The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity and company limited by guarantee |
| Founded | 8 May 2007 (incorporated); 5 July 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1119949; Company 06239129 |
| Status | Registered |
| Location | London, England |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales; Companies House |
The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd (Charity number: 1119949; Company number 06239129) is a registered charity and private company limited by guarantee without share capital.[1][2] The register describes its activities as: "The Charity's purpose is to connect and inspire Jews about the beauty and joy of Jewish experience and the richness of our common heritage".[3] For the financial year ending 31 December 2021 it reported income of £316,218 and expenditure of £290,536.[3]
- Charity registered: 5 July 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Company incorporated: 8 May 2007 (Dissolved); SIC 82990 - Other business support service activities not elsewhere classified[2]
- Company dissolved: 2 January 2026[2]
- Previous company names: THE GAON CLUB LIMITED 08 May 2007 - 18 Dec 2007[2]
- Registered office address: Pearl Assurance House, 319 Ballards Lane, London, N12 8LY[2]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| David Daniel Morris | Trustee | 8 March 2018 | Mizrachi (uk) (charity number: 1175411) | Jewish Futures Trust Limited (charity number: 1151066) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colin Gershinson | 26 July 2017 | 3 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| David Daniel Morris | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
| Edward Misrahi | 3 January 2019 | 3 January 2019 | 1 [5] |
Directors
| Name | Role | Position | Date of birth | Age | Appointed on | Resigned on | Nationality | Country of residence | Occupation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| David Daniel Morris | Role Director | July 1969 | 57 | 8 March 2018 | British | United Kingdom Identity verification due 18 November 2025 | Not disclosed | ||
| Devorah Kahan | Role Resigned | Secretary | 8 May 2007 | 8 May 2007 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Devorah Kahan | Role Resigned | Secretary | 8 May 2007 | 11 January 2016 | British | Not disclosed | |||
| Temple Secretaries Limited | Role Resigned | Nominee Secretary | 8 May 2007 | 8 May 2007 | |||||
| Colin Anthony Gershinson | Role Resigned | Director | May 1939 | 87 | 5 December 2011 | 19 February 2019 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Judith Joseph | Role Resigned | Director | December 1959 | 66 | 8 May 2007 | 8 May 2007 | British | England | Not disclosed |
| Edward Misrahi | Role Resigned | Director | December 1969 | 56 | 10 May 2018 | 14 November 2023 | Italian | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Conrad Jeffrey Morris | Role Resigned | Director | June 1932 | 94 | 12 December 2011 | 14 June 2014 | British | United Kingdom | Not disclosed |
| Aviad Limited | Role Resigned | Director | 8 May 2007 | 5 December 2011 | |||||
| Company Directors Limited | Role Resigned | Nominee Director | 8 May 2007 | 8 May 2007 |
Source: Companies House officers register.[6]
Persons with significant control
| Name | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Date of birth | Age | Nationality | Country of residence | Nature of control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yosef Vogel | Active | 19 February 2019 | December 1969 | 56 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors | |
| David Daniel Morris | Active | 19 February 2019 | July 1969 | 57 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors | |
| Edward Misrahi | Ceased | 19 February 2019 | 14 November 2023 | December 1969 | 56 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - More than 25% but not more than 50% Right to appoint or remove directors |
| Colin Anthony Gershinson | Ceased | 6 April 2016 | 19 February 2019 | May 1939 | 87 | British | United Kingdom | Ownership of voting rights - 75% or more Right to appoint or remove directors |
Source: Companies House PSC register.[7]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2011 | £642,844 | £800,137 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2012 | £700,690 | £774,428 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2013 | £938,933 | £785,408 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2014 | £756,831 | £894,765 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2015 | £667,455 | £551,906 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| December 2016 | £664,376 | £677,966 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[8] |
| December 2017 | £861,540 | £806,922 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 31 December 2020 | £394,760 | £429,323 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 25 | 25 October 2021 (due 31 October 2021) |
| 31 December 2021 | £316,218 | £290,536 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 10 October 2022 (due 31 October 2022) |
| 30 June 2023 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not received (due 30 April 2024) |
| 30 June 2024 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not received (due 30 April 2025) |
| 30 June 2025 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not received (due 30 April 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[9] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[10]
- Companies House: last accounts made up to 31 December 2021 (Total exemption full accounts, filed 30 Sep 2022).[2][11]
- Companies House: last confirmation statement dated 8 May 2023.[2]
- Archived accounts: year ending 31 December 2014; year ending 31 December 2015; year ending 31 December 2016; year ending 31 December 2017; year ending 31 December 2018.[12]
Controversies and conflicts
- Related-party transactions: The latest filed accounts state: "At the balance sheet date, the charity owed £33,000 (2020: £43,000) to one of its trustees, David Morris. This amount is repayable on demand. No interest is charged on this loan. During the year, the trustees donated £Nil (2020: £12,500) to the charity."[11]
- Insolvency/administration: The Charity Commission record flags the charity as insolvent.[10]
- Filing compliance: The Charity Commission record shows that no annual return or accounts are recorded as received for the year ending 30 June 2023 (due 30 April 2024); no annual return or accounts are recorded as received for the year ending 30 June 2024 (due 30 April 2025); no annual return or accounts are recorded as received for the year ending 30 June 2025 (due 30 April 2026).[9]
- Company status: Companies House lists the company status as "Dissolved".[2]
- Companies House notices: 02 Jan 2026: Final Gazette dissolved following liquidation (GAZ2); 02 Oct 2025: Return of final meeting in a creditors' voluntary winding up (LIQ14); 12 Feb 2025: Liquidators' statement of receipts and payments to 13 December 2024 (LIQ03); 10 Jan 2024: Statement of affairs (LIQ02); 29 Dec 2023: Appointment of a voluntary liquidator (600).[13]
- Overlapping trusteeships: David Daniel Morris is also a trustee of Mizrachi (uk) (1175411), Jewish Futures Trust Limited (1151066).[1]
- Register inconsistencies: David Daniel Morris is listed as trustee by the Charity Commission[1] but not as a current director at Companies House.[6]
See also
- David Daniel Morris
- Mizrachi (uk)
- Jewish Futures Trust Limited
- Colin Gershinson
- Edward Misrahi
- Devorah Kahan
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 Companies House, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD overview Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 UK Government Web Archive, The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd – register entry (3 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 3 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Companies House, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD officers Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd – register entry (4 January 2018), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 4 January 2018, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 Companies House, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD filing history – Total exemption full accounts made up to 31 December 2021, filed 30 Sep 2022, Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, The Centre for Jewish Life Ltd – archived accounts, archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 7 January 2020, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, THE CENTRE FOR JEWISH LIFE LTD filing history Companies House, accessed 13 October 2026.