The Western Charitable Foundation
Registered charity in England and Wales
The Western Charitable Foundation (Charity number: 1147803; Company number 08051428) is a registered charity and private limited company by guarantee without share capital use of 'limited' exemption.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The main activities of the charity are running and maintenance of cemeteries at Cheshunt, Streatham, Edmonton and Fulham".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2024 it reported income of £1,198,834 and expenditure of £1,110,442.[3]
- Charity registered: 22 June 2012 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 30 April 2012 (Active); SIC 96030 - Funeral and related activities[2]
- Registered office address: 35 Ballards Lane, London, United Kingdom, N3 1XW[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harold Charles Pasha | Trustee | 18 January 2012 | None on record |
| David Ian Winton | Trustee | 18 January 2012 | None on record |
| Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff | Trustee | 18 January 2012 | The Investment Managers' Charitable Trust (charity number: 1185382) | Ajex - The Jewish Military Association (charity number: 1129591) |
| Suzanne Goodman | Trustee | 10 December 2012 | Everard And Mina Goodman Charitable Foundation (charity number: 220474) | The Western Marble Arch Synagogue (charity number: 1167711) |
| Colin Jaque | Trustee | 3 December 2012 | Joppa Benevolent Fund (charity number: 214606) |
| Philip Kremen | Trustee | 7 December 2012 | The Western Marble Arch Synagogue (charity number: 1167711) |
| Paul Rayden | Trustee | 3 December 2012 | The Rayden Charitable Trust (charity number: 294446) |
| Alexander Rayden | Trustee | 30 January 2023 | None on record |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Yadgaroff | 4 January 2014 | 4 January 2018 | 3 [4][5] |
| Harold Pasha | 4 January 2014 | 4 January 2018 | 3 [4][5] |
| David Winton | 4 January 2014 | 4 January 2018 | 3 [4][5] |
| Michael Anthony Ziff | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Paul Rayden | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Colin Jaque | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Cyril Chody | 26 July 2017 | 4 January 2018 | 2 [6][5] |
| David Sage | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Richard Mintz | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Stephen Fenton | 26 July 2017 | 26 July 2017 | 1 [6] |
| Suzanne J Goodman | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Philip Kremen | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Eldred Tabachnik | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [6][7] |
| Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff Company Director | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [7] |
| Harold Charles Pasha | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [7] |
| David Ian Winton | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [7] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff | Role Active | Secretary | 30 April 2012 | Not disclosed | |||||
| Suzanne Judith Goodman | Role Active | Director | August 1961 | 65 | 13 December 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Colin Brian Edward Jaque | Role Active | Director | September 1940 | 86 | 13 December 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Philip Michael Kremen | Role Active | Director | November 1949 | 76 | 13 December 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Harold Charles Pasha | Role Active | Director | June 1947 | 79 | 30 April 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Alexander Rayden | Role Active | Director | August 1983 | 43 | 30 January 2023 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Paul Rayden | Role Active | Director | June 1963 | 63 | 13 December 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| David Ian Winton | Role Active | Director | April 1950 | 76 | 13 December 2012 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed | |
| Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff | Role Active | Director | March 1949 | 77 | 30 April 2012 | British | England | Not disclosed | |
| Cyril Chody | Role Resigned | Director | November 1933 | 92 | 13 December 2012 | 19 April 2018 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Stephen Richard Nigel Fenton | Role Resigned | Director | March 1952 | 74 | 18 September 2014 | 10 July 2017 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Richard Bruce Mintz | Role Resigned | Director | January 1946 | 80 | 13 December 2012 | 13 March 2020 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Maxwell John Nisner | Role Resigned | Director | January 1952 | 74 | 9 May 2019 | 14 July 2025 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| David James Sage | Role Resigned | Director | December 1941 | 84 | 13 December 2012 | 7 March 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Henry Samuels | Role Resigned | Director | August 1931 | 95 | 13 December 2012 | 21 December 2016 | British | Uk | Not disclosed |
| Eldred Tabachnik | Role Resigned | Director | November 1943 | 82 | 13 December 2012 | 3 December 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Russell Paul Tenzer | Role Resigned | Director | November 1956 | 69 | 13 December 2012 | 18 September 2014 | English | England | Not disclosed |
| Michael Anthony Ziff | Role Resigned | Director | June 1953 | 73 | 29 September 2016 | 31 December 2022 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
Source: Companies House officers register.[8]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harold Charles Pasha | Active | 6 April 2016 | June 1947 | 79 | British | United Kingdom | Has significant influence or control |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[9]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2012 | £282,652 | £133,932 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| December 2013 | £1,266,767 | £727,809 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| December 2014 | £838,079 | £635,725 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[10] |
| December 2015 | £914,746 | £750,276 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[6] |
| December 2016 | £1,017,799 | £698,813 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[11] |
