Totteridge Manor Association Limited
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Totteridge Manor Association Limited
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 24 November 1955 (incorporated); 2 October 1963 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 221200; Company 00557715 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
Totteridge Manor Association Limited (Charity number: 221200; Company number 00557715) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "Maintenance and preservation of common lands formerly held by the Lord of the Manor of Totteridge and the rural amenities attaching there to for the benefit of the residents of Totteridge and neighbouring districts and visitors".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2025 it reported income of £186,276 and expenditure of £175,487.[3]
- Charity registered: 2 October 1963 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 24 November 1955 (Active); SIC 99000 - Activities of extraterritorial organisations and bodies[2]
- Registered office address: The Lodge, 79 Northumberland Road, New Barnet, Herts, EN5 1EB[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mr Terry Bannister | Chair | Not disclosed | The Darlands Conservation Trust (charity number: 1176457) |
| Raymond Charles Ellis | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Colin Douglas Luke | Trustee | Not disclosed | The Rotary Club Of Barnet Charity Trust Fund (charity number: 1049470) |
| Keith Richards | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Andrea Horsfield | Trustee | 20 January 2020 | None on record |
| Richard Cornelius | Trustee | 21 July 2022 | None on record |
| Andrew Harris | Trustee | 21 July 2022 | Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (charity number: 1137199) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ian Colquhoun Marris | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Keith Richards | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Tim Roberts | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Colin Douglas Luke | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Eberhard Gustav Wolf Von Wick | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Raymond Charles Ellis | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Sheila Ross Spensley | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Terry Bannister | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colin Douglas Luke | Role Active | Secretary | 22 October 2007 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| Terrence Keith Bannister | Role Active | Director | March 1946 | 80 | 12 May 2008 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Richard Alan Cornelius | Role Active | Director | July 1955 | 71 | 21 July 2022 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Raymond Charles Ellis | Role Active | Director | August 1947 | 79 | 11 January 2005 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Andrew Barry Harris | Role Active | Director | November 1967 | 58 | 21 July 2022 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Andrea Horsfield | Role Active | Director | October 1974 | 51 or 52 | 19 October 2020 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Colin Douglas Luke | Role Active | Director | April 1952 | 74 | 7 May 2013 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Keith Richards | Role Active | Director | January 1945 | 81 | 25 February 2004 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Mairead Elizabeth Flaherty | Role Resigned | Secretary | 30 June 2007 | 22 October 2007 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Mairead Elizabeth Flaherty | Role Resigned | Secretary | 24 February 2004 | 11 January 2005 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Anne Elizabeth Leffman | Role Resigned | Secretary Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 5 October 2004 | British | Not disclosed | ||||
| Gillian Young | Role Resigned | Secretary | 5 October 2004 | 30 June 2007 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Bowker Roy Andrews | Role Resigned | Director | September 1954 | 72 | 5 October 2004 | 20 July 2009 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Adrian Maurice Wolf Davis | Role Resigned | Director | April 1933 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 93 | 21 March 2005 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Robert Michael Pennick Davis | Role Resigned | Director | July 1942 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 84 | 20 February 2001 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Kevin David Edson | Role Resigned | Director | October 1956 | 69 or 70 | 30 September 2002 | 18 January 2006 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Raymond Charles Ellis | Role Resigned | Director | August 1947 | 79 | 11 February 1993 | 15 July 2002 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Mairead Elizabeth Flaherty | Role Resigned | Director | November 1961 | 64 | 24 February 2004 | 29 June 2009 | British | Not disclosed | |
| Thomas Hilary Howells | Role Resigned | Director | January 1930 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 96 | 8 July 2010 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Anthony John Jewell | Role Resigned | Director | May 1937 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 89 | 24 February 2004 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Anne Elizabeth Leffman | Role Resigned | Director | May 1930 | 96 | 3 October 2005 | 9 April 2008 | British | Not disclosed | |
| John Raphael Leffman | Role Resigned | Director | June 1927 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 99 | 14 April 1997 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Joan Levinson | Role Resigned | Director | March 1930 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 96 | 31 December 1994 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Victor Lyon | Role Resigned | Director | May 1930 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 96 | 31 December 1994 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Christine Constance Marris | Role Resigned | Director | April 1958 | 68 | 1 April 2001 | 1 October 2003 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Ian Colquhoun Marris | Role Resigned | Director | September 1938 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 88 | 11 April 2021 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| George Purves McNaught | Role Resigned | Director | August 1944 | 82 | 1 April 1994 | 11 January 2005 | British | Not disclosed | |
| Barbara Lynn Meadows | Role Resigned | Director | October 1942 | 83 or 84 | 1 October 2003 | 29 June 2009 | British | Not disclosed | |
