ||
| + | Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates). | ||
| + | {| class="wikitable" | ||
| + | ! Name !! First seen !! Last seen !! Snapshots listing name | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | [[Gennady Gazin (trustee, Genesis Philanthropy Group)|Gennady Gazin]] || 3 January 2019 || 3 January 2019 || 1 <ref name="ARC1180696_1">UK Government Web Archive, [https://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/ukgwa/20190103024915/http://beta.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-details/?regid=1180696&subid=0 Genesis Philanthropy Group – register entry (3 January 2019)], archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.</ref> | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | [[German Khan]] || 3 January 2019 || 3 January 2019 || 1 <ref name="ARC1180696_1" /> | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | [[Mikhail Fridman]] || 3 January 2019 || 3 January 2019 || 1 <ref name="ARC1180696_1" /> | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | [[Petr Olegovich Aven (trustee, Genesis Philanthropy Group)|Petr Olegovich Aven]] || 3 January 2019 || 3 January 2019 || 1 <ref name="ARC1180696_1" /> | ||
| + | |} | ||
| + | |||
| + | ==Finances== | ||
| + | {| class="wikitable" | ||
| + | ! Financial year end !! Total income !! Total expenditure !! Income from donations and legacies !! Expenditure on charitable activities !! Grants to institutions !! Total funds (assets less liabilities) !! Cash !! Employees !! Volunteers !! Accounts received | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | 30 June 2020 || £899,400 || £877,534 || £896,296 || £877,534 || £831,313 || £72,559 || £1,016,959 || 0 || 0 || 23 April 2021 (due 30 April 2021) | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | 30 June 2021 || £821,590 || £514,680 || £821,590 || £514,680 || £417,595 || £373,420 || £1,363,323 || 0 || 0 || 28 April 2023 (due 30 April 2022) | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | 30 June 2022 || £1,546,967 || £646,385 || £1,546,967 || £646,385 || £510,083 || £2,593,546 || £3,356,849 || 0 || 0 || 25 April 2024 (due 30 April 2023) | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | 30 June 2023 || £0 || £863,505 || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || 0 || 21 October 2024 (due 30 April 2024) | ||
| + | |- | ||
| + | | 31 December 2024 || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not disclosed || Not received (due 31 October 2025) | ||
| + | |} | ||
| + | Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.<ref name="CCFin">Charity Commission for England and Wales, [https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/en/charity-search/-/charity-details/5119517/financial-history GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP financial history] ''Charity Commission for England and Wales'', accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.</ref> Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."<ref name="CCOverview">Charity Commission for England and Wales, [https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/en/charity-search/-/charity-details/5119517 GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP overview] ''Charity Commission for England and Wales'', accessed 13 October 2026.</ref> | ||
| + | *Archived accounts: [https://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/ukgwa/20200704040129/http://apps.charitycommission.gov.uk/Accounts/Ends96/0001180696_AC_20190630_E_C.PDF year ending 30 June 2019].<ref name="ARC1180696_2">UK Government Web Archive, [https://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/ukgwa/20200704040129/http://apps.charitycommission.gov.uk/Accounts/Ends96/0001180696_AC_20190630_E_C.PDF Genesis Philanthropy Group – archived accounts], archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 July 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.</ref> | ||
| + | |||
| + | ==Controversies and conflicts== | ||
| + | *'''Removed charity:''' The charity was removed from the register on 4 September 2025.<ref name="CCOverview" /> | ||
| + | *'''Filing compliance:''' The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2021 were received on 28 April 2023, after the due date of 30 April 2022; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2022 were received on 25 April 2024, after the due date of 30 April 2023; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2023 were received on 21 October 2024, after the due date of 30 April 2024; no annual return or accounts are recorded as received for the year ending 31 December 2024 (due 31 October 2025).<ref name="CCFin" /> | ||
| + | |||
==See also== | ==See also== | ||
*[[Serious concerns over use of £22 million triggers investigation by charity regulator]] | *[[Serious concerns over use of £22 million triggers investigation by charity regulator]] | ||
| Line 7: | Line 59: | ||
==Notes== | ==Notes== | ||
[[category:Charity Commission investigation]] | [[category:Charity Commission investigation]] | ||
| + | |||
| + | ==Notes== | ||
| + | <references/> | ||
| + | [[Category:Charities]] | ||
| + | [[Category:Jewish charities in the United Kingdom]] | ||
Latest revision as of 10:11, 17 October 2026
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Genesis Philanthropy Group
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 14 November 2018 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1180696 |
| Status | Removed |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
People
Trustees
None listed. Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gennady Gazin | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [2] |
| German Khan | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [2] |
| Mikhail Fridman | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [2] |
| Petr Olegovich Aven | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [2] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2020 | £899,400 | £877,534 | £896,296 | £877,534 | £831,313 | £72,559 | £1,016,959 | 0 | 0 | 23 April 2021 (due 30 April 2021) |
| 30 June 2021 | £821,590 | £514,680 | £821,590 | £514,680 | £417,595 | £373,420 | £1,363,323 | 0 | 0 | 28 April 2023 (due 30 April 2022) |
| 30 June 2022 | £1,546,967 | £646,385 | £1,546,967 | £646,385 | £510,083 | £2,593,546 | £3,356,849 | 0 | 0 | 25 April 2024 (due 30 April 2023) |
| 30 June 2023 | £0 | £863,505 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 21 October 2024 (due 30 April 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not received (due 31 October 2025) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[4]
- Archived accounts: year ending 30 June 2019.[5]
Controversies and conflicts
- Removed charity: The charity was removed from the register on 4 September 2025.[4]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2021 were received on 28 April 2023, after the due date of 30 April 2022; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2022 were received on 25 April 2024, after the due date of 30 April 2023; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 30 June 2023 were received on 21 October 2024, after the due date of 30 April 2024; no annual return or accounts are recorded as received for the year ending 31 December 2024 (due 31 October 2025).[3]
See also
- Serious concerns over use of £22 million triggers investigation by charity regulator
- Regulator opens next phase of investigation into 105 charities connected to company cashing cheques
- Regulator announces next charities to be investigated as part of inquiry connected to company cashing cheques
- British Jewish or Zionist charities investigated by the Charity Commission, 2005-2023
- British Jewish charities investigated by the Charity Commission
Notes
Notes
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 UK Government Web Archive, Genesis Philanthropy Group – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, GENESIS PHILANTHROPY GROUP overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Genesis Philanthropy Group – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 July 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.