The Talmud Centre Trust
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Talmud Centre Trust
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 18 May 1970 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 261118 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The Talmud Centre Trust (Charity number: 261118) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "A. The promotion of Orthodox Jewish religion education throughestablishment and maintenance of an Institute for Higher RabbinicalStudies.B. The advancement of the Orthodox Jewish religion education.C. The relief of poverty".[2] For the financial year ending 31 March 2025 it reported income of £144,973 and expenditure of £135,930.[2]
- Charity registered: 18 May 1970 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 60 Lynmouth Road, London, N16 6xl[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yocheved Chana Padwa | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Eliezer Padwa | Chair | Not disclosed | Rays Of Hope (charity number: 1063700) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eliezer Padwa | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Chana Oestreicher | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Yocheved Chana Padwa | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2012 | £54,761 | £56,415 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2013 | £48,097 | £44,938 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2014 | £56,221 | £61,787 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2015 | £72,107 | £64,500 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2016 | £104,989 | £107,198 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| March 2017 | £135,811 | £135,749 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 March 2021 | £116,655 | £112,565 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 5 | 27 January 2022 (due 31 January 2022) |
| 31 March 2022 | £110,266 | £110,822 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 6 | 24 January 2023 (due 31 January 2023) |
| 31 March 2023 | £151,041 | £146,493 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 11 | 21 May 2024 (due 31 January 2024) |
| 31 March 2024 | £133,204 | £137,157 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 6 | 27 January 2025 (due 31 January 2025) |
| 31 March 2025 | £144,973 | £135,930 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 11 | 22 January 2026 (due 31 January 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 March 2014; year ending 31 March 2015; year ending 31 March 2016; year ending 31 March 2017; year ending 31 March 2018; year ending 31 March 2019.[7]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that the annual return/accounts for the year ending 31 March 2023 were received on 21 May 2024, after the due date of 31 January 2024.[6] The register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Eliezer Padwa is also a trustee of Rays Of Hope (1063700).[1]
See also
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE TALMUD CENTRE TRUST trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Talmud Centre Trust – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE TALMUD CENTRE TRUST overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, The Talmud Centre Trust – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Talmud Centre Trust – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE TALMUD CENTRE TRUST financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Talmud Centre Trust – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 8 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.