| December 2017 | £1,062,169 | £804,361 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[7] |
| 31 December 2020 | £1,012,810 | £1,197,572 | £1,800 | £1,197,572 | £207,032 | £12,429,874 | £2,490,035 | 9 | 0 | 31 October 2021 (due 31 October 2021) |
| 31 December 2021 | £919,118 | £1,110,176 | £300 | £1,110,176 | £513,673 | £12,803,855 | £1,248,340 | 9 | 0 | 27 October 2022 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 31 December 2022 | £1,234,016 | £1,674,084 | £0 | £1,674,084 | £402,223 | £11,440,878 | £1,829,414 | 9 | 0 | 13 December 2023 (due 31 October 2023) |
| 31 December 2023 | £1,364,462 | £1,549,189 | £0 | £1,549,189 | £356,014 | £11,241,551 | £1,699,737 | 11 | 0 | 24 December 2024 (due 31 October 2024) |
| 31 December 2024 | £1,198,834 | £1,110,442 | £0 | £1,110,442 | £214,663 | £11,831,574 | £1,365,869 | 11 | 0 | 16 October 2025 (due 31 October 2025) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[12] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[13]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2024 (Full accounts, filed 24 Dec 2024); next accounts made up to 28 December 2025, due by 28 December 2026.[2][14]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 30 April 2026; next due by 14 May 2027.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2012; year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[15]
- Land Registry (company-owned property): HM Land Registry's company ownership data (October 2026) lists 9 title(s) registered to the organisation or a linked company: Western Synagogue Cemetery, Fulham Road (title BGL904, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 24-12-2012); Western Synagogue Cemetery, Montagu Road, London (title EGL297642, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 24-12-2012); land on the North side of The M25 Waltham Cross (title HD249686, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 24-12-2012); Land lying to the west of Bulls Cross Ride, Waltham Cross (title HD262905, freehold; registered proprietor WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION; proprietor registered 11-09-2006); Western Cemetery, Bulls Cross Ride, Waltham Cross (EN7 5HT) (title HD45042, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 24-12-2012); 24 to 32 (even) Great Cumberland Place, 38 Seymour Street and 13 to 16 (all) Quebec Mews (title NGL802822, leasehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 12-11-2012); the parts of the land shown tinted pink on the supplementary plans numbered 1 to 4 at basement up to roof levels and known as The Western Marble Arch Synagogue, 32 Great Cumberland Place, (W1H 7DJ) (title NGL802824, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 09-06-2020); Jewish Cemetery, Rowan Road, Streatham (title SGL613102, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 24-12-2012); 1 Rowan Road, London (SW16 5JF) (title SGL669280, freehold; registered proprietor THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION (08051428); proprietor registered 29-08-2013).[16]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "The Foundation has given a loan of £60,000 to The Western Marble Arch Synagogue during the year free of any interest. The Western Charitable Foundation also provided donations of £379,225 (2021: £503,673) during the year."[14]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 December 2022 were received on 13 December 2023, after the due date of 31 October 2023; the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 December 2023 were received on 24 December 2024, after the due date of 31 October 2024.[12] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[13]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff is also a trustee of The Investment Managers' Charitable Trust (1185382), Ajex - The Jewish Military Association (1129591). Suzanne Goodman is also a trustee of Everard And Mina Goodman Charitable Foundation (220474), The Western Marble Arch Synagogue (1167711). Colin Jaque is also a trustee of Joppa Benevolent Fund (214606). Philip Kremen is also a trustee of The Western Marble Arch Synagogue (1167711). Paul Rayden is also a trustee of The Rayden Charitable Trust (294446).[1]
- Shared address and control: David Ian Winton, Suzanne Judith Goodman give the same correspondence address (Acre House, 11/15 William Road, London, United Kingdom, NW1 3ER).[8]
- Shared trustees/directors: Philip Michael Kremen is also connected with Solev Co Limited (254623), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[17]; Philip Michael Kremen is also connected with Hatzlocho Limited (1082076), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[18].
See also
- Harold Charles Pasha
- David Ian Winton
- Anthony Harvey Yadgaroff
- The Investment Managers' Charitable Trust
- Ajex - The Jewish Military Association
- Suzanne Goodman
External links
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 Companies House, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Western Charitable Foundation – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (4 January 2014), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.00 6.01 6.02 6.03 6.04 6.05 6.06 6.07 6.08 6.09 6.10 6.11 6.12 UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.00 7.01 7.02 7.03 7.04 7.05 7.06 7.07 7.08 7.09 7.10 7.11 UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Companies House, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (5 January 2016), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 5 January 2016, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 12.0 12.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 14.0 14.1 Companies House, THE WESTERN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION filing history – Full accounts made up to 31 December 2023, filed 24 Dec 2024, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Western Charitable Foundation – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2014, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ HM Land Registry, UK companies that own property in England and Wales dataset, October 2026, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, KREMEN, Philip Michael appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, KREMEN, Philip Michael appointments Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
