Darkei Chaim
Registered charity in England and Wales
| Darkei Chaim
| |
|---|---|
| Type | Registered charity |
| Founded | 15 July 2020 (registered as a charity) |
| Registration ID | Charity 1190418 |
| Status | Registered |
| Registration | Charity Commission for England and Wales |
Darkei Chaim (Charity number: 1190418) is a registered charitable incorporated organisation (CIO).[1] The register describes its activities as: "The advancement of the Orthodox Jewish religion for the public benefit by providing grants to synagogues and other religious charities, for the provision of religious objects, prayer books and other religious study books, and for the public celebration of religious festivals".[2] For the financial year ending 31 August 2025 it reported income of £259,052 and expenditure of £332,029.[2]
- Charity registered: 15 July 2020 (Registered)[1]
- Charity contact address: 27 Ashtead Road, London, E5 9bj[3]
People
Trustees
| Name | Role | Date of appointment | Other trusteeships |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moshe Schwimmer | Chair | 15 July 2020 | None on record |
| Vitye Schwimmer | Trustee | 15 July 2020 | None on record |
| Rabbi Nathan Benjamin Bindinger | Trustee | 15 July 2020 | Kehal Charedim Trust (charity number: 1098484) | Yesamach Levav (charity number: 1127977) | The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (charity number: 1158987) |
Source: Charity Commission register.[1]
Finances
| Financial year end | Total income | Total expenditure | Income from donations and legacies | Expenditure on charitable activities | Grants to institutions | Total funds (assets less liabilities) | Cash | Employees | Volunteers | Accounts received |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2021 | £298,316 | £127,537 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 29 June 2022 (due 30 June 2022) |
| 31 August 2022 | £246,436 | £126,718 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 30 June 2023 (due 30 June 2023) |
| 31 August 2023 | £230,475 | £152,435 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 30 June 2024 (due 30 June 2024) |
| 31 August 2024 | £265,922 | £205,981 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 29 June 2025 (due 30 June 2025) |
| 31 August 2025 | £259,052 | £332,029 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 3 | 28 June 2026 (due 30 June 2026) |
Source: Charity Commission financial history and register data.[4] Trustee payments: "One or more trustees receive payments or benefits from the charity for another benefit."[3]
Controversies and conflicts
- Filing compliance: All 5 annual returns and accounts on the Charity Commission record were received by their due dates, and the register states "Charity reporting is up to date (on time)".[4][3]
- Overlapping trusteeships: Rabbi Nathan Benjamin Bindinger is also a trustee of Kehal Charedim Trust (1098484), Yesamach Levav (1127977), The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (1158987).[1]
See also
- Moshe Schwimmer
- Vitye Schwimmer
- Rabbi Nathan Benjamin Bindinger
- Kehal Charedim Trust
- Yesamach Levav
- The Union Of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Charity Commission for England and Wales, DARKEI CHAIM trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Darkei Chaim – charity overview Register of Charities, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Charity Commission for England and Wales, DARKEI CHAIM overview Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, DARKEI CHAIM financial history Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 13 October 2026; figures from the Commission's public register data extract dated 13 October 2026.