| Mark Andrew Pears | Role Resigned | Director | November 1962 | 63 | 1 April 2001 | 5 October 2004 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Violetta Marcherita Pepperell | Role Resigned | Director | June 1919 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 107 | 20 February 1992 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Leslie William Pollard | Role Resigned | Director | October 1923 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 102 or 103 | 14 April 1997 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Timothy John Knight Roberts | Role Resigned | Director | October 1944 | 81 or 82 | 24 May 2010 | 24 July 2026 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| David Malcolm Rodwell | Role Resigned | Director | March 1955 | 71 | 12 July 1997 | 11 January 2005 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Margaret Helen Silver | Role Resigned | Director | March 1938 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 88 | 8 July 2010 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Sheila Ross Spensley | Role Resigned | Director | December 1931 | 94 | 22 October 2007 | 28 April 2026 | British | United Kingdom Identity verification due 18 May 2026 1 2 Next page | Not disclosed |
| John Boothman Stuttard | Role Resigned | Director | February 1945 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 81 | 28 July 2005 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Roy Sugarbread | Role Resigned | Director | June 1947 | 79 | 9 May 2002 | 14 May 2003 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Anthony Tight | Role Resigned | Director | November 1932 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 93 | 1 October 1992 | British | Not disclosed | ||
| Eberhard G'Ustav Wolf Von Wick | Role Resigned | Director | January 1944 | 82 | 22 October 2007 | 12 July 2018 | German | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| David Henry Weber | Role Resigned | Director | August 1953 | 73 | 13 January 2003 | 12 May 2008 | British | Not disclosed | |
| John Vincent Patrick Weston-Lewis | Role Resigned | Director | May 1923 Appointed before 7 May 1991 | 103 | 10 May 1999 | British Previous page 1 2 | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
- PSC statement: The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company (notified 4 May 2017)
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2012 | £208,148 | £84,193 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2013 | £148,754 | £93,247 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2014 | £190,467 | £175,520 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2015 | £157,141 | £152,147 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2016 | £161,119 | £122,184 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2017 | £328,297 | £130,786 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2021 | £137,264 | £127,430 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 15 August 2022 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £164,815 | £126,633 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 18 July 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £151,033 | £162,354 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 23 July 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £159,751 | £164,404 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 22 September 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
| 31 December 2025 | £186,276 | £175,487 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 27 July 2026 (due 31 October 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[8] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[9]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2025; next accounts made up to 31 December 2026, due by 30 September 2027.[2]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 4 May 2026; next due by 18 May 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[10]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 4 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Land adjoining St Andrew's C of E Primary School, Totteridge Village, London (N20 8NX) (title AGL246515, freehold; registered proprietor TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00557715); proprietor registered 20-12-2011); land at Totteridge Common, Barnet (title AGL332364, freehold; registered proprietor TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00557715); proprietor registered 15-01-2015); Totteridge Green, Totteridge Village, London (title AGL333303, freehold; registered proprietor TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED (00557715); proprietor registered 23-01-2015); land lying to the North of Totteridge Village (title NGL313330, freehold; registered proprietor TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED; proprietor registered 03-10-1977).[11]
Controversies and conflicts
- Local dispute (press): In 2017 the Borehamwood Times reported a dispute between the association and a Totteridge Common resident, Reginald Davis, whose address post on the verge it had repeatedly removed. The association's chairman, Terry Bannister, said the sign did not comply with current policy.[12]
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[8][9]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Mr Terry Bannister is also a trustee of The Darlands Conservation Trust (1176457). Colin Douglas Luke is also a trustee of The Rotary Club Of Barnet Charity Trust Fund (1049470). Andrew Harris is also a trustee of Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (1137199).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: Mr Terry Bannister is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[6] Terrence Keith Bannister is a current director at Companies House[6] but not listed as trustee by the Charity Commission.[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Andrew Harris is also connected with Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (1137199), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[13].
See also
- Mr Terry Bannister
- The Darlands Conservation Trust
- Raymond Charles Ellis
- Colin Douglas Luke
- The Rotary Club Of Barnet Charity Trust Fund
- Keith Richards
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Totteridge Manor Association Limited – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 UK Government Web Archive, Totteridge Manor Association Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 5.6 5.7 5.8 UK Government Web Archive, Totteridge Manor Association Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Companies House, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, TOTTERIDGE MANOR ASSOCIATION LIMITED overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Totteridge Manor Association Limited – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Man has address sign removed from outside his home in Totteridge Common due to disagreement with Totteridge Manor Association Borehamwood Times, 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12633573), 13 October 2026.