The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund
Registered charity in England and Wales
| The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 9 January 2007 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1117529 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund (Charity number: 1117529) is a registered charity.[1] The register describes its activities as: "The principal objectives of the charity are to provide support, financial and otherwise, to Bnei Akiva. The trustees overriding objective is to ensure that no child is denied a place on a Bnei Akiva camp or year scheme because their parents are unable to afford the cost. The trustees provide grants for needy children towards the costs of various Bnei Akiva camps, Israel trips and other events".[2] For the financial year ending 30 September 2025 it reported income of £20,306 and expenditure of £47,407.[2]
- Charity registered: 9 January 2007 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 2 Hallswelle Road, London, Nw11 0dj[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachad Friends Of Bnei Akiva | Trustee | Not disclosed | None on record |
| Michael Weinstein | Trustee | 8 February 2012 | The P Nathan Benevolent Charitable Trust (charity number: 1053755) | Finchley Jewish Primary School Trust (charity number: 1121959) | Friends Of Bnei Akiva (bachad) (charity number: 1109706) | The Linda And Michael Weinstein Charitable Trust (charity number: 1000637) | The New Garden Lodge Benevolent Fund (charity number: 261283) | The Joy And Malcolm Lyons Foundation (charity number: 1050689) |
| Adam Baron | Trustee | 30 May 2024 | None on record |
| Sean Melnick | Trustee | 30 May 2024 | Mizrachi (uk) (charity number: 1175411) | Friends Of Bnei Akiva (bachad) (charity number: 1109706) | Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (charity number: 1137199) | Johannesburg Jewish Helping Hand U.k. (charity number: 1204950) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Historic trustees
Trustees as listed in archived snapshots of the Charity Commission register (first and last snapshot in which each name appears; not a record of actual appointment or resignation dates).
| Name | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots listing name |
|---|---|---|---|
| Michael Weinstein | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Bachad (friends Of Bnei Akiva) | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
| Gerald Ephraim Lucas | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 [4][5] |
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2012 | £21,381 | £12,271 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2013 | £29,729 | £4,952 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2014 | £18,353 | £4,758 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2015 | £10,591 | £34,086 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2016 | £11,424 | £47,979 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[4] |
| September 2017 | £9,745 | £78,888 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Archived register entry[5] |
| 30 September 2021 | £40,164 | £13,976 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | 18 May 2022 (due 30 July 2022) |
| 30 September 2022 | £15,215 | £42,926 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 7 June 2023; no accounts on record (due 30 July 2023) |
| 30 September 2023 | £19,315 | £36,695 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 17 June 2024; no accounts on record (due 30 July 2024) |
| 30 September 2024 | £8,530 | £41,535 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Annual return received 9 May 2025; no accounts on record (due 30 July 2025) |
| 30 September 2025 | £20,306 | £47,407 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 0 | Annual return received 5 May 2026; no accounts on record (due 30 July 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[6] The Commission records grant-making as the charity's main activity.[3] Trustee payments: "No trustees receive any remuneration, payments or benefits from the charity."[3]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[6][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Michael Weinstein is also a trustee of The P Nathan Benevolent Charitable Trust (1053755), Finchley Jewish Primary School Trust (1121959), Friends Of Bnei Akiva (bachad) (1109706), The Linda And Michael Weinstein Charitable Trust (1000637), The New Garden Lodge Benevolent Fund (261283), The Joy And Malcolm Lyons Foundation (1050689). Sean Melnick is also a trustee of Mizrachi (uk) (1175411), Friends Of Bnei Akiva (bachad) (1109706), Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (1137199), Johannesburg Jewish Helping Hand U.k. (1204950).[1]
- Shared trustees/directors: Sean Melnick is also connected with Mizrachi (uk) Israel Support Trust (1137199), which is subject to a Charity Commission regulatory alert[7].
See also
- Michael Weinstein
- The P Nathan Benevolent Charitable Trust
- Finchley Jewish Primary School Trust
- Friends Of Bnei Akiva (bachad)
- The Linda And Michael Weinstein Charitable Trust
- The New Garden Lodge Benevolent Fund
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ARIEH HANDLER SCHOLARSHIP FUND trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ARIEH HANDLER SCHOLARSHIP FUND overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 UK Government Web Archive, The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 UK Government Web Archive, The Arieh Handler Scholarship Fund – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, THE ARIEH HANDLER SCHOLARSHIP FUND financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, public register data extract (trustee table, trustee ID 12063897), 13 October 2026.